We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the boulottes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Mouettes

Les Mouettes
Esplanade Gen Leclerc, 80350 Mers Les Bains, France
0235863038
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Try the boulottes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant was lovely. Great service, excellent food (especially if you like seafood). Great location with views over the beach. We went with our 5 year old and felt very comfortable - although equally good for groups of adults as the restaurant is large. good selection on the price fix menus, the bullotes were delicious and the house wine was perfectly acceptable. We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    93
    22
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Family friendly restaurant right on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited Treport and called into les Mouettes for lunch. Although restaurant was full being a Saturday they manged to insert a table for three into an unused doorway onto the beach. It is a modern seafood restaurant with tables that can be moved easily to create seating for larger family groups. Staff were efficient and swift to carry out requests made. We just had two courses which were a piping hot Salmon Lasagne and a salad dish. Desserts were Fromage Blanc, Creme Brulee and Cafe Gourmond ( a trio of chocolate pudding, apple tart and coffee). Cost with half a carafe of white wine and a bottle of Muscadet sur Lie was 87 Euros. This restaurant was just pipped by another seaside restaurant called Les Regates further along the coast at Pourville sur Mer. (See separate review)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in Le Treport for 1 night on our way down to Mont Saint Michel. We arrived late afternoon and by the time we had got ourselves organised and out of the hotel it was early evening. After some sightseeing to the viewpoint at the top of the funicular and a wander around the port we decided to look for somewhere to eat. As it was very early in the season not everywhere was open, but it was a lovely evening and we were glad of the walk after spending the day on a motorbike. We walked right along the promenade and by 9pm were beginning to think we'd been to choosy but there in front of us was Les Mouettes like a wee oasis in the desert, it was a sight for sore eyes. As this was our first night in France we hadn't quite got our French head on yet but the staff were sooo friendly and attentive. We were seated at a table by the window looking onto the beautiful pebbly beach. It was a choice of fixed priced menus, we decided on a mid price menu. I had escagot!! which was actually quite nice, not sure i'd have them again as the box is now ticked but if you haven't already tried them i'd give them a go. For main i had moules mariniere and frites (very nice) though was a bit mortified when the mussels arrived in a huge bucket lol. My hubby had mixed meats for starters which he said was very nice then chicken in a fabulous sauce, we both had normandie tarte for dessert again lovely. To accompany our meals we also had a bottle of house rose which although not the best wine i've ever tasted was completely acceptable. Had to go out to the decking before my desert to capture the fabulous sunset. All in all our experience at Les Mouettes was a very friendly, pleasant and tastyexperience our first night in France with a fabulous view.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great find, great food and super location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Etap hotel in Mers les Bains last Monday, and the receptionist recommended us Les Mouettes. And we were not disappointed, it's a very simple temporary restaurant right on the beach. My partner had the Flemish stew which he loved, I had the mussels with garlic butter, and they were delicious. Great service and a very friendly welcome from the owner who likes Belgians ;-) Mers-les-Bains was a good find on our roadtrip, and the warm welcome and good food only made it better! Yes, we will go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Mouettes also viewed

Mers Les Bains, Somme
 
Mers Les Bains, Somme
Mers Les Bains, Somme
 

Been to Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Mouettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.