We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As non residents we had a great day on the beach, a wonderful three course lunch (good kids menu with proper food), sundowners at the beach bar (book) and very friendly and helpful staff.
Quality service in a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    180
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
144
565
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Paradise. When I was looking up hotels in the Cairns/Port Douglas area I had a very hard time finding one directly on the beach. But that is why I chose the Kewarra Beach Resort. I was very glad that I did. Kewarra Beach is so beautiful. People said that my photos looked like the most beautiful beach they had ever seen. Lined by palm trees and the Daintree Rain Forest yet being on a gorgeous beach. The best of both worlds. We were not exactly in Cairns nor port douglas, so every time we wanted to do something we had to trek into town. So what? It was well worth it because we stayed ON THE BEACH!! Directly on it. Not across the street from it like so many other hotels. Not in a crowded city. But in a very private secluded beach cottage. Wow. Beautiful butterflies and birds, nice daily breakfast and very personal amazing service. I would go back again and stay there in a heartbeat. They took such good care of us. Oh, did I mention that we were ON THE BEACH! That was my vision for the trip, to be right on the beach, not around it, and we were. Get beach cottages instead of lagoon or others. The pool was way to cold to swim in. No one was even in there. Sure, it was winter, but still, the Ocean wasn't too cold to swim in but the pool sure was. Yikes. But even so, the pool landscaping was fantastic, so it was even amazing to look at. We took taxis up to Port Douglas to the wildlife habitat and to the Reef Sprinter snorkeling cruise. They were well worth the trips. We took a big boat out of Cairns for a day long snorkeling cruise. Not worth it. Too commercial and crowded, and so many tourists are too hard on the poor reefs. Go to Port Douglas for a couple of day trips and eat at Palm Cove some time. Kewarra beach is beautiful and this resort was wonderful. we loved it. It was a little rustic compared to like a Ritz Carlton or something, but it's on a beach in a rain forest, and it was the perfect style considering that fact. loved, loved, loved this place.

Room Tip: Get a beach cottage. We had cottages numbers one and two. Right on the freaking beach people! see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kewarra Beach Resort is beautiful upon arrival, once you're actually escorted to your room and interact with the staff at the bar and dinner, you will be blown away.
I would suggest any of the bungalows, all locations have benefits and all are just the way you'd want them. The privacy allows for romance, the quiet allows for peace, the beach allows for endless swimming, suntanning, and relaxation. The food was good - even for me as a vegetarian and the staff was just friendly enough that you want to talk to them but not too friendly that they get in your way.

Room Tip: Any room will be good. Some bungalows have views of the ocean but they are all just 2 minute walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the moment we walked into the open air reception area to the moment we left, Kewarra Resort was absolutely amazing. We were spending 3 days there on our honeymoon in a bungalow overlooking the lagoon. They gave us a yummy fruit drink when we checked in, gave us a tour of the facility and were very helpful with any other questions. Because it was our honeymoon they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. Although the food was expensive (which is why I gave it a "very good overall, not excellent) everything tasted wonderful and the wait staff were very friendly. In fact they hugged us good bye our last morning. The free wi-fi throughout the facility was also a nice touch. It was truly a magical experience in a slice of paradise with a mama kangaroo and her joey out each night to say hello.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room that overlooks the lagoon. Our room was #45, be aware though when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Kristi,
Thank you for your recent review. The team and I are really thrilled you enjoyed your honeymoon experience.
I am glad you read that you enjoyed your dining experience. We have recently launched our new dinner menu and have being receiving very favourable reports from both our international and local guests alike. Our Executive chef, Sean Newton, has really managed to showcase the amazing flavours of the local region which won us the Australian Culinary Federation "Restaurant of the Year" award recently.
I did bump into your Wallaby friends yesterday evening outside your cabin and passed on your regards! We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to our sandy shores in the near future.
Mark...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Kewarra Beach Resort is a great place to stay while in Cairns. We are planning on returning next year.
