We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS VACAY !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakak Park & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dakak Park & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dapitan City, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FABULOUS VACAY !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our vacation last time was fantastic ... the food its delicious seafoods which i miss the most .My family and my hubby he really enjoyed while we visited in Dakak .Were renting the Jet ski and the Banana boat totally so much fun .We don't stay there because we live in Dipolog not that far so probably we went home around 8:00 pm .The view its nice and clean as well . The staff are really helpful and respectful too ! I love the white sand & my family enjoyed doing slide in the Pool its crazy were just giggling and competing in the slide who go first . From our buttom of our hearts xie xie ! Kamsahamnida ! Thank you ! Maraming Salamat ! Keep up the good work and God bless you all ! Best regards from Vancouver Canada .

Room Tip: Just choose the room which in front on the beach its nice if you woke up in the morning you see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakak_Admin, Online Marketing Head at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
July 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Lyn C,

Thank you for taking time to write this very nice review about our Dakak Beach Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us together with family and your hubby, and it was a pleasure for us having you as a guest. I will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing.

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Online Marketing Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    56
    39
    14
    22
See reviews for
59
41
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Perfect location, very clean and peaceful place. Not peak season when we were there but still business as usual everywhere at the resort. We enjoyed a beachfront bungalow that can be recommended. The sand was cleaned from dead leaves contiuosly and the beach was cleaned from high tide debris every morning.
Nice white sand beach and fantastic pool area.
Breakfast buffet was huge with both filipino and anericano choices. Other meals were perfect at the restaurants.
Lots of activities for those who get tired of relaxing at the beach or by the pool.
Staff was always there when you needed them and always smiling and helpful.
We really enjoyed our four days here

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows nice and quiet and a bit away from the more populated areas. Bungalows higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakak_Admin, Online Marketing Head at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr.Haugland,

Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our Dakak Beach Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure for us having you as a guest. I will forward your review to our staff to encourage them in what they are doing.

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Online Marketing Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had the chance to stay here with my family. It was recommended by my mom who said it wad beautiful. No doubt the place is beautiful but it do need some uplifting. The rooms (dorm type) was ok. Bunk bed was a bit scary to use as it creaks when you go up and there are no railings at the side. There is only one table at the dorm, to think the capacity of the dorm is about 16pax. They have a small ref but located in the bathroom which is unsanitary.

The food is below my expectations. I cant recall a dish i really liked except maybe their bread and butter pudding. Their italian restaurant is expensive for the price and the food served was salty, from the pasta dishes to the ala carte orders. Also the description in the menu is not exactly was you would expect. Example, we ordered for baby back ribs (american), they gave us ribs in tausi (chinese). We ordered for inihaw na baboy, they gave us pritong porkchop. From the italian menu it was written they use prosciutto but they used ham instead. You have no choice but to order food there since the citu proper is 30 mins away. If you want to go out, you have to rent a van worth 1,700 good for 4hours only.

The beach is nice, not as white as boracay but cleanliness is maintained properly.

There are a lot of activities inside the resort such as zipline, horseback riding, airsoft etc. they also offer tours but for a minimum pax. We availed of the fantasyland package, they could have leveled it up more, like the food served before going to the themepark needs improvement. The themepark is good for kids/teens. You have to pay for additional for cart racing, 5D show and haunted house.

But i can say that the people are friendly and nice. Willing to assist you in anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakak_Admin, Customer Service - IMD at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear simple_living1220,

Thank you for notifying us of your complaints and observations. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know.

We are sincerely sorry that you received various services that prompted you to express your complaint in writing, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint and we are taking your comments seriously. We want you to know that we appreciate your suggestions and value your comments.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you in the near future.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Sincerely,

Customer Service-IMD
Dakak Park and Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I think this not so late to write a review. I traveled with my friends last October 2012. We were still in college that time. The name of the place was not so familiar to us at first. Funny because we were like aliens in our own country. :)

We were really excited that time. We arrived on the resort at night after more than 12 hours of travel. We took a fast craft from Iloilo City to Bacolod, from Bacolod City we took a bus going to Dumaguete City , from there we took another fast craft going to Dipolog and from there we took a shuttle van going to the resort.

