We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Chateau De Raay

Save Saved
You added Sandton Chateau De Raay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandton Chateau De Raay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raayersveldlaan 6, 5991 EN Baarlo, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baarlo
Huizen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful small vacation we had in this idyllic hidden spot. An original mansion with lots of art and spacious gardens. The restaurant with the sky as roof serves delicious food. Excellent rooms with real fine beds and a landscape view. The touristic information in this area is perfect and there a lots of ways to explore the region of North Limburg. We biked the Maas tour and on a sunny day in autumn you will hardly find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
75
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked this hotel becasue we wanted to be near the Floriade. We didn't expect much but we were very pleasantly surprised--at the hotel, the service and the restaurant in the hotel. Chateau De Raay is just out side the littel village of Baarlo on a beautifulpiece of property. Some of the hotel rooms are actually in the old chateau. We had a lovely, modern room in the newer section--a good sized room, nice bathroom and comfortable beds. A basic continental breakfast was included in our rate.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. I doubt that we would go back to the Floriade but we wold for sure go back to this hotel and have dinner in their restaurant.

Only issue is that our room was not air conditioned but the windows did open. It was cool when we were there but I can imagine that the room might get warm/stuffy during very hot weather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms are huge, and so is the toilet. Each room is a little different. There are even a few special rooms such as the "pink room". The dining is under an atrium which makes breakfast great.
The only downside of this hotel is the driveway up to the hotel is quite long, and its paved with cobble stones. Its only wide enough for a single car, so if there is approaching traffic you need to wait until the other car goes by. This makes entry and exit very time consuming. TO get to the hotel you need to pass through a very modern residential area, which adds more time to any excursions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

the rooms were large and very cozy. unique style, thanks to the age of the building. the only drawback would be that the beds are incredibly soft. some may like this but my sister did not and called it the 'bowl bed' throughout our trip! the building is old, but with modern refurbishment, and thank goodness the bathrooms were very modern also! we had dinner at the hotel restaurant the one night that we spent in baarlo (venlo for FLORIADE 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed the set dinner. good free WiFi connection. very picturesque grounds with outdoor garden and conservatory, perfect for the summer. a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are near the hotel housekeeping's service area which didnt cause us any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights, according their web site the rooms, we had de suite, have te comfort for noe a days. For me it was a long time ago i saw a mobile ventilator unit insteed of airco. But the staff is verry friendly and the place is clean. Don't try the kitchen if you don't have to. My advice, there are much better castle hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited the nearby Floriade and were recommended the Sandton by a Dutch work colleague, I'll seek their advice again, because this was a great find. We booked a Floriade D,B&B package with a basic room, but on arrival we were given a room upgrade, result! If you like fine dining, good food, but with no pretentiousness, then the De Raay serves it up in fine style. Excellent service, given with a smile and very good English by all. Lovely room with a massive bathroom and double bath, but no where to hang towels, minor point though. 'Public' areas are spacious and comfortable, while it's great to stroll round the lovely gardens and visit the on site Art Gallery. We'd recommend the De Raay to you with no hesitation and would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nexoe, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had this hotel by chance, because the other hotel was overbooked. So we came in the dark night and didn't know what to expect. Is was a very good surprise with this nicely renovated chateau and when we got one of the art rooms we were even more pleasantly surprised. We didn't expect such a rich decoration in a classical building. Even the toilet was filled with art.
The beds were big and very soft - in a good way - no back problems, it was just like floating on air. The best beds I ever tried. (But maybe I was just very, very tired)

Room Tip: The art room is inspiring and funny but if you should live in these overwhelming colors a long time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandton Chateau De Raay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Chateau De Raay

Address: Raayersveldlaan 6, 5991 EN Baarlo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Baarlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baarlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Chateau De Raay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sandton Chateau De Raay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Raay Venlo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Chateau De Raay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.