We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to base a stay in the Loire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Bourgville

Save Saved
You added Domaine de Bourgville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Bourgville
Allee de Bourgville, 86420 Monts-sur-Guesnes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Lovely place to base a stay in the Loire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed with Glynn and John in March. Of course the gardens were not in bloom, but the property is lovely. The owners are warm and accomodating. They mapped out a nice plan for us to see the area chateaus and other sights. Our room with 2 twins (which we specified) was very small, but since it was off-season, they let us keep our large suitcases in the unoccupied room across the hall. John cooked a delicious dinner for us and another couple on our 2nd night. The first night, which was a Monday, and normally the most difficult day to find a restaurant open in France, they booked us at a local place which we thoroughly enjoyed. I'm sure in warmer weather, breakfast on the terrace would be a very nice start to the day. They display works by area artists on the walls of the entry and large salon. When we were there they had a number of beautiful watercolors, which are for sale, but unfortunately not easily brought back to the US. Altogether a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had had a long ride of some 200km through France on a motorbike and just needed a hot bath and good food. The welcome Glyn gave us was exceptional. John was away and despite underselling her culinary skills Glyn was a superb cook.The room was gorgeous and the vista superb. Breakfast set us up for the day and it was a truely memorable ride through their countryside. We are going back and for a longer stay. As part of a French & Spanish road trip, this was the best place we stayed of all 12 Sawday B&B's!.

Room Tip: They all are gorgeous as its the place that stays in your memory rather than the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Very comfortable and prettily furnished bedrooms in a delightful property in a peaceful location. We had a very nice dinner with the friendly hosts, Glyn and John and breakfast the next morning was substantial and delicious. Overall extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The B&B is well located in a lovely village surrounded by gorgeous countryside. The property has been lovingly and beautifully restored and our room, L'If, was very pretty with an incredibly comfy bed!
John and Glyn are incredible hosts with a fantastic local knowledge. They are warm and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. The breakfast is typically French with lovely bread, croissants and pain au chocolat all washed down with with great coffee.
We had dinner one evening which John prepared, which was simply gorgeous. The dessert was a tarte au citron with a twist as it contained ground almonds; it is apparently an old French recipe and was just lovely.
You will not regret staying here.........

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Just got back from one weeks holiday at Domaine de Bourgville. Loved every minute of our time there. From the wonderful village (both the B&B and the gite that John and Glyn run are within a lovely village Mont sur Guesnes with its own boulanger, supermarket and chateau) to the beautiful rooms and superb position within the Loire Valley.

John and Glyn are the perfect hosts. We were welcomed on the first night, having driven from Cherbourg, with a glass of wine, and they managed to rustle up some food as well (completely unplanned!).

We spent the week looking at chateaux, stunning little villages and wineries, all recommended by John and Glyn. The weather was unseasonably warm so every night was BBQs outside. Heartily recommended is John's cooking, for which you can request one evening at a very reasonable rate. We ate three courses; food was from the garden and wine from down the road - perfect!

We spent two nights in the B&B and the rest of the time in the gite, both were wonderful. The breakfasts in the B&B were fresh and delicious.

All in all a wonderful break and we shall certainly return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Although I'd read about how lovely this B&B is in advance it was still a surprise to discover just how lovely when I arrived.

The buildings of the B&B have a long and interesting history, which I enjoyed hearing about and thank-fully have been saved from decay by the owners loving attention.

The grounds of the B&B are fantastic and walking through it you get a wonderful sense of how grand it all must have been once upon a time.

The room we had was superbly decorated with a mix between French historic grandeur and quaint English countryside.

And the owners, a very nice couple, ensure their guests are well nourished and looked after.

Only point I would make is that it really is a B&B. You are a part of the framework the moment you arrive so if you're looking for anonymity you won't find it here, but the stay was perfect none the less.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, beautiful getaway to counteract the loud, boiterous city...this is the place for you ! Glyn and John's country retreat is just lovely, the rooms clean and inviting and the food...oh my, John is quite the accomplished chef. We also took advantage of having an afternoon cooking lesson by a local French chef (didnt hurt that he could have been a fashion model !) and then got to enjoy the fruits of our (his) labor for dinner. John and Glyn have bicycles available for the use of guests and I recommed using them to discover the rolling hills and nearby park... the perfect way to spend an afternoon. Castles and markets are nearby, so having a vehicle is much preferred if you intend to explore as there is no public transportation available, however, your hosts may assist you in that regard. Wish I was sitting on Glyns terrace with a cup of good English tea right now :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Bourgville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Bourgville

Address: Allee de Bourgville, 86420 Monts-sur-Guesnes, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Monts-sur-Guesnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monts-sur-Guesnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Domaine de Bourgville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de Bourgville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.