We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor poor hotel, do not consider for you trip!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Gratien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains
Save
You added ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains to your Saves list
2/8 Boulevard Pasteur, 95210 Saint Gratien, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Saint Gratien)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Gratien
Grimston, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor poor hotel, do not consider for you trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Before I list the issues myself and my three colleagues had I would like to explain that I work as a receptionist and porter in two 4 star hotels in the United Kingdom and as such understand the reasoning behind some of the problems we have encounted, however not to this level before.
Upon check in we found the hotel to look tired, and out dated from the front doors onwards. The two air conditioning units attached to the roof of the foyer neither helped to improve the view.
Once inside we found that the main foyer and reception area were to be under heavy renovation. This renovation was not mentioned on the booking site, the booking once it had been made or even when ibis front office regarding a request for twin beds which also wasn’t met. There was a builder blocking the door who was unwilling to move to allow easy access into the hotel.
Then we noticed blue paint covering the tiled floor, the lift covered with ply-wood which was barely hanging on to the walls with a mix of tape and screws and finally and more impressively, warning signs such as those directing guests relating to fire escapes etc taped to the walls.
Finally having reached the reception desk we were greeted by a gentlemen who proceeded to check us in. We were directed that our rooms were on the third floor but not given any directions.
Upon entering the lift the walls were covered with thin plywood which had been taped to the walls using masking tape. The 'walls' were covered with graffiti and a picture of what the lift should look like.
Once we exited the lift we found our floor in the hotel to be part way through a renovation. This resulted in the floors being covered with plastic sheeting covered with bags of cement and dry wall mix, multiple piles of wood and door frames laying up against the walls and exposed wiring/pipes. All of the floors within the hotel where like this.
Finally to top off the whole state of the hotel, all of the signs and information inside of the hotel were incorrect as they stated no noise would be made before 9am and after 6pm and yet, on both mornings noise was created before 9am and certainly after 6pm on the first night.
I would also like to make you aware that the pipe work in room 516 is wired incorrectly as all taps baring a ‘hot’ mark run cold, and all ‘cold’ taps run hot. Having said the ‘hot’ taps run cold, the water is luke warm at best. Also the ‘air con’ within both the room I stayed in (516) and the other room (517) could be compared to a chocolate tea-pot in terms of performance. From when we arrived on Monday it has been running on full, and yet the room has been so unbearably hot all of the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
27
39
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

In September 2009, I wrote the 1st review of this once-excellent hotel (which is now called Ibis Budget Saint-Gratien). I write this new and critical review to warn all of the travelers who read my first review and came here. This hotel is managed by the brothers Zaidi (Demjel and Ahmed) who are still EXCELLENT managers and completely HONEST men. They are as much the victims of this idiotic Accor Group-mandated renovation as are the patrons who stay there. Why do I make such a strong condemnation? I retired in September 2009 and started traveling to Paris. In each year since 2009 and I've stayed in this hotel 17 nights EACH month (except August). My most recent trip to this hotel was in June 2013 when I was given one of the rooms which had just been renovated in May 2013. Walking into the room (which is the same size as it was before the renovation) I was immediately struck by the absolute stupidity of the renovation planning and the poor quality of the work which had been done in it [e.g., the computer-controlled door lock catasrophically failed and I could not get back in; the lock handle just swong around in a full circle when you pushed down on it after entering the code; Ahmed had to pry the entire lock off the door with a crow bar (a large metal file he first used snapped) and then give me the room next door]. Now, here are all the idiocies (all of which I photographed and uploaded with this review) of the renovation: (1) If you stay almost 3 weeks in any hotel, you have to bring more than a couple of changes of clothes, there used to be a bar, running under the above bunk bed from the wall side to the other side, from which you could hang your clothes--NO MORE--now there is a 4-inch wall-mounted pole (see picture) underneath where the pillows were on the bunk bed, and there are NO other hanger knobs anywhere in the bedroom--you have only enough space for 1-2 day(s) clothes for 1 person, if you are staying anything more than 1 night you now have to hang your extra shirts and pants using your own metal hangers from the lip of the above bunk bed---what you then have is about 1/2 of the bed blocked with slacks and/or shirts (see uploaded photo); (2) There used to be a long wall-mounted desk and a chair under the TV which was about 1/2 the width of the room--NO MORE--now you have a very little wall mounted desk, which is about 1/4 the width of the room, and NO chair--unless you conside the blow-molded green upside-down can a place to sit, and fall off, as I repeatedly did, a chair (see uploaded photo); (3) There used to be a sizable sink, with overhead lighting and 2 large mirrors, NOW there is a little sink (with only enough area for a tooth brush and tooth paste) with 1 large mirror and a little side mirror, which is placed so that you get wierd partial reflections unless yo stand facing the large mirror which causes you to have your back pressed against the angled ladder to the top of the bunk bed--if you want to shave you now give up using the sink area and go into the shower, only to find that there is NO soap dish anywhere in there in there, and you also run the risk of stepping on your razor; (4) since the toilet-shower room is so small, you have to step out into the bedroom to dry off---then you have the horror of finding out that there is no bath mat and the room is no longer carpeted and you slip on the slick linoleum floor (made to look like pine-wood flooring)--one of the chamber maids told me that, since people sometimes vomited on the carpet, it was removed a replaced with the slippery linoleum, which they WET MOP every day.

