We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Ship Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Newnham-on-Severn GL14 1BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We cant praise this hotel highly enough room was excelant food was fantastic service brilliant they even asked me if i wanted to park my motorbike securely in a store how thoughtful was that ????? we will be returning to try another or the stunning burgers may be even the massive titanic burger but may have to share it as no way could i eat one on my own ...... just add the ice cream was beutifull we will be back
Sue and Terry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and the food you ate. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back onboard The Ship soon!

Kindest Regards Adrian & Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow this place has an amazing selection of gourmet burgers which won't disappoint. I had the Donald (crispy duck) burger and it was a delicious change from the norm. My boyfriend couldn't resist the challenge of the Titanic burger and enjoyed every last mouthful. Leave room for the puddings though because you won't be disappointed - the homemade icecream is gorgeous and the sticky toffee sundae is simply stunning. You can enjoy all of this yummy food in relaxed, clean and friendly surroundings and all the staff took the time to chat and make us feel very welcome. This place is a must for any visit to The Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are both delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Ship so much! We look forward to meeting you both again
Adrian & Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had read about the gourmet burgers made at this Resturant in our rented cottage comments book. We were not disappointed! Burgers were stunning (there is a Titanic burger available - three burger meals in one!) and puddings also just as good. They were trialling a sticky toffee sundae - ask for this, you won't be disappointed; very creamy homemade ice-cream. Nice atmosphere and easy to park. £33 for two burger meals, drinks and pudding. (14 August 2012)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We called in to the Ship Inn for a family meal on Thursday August 2nd. There were seven of us, 5 adults two kids. We hadn't booked. We were welcomed by the hosts and offered two tables as the place was reasonably busy, this was OK by for us.. The place was spotless and the food excellent, the service was a little slow though and probably needs addressing. That said we were well looked after and were kept informed of the progress of our meal.

The house speciality is home made burgers, they were delicous as were the desserts.

We had a lovely time, the owners(?) Adrian and Carolyn were extremely helpful and attentive, good food, good atmospher and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the comments & kind words, sorry the service was a little slow, however, hope you enjoyed the prawn crackers while you waited. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went to the Ship just for some dinner and while the pub was bustling the restaurant was quiet. Was made to feel very welcome despite being the only people that night! Just had mains and I'm glad I didn't attempt a starter as the mains were very generous portions, all homemade and delicious. I had the asparagus and salmon fishcakes and my husband had the naked burger. Was so stuffed I couldnt fit in a pudding, which is very unusual for me. Will definitely be returning to try the Dessert Burger.
All in all, a wonderful restaurant, very nicely decorated, wonderfully welcoming and attentive staff and great food. If you haven't been, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your meal! Maybe next time you can try our homemade Ice cream. Many thanks for the support and your comments. Hope to see you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a lovely please to eat put you feet up and relax with a great atmosphere a beautiful beer garden.The staff were more than happy to help with all our needs.they made us feel so welcome Great tasting burgers to you have got to try the famous R.A.T burger. This is one of the best places i have been to for a long time.The rooms are very comfortable and clean.The ship is situated in the beautiful village of newnham a couple of minuets walk down the road and your at the river seven.There is lots of lovely walks to go on in the forest of dean.the food over all in the restaurant was great and very reasonable priced.I would really recommend you try this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Ship Inn is advertised as the only dedicated burger and grill restaurant in the area and it certainly lives up to this with large portions of freshly cooked food for a very reasonable price!

On top of this the pub staff were friendly and helpful in every way throughout the meal. The RAT (Rosemary and Thyme) burger, which is their speciality, was brilliant and something a bit different to standard pub burgers. In terms of steak, it comes cooked just as requested and will not disappoint!

Overall, highly recommended to anyone in the area and we will certainly be returning on our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your time with us, Makes working in the kitchen worth while when customers have enjoyed the experience of good food and a great night out. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: High Street, Newnham-on-Severn GL14 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newnham-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newnham-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is situated in the High Street of the picturesque village of Newnham-on-Severn on the west bank of the river. Once well-known as a port, today the village is regarded as one of the favourable observation points for the Severn Bore. History of the village dates back to the Middle Ages.The Ship Inn with its recently refurbished rooms, all equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi Fi internet access and superior finishes, is a great place to make a base whilst you explore the surrounding area.Some of the rooms have amazing views of the River Severn, a great place to see the amazing natural phenomenon of the Severn Bore!When you eat at The Ship Inn you’ll experience great tasting, well presented food … so good that you’ll want to return again and again like so many of our food loving diners and guests.All the food is freshly prepared on the premises and sourced from local suppliers. We endeavour to only use foods that are in season and only of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.