At first, we did not appreciate the view since it's already dark when we got there but the next morning, we were amazed since the resort was so peaceful and serene. It seems that we are the only guests that time. The breakfast was good which was already included in our accommodation. We tried also some activities like Banana Boat ride.

We also had a day tour in Dapitan City which is about 30-minute drive from the resort. We visited the Rizal Shrine, a butterfly garden, we also tried the floating restaurant with live acoustic band. We also visited Gloria fantasy land, a theme park located in the city proper is also best for people of all ages.

The location was overall perfect since we all like to be in a quiet place for vacation and a nice place to relax after a long exhilarating day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakak_Admin, Online Marketing Head at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Stella C,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide fellow travelers with a personal perspective of your stay here at the Dakak Beach Resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure for us having you as a guest. Please know we greatly value your loyalty and support and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when in the Dapitan area.

Sincerely yours,
Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Online Marketing Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What can i say about Dakak? Me and my wife spent three wonderful days in its womb. The place is so serene and so peaceful and clean. Even if it's already the low season for tourist when i went, We see the staff scrubbing and cleaning the place all the time.
Dakak has one of the cleanest beach area ive ever seen, also due to the constant clean up and picking up of leaves and seaweeds by the staff. The view from the dining area is fantastic, and spending time in their pirates bar during happy hour with an acoustic singer is a wonderful way to cap the day.
We tried their massage and for it was really good value for money, so much so that we had massage for two days.
I would have given it a much higher rating if not for the beds, as those mattresses and pillows have seen better days. I really wish they would upgrade these aspects as the best way to end a day is to lay down your head in a soft pillow and firm bed.

Overall, i would revisit again... when the mattresses are changed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakak_Admin, Online Marketing Head at Dakak Park & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Jotui,

Thank you for your honest review of our resort; we truly value gaining a personal perspective of how our guests perceive our resort. We know you understand the value and importance of providing an honest assessment and we greatly value your insight and thoughtful remarks.

I am pleased to know you felt our resort to be clean and beautiful. Thanks too for bringing our attention to things we really need to upgrade and repair. Please know I will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with our entire management team.

Again thank you for your insights; it is extremely helpful in helping us to provide all our guests with the expectations they have and deserve when staying at Dakak Beach Resort.

Sincerely,

Rhio Alcoseba Redulosa
Online Marketing Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

4D/3N,, , , Very large resort. Resort shuttle has a station/desk at Dipolog airport making travel to resort very easy, in aircon bus.
Arrival at resort: front desk staff did not acknowledge our arrival and I waited 10min before I got the attention of one of the front desk staff. Check in was fast, no problems. Shuttle from front desk to cottage/room as the resort is spread out and on a hillside.. so there were many stairs to negotiate..... There is also a reception desk at the bottom of resort near the Bamboo Resto. . .

Room/accommodations: Deluxe room/cottage in cluster 24, each cottage had 2 rooms each with balcony/deck, aircon, fan, TV, large bathroom with storage shelves for suitcases, hot/cold shower, 1 double bed, 1 single bed . . 4 persons so 1 child slept on couch, other 3 had the beds. Rooms were ok, showing age as the lamp cord was spliced using electrical tape..... bottom of desk drawers would pull apart when opened and always needed to reseat drawer bottoms each time you opened it...... Had neighbors in next room (attached rooms) but did not hear them through the walls so sound isolation was good.......

Food: At Bamboo Resto on resort complex; Breakfast buffet was Ok, mostly filipino foods and a couple of western food choices. Dinner at Bamboo resto; 1 night a la carte menu, again, mostly filipino foods, Ok.
1 night Bamboo buffet, mostly filipino foods, Ok.
1 night at the italian resto on resort grounds, Good. . . . .
At Bamboo resto they have a cultural show Fri evenings.