This used to be an excellent hotel; it's now only good for 1-2 night stays by 1 person in each room. And forget a family 1-night stay, unless you are willing to lay your clothing on the floor. In September 2013, the price will rise to 52 Euros a night, It is NOT worth the current 49 Euro/night charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was under renovation at the time of our stay (June 2013) with the works scheduled to be completed by the end of August 2013.

We flew into Paris Beauvais airport and took the local bus (route 12) to Beauvais station (€4 each), the regional SNCF train to Persan Beaumont (€8 each) and the suburban RER C train from Persan Beaumont to St Gratien (€4 each).

The hotel is five minutes walk from St. Gratien station with frequent and fast trains into Central Paris on the very convenient RER Line C which serves the principal parts of central Paris. A local day travelcard, valid for unlimited travel into central Paris, was €10 each.

St Gratien is a pleasant suburb of Paris with quiet, tree lined streets. It is within walking distance of the spa resort of Enghien Les Bains and the adjacent lake Enghien, Casino and theatre.

The pleasant local town centre has a supermarket and a selection of shops and restaurants.

The hotel is arranged over five floors and we were allocated a room on the fifth floor, overlooking a quiet courtyard.

The reception and common parts of the hotel were being refurbished at the time of our stay.

This is a budget hotel (which used to be branded ETAP) with no bar or restaurant. The reception desk was open until 2100 with an automated check-in facility available for out-of-hours arrivals.

The fifth floor had been completely refurbished, with all rooms freshly painted and fitted out with new fixtures, fittings, laminate flooring, new linens and towels and new bathrooms, all to a high standard. The common parts of the fifth floor had been repainted and re-carpeted throughout.

This is a standard design of IBIS budget hotel with a double bed and second single bunk bed, a small toilet and shower cubicle and a separate hand basin located in the room. There was a desk and stool and HD TV with 40 domestic TV channels.

The room was fresh and clean, the bed was comfortable and the daily housekeeping was efficient and thorough.

There was some noise in the room, caused by the renovation works.

The nightly rate was excellent value for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

There is nothing overly impressive about this place but it is not a bad place either: rooms were clean & sufficient (apart from the odd shower/toilet set up) the location was good & staff were helpful.

Let's be realistic, the price they charge in relation to the location is very reasonable - there are very good links into the centre of Paris and the actual area is not a bad suburb of Paris at all: with restaurants, cafes, supermarkets etc all nearby. This was very handy as the hotel didn't have many facilities - there were a few vending machines however and as mentioned before, the breakfast was basic but only about €5...

I found the, mostly North African, staff to be very friendly & helpful with very good English - which was a definite bonus.

All in all this is a classic case of getting what you pay for and being realistic with your expectations - and I would definitely stay here again for a few days max. if a base was needed in Paris.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be quite noisy as overlooking quite a busy A road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The management is very helpful and helped me on several occasions. The location of the hotel is just OK and I did not fell safe at night. The price of the hotel is reasonable.
In summary the value is excellent especially with the discount when available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel had all the necessary functions, even free wifi, which most hotels don't have. The staff was supremely helpful and kind, and they all spoke english very well, which facilitated the communiation a lot.
The quality of the hotel is quite average, but it shall suite all the needs of the budget traveler, however it could scare away pickier guests. The cleanliness is not at its best, but it certainly wasn't a real issue.
The location of the hotel is great for those, who plan to explore Paris via public transport, there's an RER station in just a few minutes of walking. The only con is the lack of parking spots, we had to store the car in a parking house near the RER station.
All in all I would certainly recommend the hotel, and I'd like to thank all the magnificent staff who made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Paying 45Euro per night staying only 30minutes far from Paris in a nice area with restaurantes and carrefour very close, seems to be a good choice but dont get illuded.
The bed was fine, the room clean and this is all.
The toillete attached to the shower is something not good once you feel inside a swimming pool. I am still wondering why they dont put a courtain to avoid water spreading in the toillet.
Now my list of claims: Read carefully abou higienic stuffs. This was just reported to the hotel. Let's see their reaction.

1- I made a reservation from the accor website filtering the choice of hotels exclusive for non-smokers but arriving at the hotel despite of the signs everywhere, the four rooms I have booked where all smelling cigar. I claimed this at the reception and the manager said that it is not possible to ensure a room for non-smokers. After saying three times that no rooms were available and trying to explaine the unexplainable, the guy could finally find another rooms but still the problem persisted.
2- Elevator not working. Did not report it since it was my last day.
3- The breakfast was cheap but really poor. There was a BUG inside my Bread and the situation was reported to the managers (one guy speaking french and one lady speaking portuguese). The answer was something unbelievable: "This already happened but only in the weekends (). We cannot do anything since the bakery is hired by the Etap Chain, not for us". There was no excuses, only unprofessional answers to a serious problem that was treated as something normal for the staff.
4- I asked for a type of cheese they was offering in the day before and the lady in the front desk just smilled and started saying "You are lucky because there is still some cream-cheese left". She also made a joke with another client saying to him "you ate all the cheese".
5- The employees of the hotel where all having breakfast at the same time as the clients in a small area, so the area was packed!

This hotel urgently demands professional management and audit!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are smelling cigar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains

Address: 2/8 Boulevard Pasteur, 95210 Saint Gratien, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Saint Gratien)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Saint Gratien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Gratien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.