We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite hotel as we undertook a tour of Australia with a top rated tour company. Kewarra Beach Resort is so different from the usual resort hotel that it was a refreshing change. Individual cabins nestled in the forest made for an enchanting experience. (Finding your way home in the dark after dinner was a bit of a challenge, but all part of the fun). In our three nights there we had three different dining experiences and they were all delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    180
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
144
565
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I will list this review mostly in terms of pros and cons. All, I found, in australia people are friendly and of course they are too at this resort.

So Pros, wifi everywhere, even in your room and because this is a large resort that is a plus. Complimentary iPads for use in the lobby, resort is on a beach, complimentary yoga (good yoga too), laundry facilities (big plus, especially if you have been traveling for a while), great service, big room, transfer to the hotel included in the stay.

Cons, need a car-far from Palm cove which is a 45 min fast walk up the beach once you go over an inlet that is only passable at low tide. If you don't really need the resort (which in our case was only partially open due to the "wet" season then you might consider positioning yourself in palm cove itself where there are many different restaurants to choose from. Kewerra only has one restuarant., very dark rooms, hard bed and pillows (in fact, my husband said laying out on the pavement might be just as comfortable.) no storage in the rooms (for the size of the room there is very limited storage. No knowledgeable concierge on duty. In fact, when we inquired about the great barrier reef we were handed a bunch of brochures and that was about it. Could of used some local intelligence about restaurants etc. I suppose kewerrra's feeling is why go anywhere else?

Overall I was not as thrilled with staying here as so many other writers have claimed. But that is just one opinion. It was not bad, it just was not amazing either.

Room Tip: If you do not want a total rainforest experience, then perhaps chose a room by the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The resort is a little gem in the beautiful bay of Palm Cove between kilometers of beach shaded by palm trees. It offers excellent facilities. We stayed in the beachfront Pipi beachfront bungalow.
The accommodation is excellent, surrounded by nature, absolutely quiet. efficient air conditioning. Minibar very spacious and equipped. Friendly and very professional staff.
Immediate reaction times to call. Further benefit: very good free wifi in the room which we found only at the Shangri La in Sydney during our Australian tour. Only one advice: the bathroom, while working, should be renewed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just come back from 6 days here and we absolutely loved it. One of the best holidays we've had as its just so relaxing. We thought we might get heaps of rain as its the wet season, but no, even the weather was perfect. We had a beach bungalow (no. 6). In my opinion this bungalow is in the best place as it's not too near the main building or the car park. The food in the restaurant is consistently beautiful. One night for my husbands birthday I organised the romantic dinner on the beach. It was very special but we had just one small complaint that my husbands main course was cold. The staff and management handled this complaint superbly and more than compensated us. Unlike a lot of hotels and restaurants they really do care and don't take complaints lightly. We will definitely return and I would recommend this resort to anyone. Note to management - may soon be time to buy new beds with nice pillow tops!! Thanks to you all for making our holiday so special

Room Tip: Go for beach bungalow 6, closer to beach and quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a gem of a place! From the moment you arrive the welcome and atmosphere is warm and friendly. The reception staff are so helpful and full of advice about which tours to go on. We will be eternally grateful for the recommendation for the Marine World Reef Magic excursion. This company have the “personal touch” with smaller groups out to the pontoon out on the Great Barrier Reef. We had a fantastic helicopter flight out to the Reef for just the two of us – “magical”.
The bungalows at the resort are scattered through the rainforest gardens right beside the beach. It’s such a relaxing place to stay as it felt like a hide away. This is a perfect place to sit back and relax as we stayed here half-way through our 3½ weeks in Australia. We hated leaving and thanks to all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend stayed at Kewarra Beach Resort for the last 2 nights of our weeklong trip to Cairns.
If you want to relax this is a great alternative than the endless wall to wall hotels/motels and backpackers of cairns central. We hired a car, drove to the resort and relaxed for the first arvo, our bungalow had a outlook over a small lagoon nestled in the rainforest gardens.
The gardens are magnificent and well looked after, it was amazing to just walk around the resort pathways and check out the local fauna and flora. Second day we got up and swam in the rockpool, which was located directly behind our bungalow and we had it all to ourselves. After we headed off to Port Douglas, a great drive up the coast and then returned later to the peace and quiet of the resort to relax one again!
On the last morning our bags were picked up for us to check out, all the staff were excellent the whole length of our stay.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

All rooms are in cabins scattered throughout the grounds which gave you the sense of a bit of a jungle trek to get to your room. Indeed, we surprised a family of kangaroos hopping across the path next to our cabin one evening. The cabin was nice enough, but showing its age a bit. The sliding door on the bathroom never worked right, but that was not a huge problem.
The restaurant tries to portray itself as a gourmet restaurant, and pulls it off despite the off-the road location. Food was great, and service was better. We truly enjoyed all the meals we had there.
We were with a tour group, so being remote did not bother us, but I imagine those on their own might have an issue with getting around without your own transport.
The only issues were the extremely high price of laundry, but then I probably should have done it myself in their laundry facility, and some mixups on the bill (overcharged on the already inflated prices for laundry) coupled with not accepting the American Express card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.