Things to do:
Scuba diving; 2 day, 4 dives. . . . . 1 day, 2 dives within 10 mins of resort. Visibility was only 30-40ft as there was a low pressure system offshore. Dive was good, with the usual corals and fishes found on most Philippine reefs. 2nd dive was greeted by very tiny jellyfishes and got stung multiple times on both arms (i was wearing a spring suit). Those stings eventually left their marks on my arms and lasted for 10 days !!!!!
2nd day dive: Aliguay Island; 2 dives; 1 hr boat ride from resort. Visibility was 60ft. Great diving, corals, fishes, turtles, eels. . . .
Zipline and horseback riding: Zipline and horseback riding are included in zipline price... first is horseback riding, not good, each horse/rider has a walking guide so there was no chance of running the horse,,, the ride was only 10 mins and was a very rocky trail that went around a crop field...... Zipline was fun, starting gate was the best, choice of harness positions, sitting or superman... i did superman coz i thought i would get better video/pics from my cam... In sitting position one can turn upside down adding more excitement to ziplining....
Fantasyland Park: Room package included Fantasyland Park. Resort has bus service to the park. 8pm and 9pm to the Park, park closes at 11pm...
Was entertaining for the kids (11yo & 15yo). Kids went on some of the rides while "we" adults sat an watched the stage show... started to rain about 10pm so kids did not go on all the rides as they shut down when raining....
Bowling: there is a small bowling complex, maybe 6 lanes.. pins were set/reset manually, the resort staff will "work" the pins...
Swimming: 3 pools; All are filtered saltwater... Not as salty as ocean water. One pool with diving board, about 10ft deep with a shallow area at one end... Another small pool with 2 small water slides and a third pool with a waterfall..
Beach: Beach is fine sand. very nice. Beach was cleaned everyday/all day when we were there as the low pressure system created small waves bring debris to the shoreline. Kids played volleyball with some of the off-duty staff and a few vacationing teachers, they had fun.........

Check out: Again had issues with checkout staff.... again watied 10 mins for any acknowledgement from staff... there were many staff during checkout and only 2 groups checking out.... i waited and waited, finally i gave up and had my filipino friend get the attention of reception staff....

3 stars; Rooms need some upgrading, food needs some attention (price to high for taste and selections), front end staff needs to be more hospitable.
Also note: One night was raining and our party of 4 were walking down the path from the room to the main walkway.. a resort shuttle stopped in front of the pathway thus blocking the pathway,,,, we had to walk on the small rock/grass lawn to get around the shuttle !!!!! WTF . . . AND those shuttle drivers speed around the resort paths/roads like they were driving in Manila, no regard for resort guests walking around the complex... pedestrians Do Not have the Right Of Way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent five days on a business trip. The check in/check out team was very courteous and friendly. The service was top notch. Staff gave great recommendations for dining and entertainment. The rooms were incredible! I was in a meeting room for the week and had no complaints.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakak Park & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakak Park & Beach Resort

Address: Dapitan City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga del Norte > Dapitan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dapitan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dakak Park & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dakak Park and Beach Resort is the closest place to paradise one could ever experience, with its beauty and serenity. Dakak started operating on 1988, was conveniently positioned in the southern part of the Philippines and surrounded by mountains in its west. Situated at Taguilon, Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte, Dakak tactfully eludes the typhoon belt, making it an ideal all-season destination for travelers. Dakak is the first five-star resort in Mindanao with "AAA" accreditation from the Department of Tourism, located along a private 750 meter white sand beach. From the original two (2) cottages, it has expanded into 64 cottages with 160 fully-furnished; 64 Bungalows; 98 Deluxe rooms; 2 Executive rooms; 16 Prime Deluxe rooms; 14 Beachfront rooms in native duplex type bungalows with capiz shell window panes; and three (3) Family Pavilions with 30 family rooms and one (1) Presidential Suite. Through the years, Dakak received various recognition locally and internationally among which are the Kalakbay Award for Resort on 1989 from the Philippine Department of Tourism; 16th International Award for Tourist, Hotel and Catering Industry on 1991 from the Trade Leaders Club and Editorial Office Madrid, Spain; a certificate of excellence by the Prestigious Resorts of the World on 1992; and has participated in the Dream Incentive Contest theme for the Philippines that has won the "Best Showcase 1997" in the Incentive Travel and Conventions, Meetings Asia (IT&CMA) last December 1997. Dakak Park and Beach Resort continuously strive to carry out its mission - "an abundance of recreational activities and entertainment, warm Filipino hospitality, and environment friendly ambiance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Dakak Park & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakak Park Beach Hotel Dipolog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakak Park & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.