We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent - could not do better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abri Cotier - CLOSED

L'Abri Cotier
Rue des Douves, 35600 Redon, France
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent - could not do better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an excellent meal, with lovely seafood, freshly prepared, attractively arranged and very enjoyable wine. It would have been excellent value even at twice the price. Went back as soon as possible and had wonderful langoustines. Both meals well served and attentive (but not intrusive) waitress. Local families obviously enjoying the mussels and their children enjoying their food and the play corner

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chimacum, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stopped for lunch on a Sunday. We both had seafood prepared to perfection and served with a smile. My husband had moules & frites and I had the salmon. Priced modestly and a nice skylight lit dining experience. Server spoke excellent English and made my poor French seem to not be a big deal. (Very much appreciated) we asked about local attractions and she even offered to drive us. A welcoming friendly place with outstanding food. Would recommend highly. We will go back!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Another experience to agree with the other reviewers. The menus are set piece efforts, which means that they arrive fresh and prompt and taste excellent. I would not say the choices were unimaginative however. My husband had a kangaroo steak off the middle menu, and it tasted just wonderful. We went on a Saturday evening and it was busy and coping fine - then a party of 12 came in unexpectedly - the waitress took a deep breath, rearranged some tables, found some more chairs and coped admirably. Astonishingly it did not seem to affect the service with a smile nor the speed at which food was served!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Malo, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A better than average local restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I agree with the other reviews, a good and fresh buffet and well cooked if unimaginative main dishes. We went on a Friday lunchtime, it was busy but the service was quick and personal with a nice smile.
Providing one doesn't expect too much this is a good place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Authentic French restaurant , at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Been there about 30 times. Nice cold buffet to start , main course and dessert is 17e plus wine. Menus from 10 e to about 25e. Owner and wife speak excellent English. Owner is the only chef and either his wife or another woman is the waitress.
Recommended as long it is not really busy as then they can't cope and standards slip. Sometimes do a lovely pork dish with sauce cidre, which is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Abri Cotier also viewed

Redon, Ille-et-Vilaine
Redon, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Redon, Ille-et-Vilaine
Redon, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abri Cotier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.