We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the mod cons and spotless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Srebarna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre
Save
You added Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre to your Saves list
Petko Simov 16, Srebarna 7587, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Srebarna B&B and Inns
Sofia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All the mod cons and spotless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a wonderful stay. We had our own little sitting room in the evenings and the terrace with the mosquito net is supper. Everything was spotless and you have everything you need towels etc. Its a short walk to the lake and the owners have escorted tours with telescope
The local bar/restaurant was wall to wall with smoke. I guess the smoking ban hasn't reached "Srebarna". Better to bring a bottle back to the terrace and enjoy the fresh air.

Would highly recommend visiting Srebarna just for the wildlife and Pelican Lake is the place to stay when you do.

Seanog

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria (English)
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What can we say, a VERY warm welcome from Mike & Jerry after a tiring journey on a hot summer's day. Jerry came out to the car to greet us & Mike, having returned from the information centre they run, had a very warm smile as he came through the garden gate.We were shown to our room which was very well equipped and very comfortable with air-con included,a great bonus in the heat.Mike then took us up to the information centre where we borrowed binoculars & also used his telescope to spot the birds on the reserve.He gave us lots of info on the birds around the area & it was a pleasure to listen to him. Later we had a delicious evening meal cooked by Jerry in the shaded & insect protected pool room, by the side of the very tempting plunge pool. We then had a lovely evening with the other guests relaxing and chatting. The following morning, after breakfast, we went for a short walk around the reserve before heading off to Silistra on the local bus to enjoy a cruise on the Danube in aid of the Silistra Orphanage. Back at Pelican Lake we enjoyed drinks with our hosts before retiring.
Mike & Jerry really couldn't have done any more to make our stay in the area extra special, thank you to you both and we will definitely back to see much more of the Reserve.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Highly recommended. Mike & Jerry offer genuine hospitality in a very interesting corner of Bulgaria. Both very caring. Mikes guiding is interesting & enjoyable & we very much appreciated the time he spent with us. Try for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Mike and Gerry are the perfect hosts and go that extra mile to ensure ones stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Breakfast is excellent and generally kept us going all day but evening meals are also available and are very good and reasonably priced. Mike is a fund of knowledge on the local birds and birding locations.

Srebarna is a lovely village with several friendly bars and cheap beer in the north of Bulgaria only a few miles from the River Danube.

Room Tip: Two twin rooms with shared facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Pelican Lake Guesthouse was an oasis of warm hospitality on our long bicycle tour from Budapest to the Black Sea. Let alone their enormous knowledge of ornithology and nature generally, Jerry and Mike are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We decided to head North to see the Dalmatian pelicans and other wildlife around Srebana Nature Reserve, so got on the bus with binoculars and bird books and headed to Pelican lake guest house. What an amazing place, we instantly felt at home, Jerry and Mike preparing us a cold drink as soon as we arrived. They are both very knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and were keen to give us all the info we needed to get the best out of our stay, including offering to take us to the best spots on the reserve! They both took us around the village and showed us good places to eat and drink (with all the locals waving and saying hello as we walked past!) and took us to see a storks nest in the village square! The actual accommodation is lovely, set amongst a beautiful garden with comfy outdoor chill out areas. The apartment was lovely, absolutely spotless with air conditioning allowing a luxuriously comfy nights sleep.

To summarise: friendly and knowledgeable custodians, wonderful wildlife, faultless accommodation! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Lake Guest House for a week in July and had a wonderful time. Mike and Jerry are a lovely welcoming couple who are happy to help and answer any questions you might have, which makes staying in Srebarna very easy!

We felt extremely relaxed and at home in the Guest House and enjoyed reading in their pretty garden - especially from the comfort of the rocking sun lounger on their patio! We also had fun walking around the lake and spotting a huge range of fantastic birds including the Dalmatian pelicans, as well as visiting other nearby historic and tourist attractions. Jerry makes delicious breakfasts and packed lunches and she seems to have a never ending supply of home made jams.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week and I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre

Address: Petko Simov 16, Srebarna 7587, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Silistra Province > Srebarna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Srebarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse sits on the edge of the Srebarna Biosphere Reserve close to the river Danube. The area is ideal for walking, cycling and fishing. We provide comfortable rooms with the option of self-catering. Srebarna is home to over 200 species of birds and almost 50 mammals. Access is easy by trails that lead to all areas of the Reserve. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Lake Guesthouse Environmental Project Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.