We emailed the resort when we made our reservations for a taxi to the resort. When we got off the plane the was someone there to pick us up to take us to the resort. We arrived mid day and was able to get into our Bungalow within minutes of arriving. The private bungalows are wonderful...you get the feeling you are the only ones at the resort. The private beach is so close to the bungalows. The bungalows are nestled in amongst the trees and gardens you feel like you are on a nature walk going to and from the main reception area. The 2 pools are amazing in their natural habitat. There's wildlife to see, along with the many beautiful birds and butterflies. The open fire pizza night on the beach on Fridays is wonderful and fun. The locals come and join in on the fun of pizza and a DJ for dancing and partying afterwards, makes for a great night. There is easy access to the local bus transportation to go anywhere in the area. It stops every 30 minutes just outside the resort during the day and every hour in the evening till late at night. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist with any needs you may have. We booked several day trips with the receptionist assistance. It was so easy!!! We wished we would have been able to stay longer at Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa. We enjoyed our time so much we are planning on having a family reunion next year and bring the family to share in our enjoyment. Thank you Kewarra Beach Resort for the fantastic time in Australia. We made fond memories.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are nestled in between the trees and garden so it's quiet and comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Kewarra beach resort is lovely. Who can't fall in love with walking through a forest to your room, meeting wallabies on the way. The restaurant serves excellent food, though expensive, and service was great. Reception staff were helpful. Friday night was pizza night - with wood fire pizzas and live music on the beach. Makes you feel young! We had booked a package including excursions and car rental, and these were managed superbly, with no hitches.
The rooms could have been better though. We were in a 2-bedroom Bahaunia suite, which were very basic. There is no writing desk or vanity, and cupboard space is minimal. Ok if you're only staying a couple of days, but I found it inconvenient as we stayed a week. There were cockroaches in the bathroom at night, which I find unacceptable, even given the forest surroundings. There is free wifi - not the best speed, but works ok for emailing and social networking.
All in all a good experience, especially given that most of the staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I turned 40 in July 2013, and my wife took me to Kewarra Beach Resort for a one-night stay. From the moment we walked in the lobby, we were made to feel extremely welcome. Check-in was smooth and came with a complimentary fruit juice each and a friendly porter to help us carry our bags to our bungalow. The resort is set amongst a lovely forest that runs right up to Kewarra Beach. Paths meander through the foliage. Attractive bamboo groves add a touch of Asian influence, making you feel like you're in Bali or Thailand or somewhere. Lovely paperbark trees abound. The bungalows are great self-contained little cabins, beautifully appointed, very clean, and very secluded. They're tucked away to the extent that you can walk past 3 or 4 of them and barely see them. Very nice inside - all wood panelling and tasteful artworks on the walls. Our bungalow had a view of the central lagoon. You can walk down to a little grassy area at the edge of this lagoon and sit on a bench and enjoy the serenity, or you can wander down to the beach and recline on a deck chair, or you can spend some time at one of the awesome pools, which are beautifully landscaped with waterfalls and interesting rock formations. And then there's the restaurant: impeccable service, divine food, and a fully stocked bar. We had pre-dinner cocktails in the soft, atmospheric, low light of the restaurant and it was deeply relaxing and intimate. If you're stressed out from the rigours of daily life (and let's face it, who isn't these days?), go to Kewarra Beach Resort. Get some sand in your toes, have a Mai Tai, eat some sublime food, and enjoy the experience. We did, and we'll be back. We didn't get around to trying the day spa while we were there, but we'll certainly try to schedule that in for next time. Driving out of Kewarra Beach Resort the next day, it almost came as a shock to remember how close we were to suburbia. That's how private and quiet Kewarra Beach Resort is. If you to shut yourself off from the outside world and pamper yourself and feel like a movie star, this is the place to do it. It's exquisite. Great memories for my 40th birthday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.