We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a regular to the camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   380 Ohiwa Harbour Road, Opotiki 3198, New Zealand (Formerly Ohiwa Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a regular to the camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been coming to Ohiwa Family Holiday Park for many years, we always find everyone friendly and helpful, and the facilities are always, clean and tidy. We will be back for Easter, to have another fun filled time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not the cheapest camp but it still has to be one of the best. The location right on the beach is awesome; ideal for our dogs to take their (escorted) walk. The facilities are kept clean and the service is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Ohiwa Holiday Park for 2 nights. What a beautiful Campground with modern and clean facilities and helpful and friendly staff. The camp is a terraced park that offers splendid views to the sea without any interruption due to other campers, we even could see White Island. This won't be our last time!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park is the best camp we have stayed at. We have travelled widely in NZ and stayed at lots of different camps. Ohiwa Beach Holiday Camp has outstanding elevated, beach front sites with uninterrupted sea views. The camp site is very well run. Excellent facilities, well placed in the camp and always faultlessly clean. The camp is very well maintained with nice grassed sites, water easily accessible and lots of trees for shade. Very friendly and family orientated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintyopotiki, Owner at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate great feedback.
Nola Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed on three ocassions for periods up to 2 weeks. We have stayed at many motor camps through out New Zealand and none have never come up to the standard of this one. The view are amazing, the facilities spotless and the staff so friendly and helfull that you are made to feel at home.

We will continue to go there for the future as our first pot of call.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed in a motor home for two nights, the site was very quiet, the faciltes were excellent and clean, the location was great, a short walk to a lovely beach. the staff were very nice and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After trying several different camp sites we have been a regular fixture at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park for the past 9 years. We camp down the far end where it is nice and quiet and peaceful with stunning views of the sea and the beach only a short walk away. The camp is very well maintained and the owners, Nola and Todd, are constantly working on new projects to enhance the surroundings and facilities. All the staff are very friendly and Nola and Todd bend over backwards to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park

Address: 380 Ohiwa Harbour Road, Opotiki 3198, New Zealand (Formerly Ohiwa Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park is the perfect beach holiday destination with panoramic views of White Island and the Pacific Ocean. Our accommodation is perfect for families or couples seaking to enjoy the best of nature on the beautifull East coast of New Zealand. Enjoy exploring the magical Ohiwa Harbour where you can kayak, fish, bush walk or just sit back and relax to the sound of the native birdlife.We have a range of quality accommodation from camp sites with fantastic sea views to fully self contained units ideal for families or couples looking for an iconic beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.