We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis of calm with 5* treatment from the moment you arrive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knowles Lodge

Knowles Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appletreewick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knowles Lodge
Save
You added Knowles Lodge to your Saves list
Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful oasis of calm with 5* treatment from the moment you arrive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

In our well travelled opinion this is most probably THE best standard of bed and Breakfast it is possible to achieve - without it becoming a 5 Star boutique hotel - in Britain today. Welcoming host, fresh flowers, total openess to share the beautiful airy family lounge which is flooded with natural daylight and has jaw dropping views across the valley to the river and nearby Bolton Abbey. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Incredible attention to detail within the individually prepared en-suite rooms, spotlessly clean and with an acccompanying power shower - of the kind you can only seem to enjoy in the USA. If Fortnum and Mason did B & B then this would be their model to look up to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Make sure you have adequate travel insurance before you go to this B&B.
We had arranged to go to Knowles Lodge for 3 nights in July but unfortunately had to cancel a week in advance because our little dog had become very poorly.
The owner, Chris Knowles-Fitton got quite agitated and demanded compensation for his missed opportunity to grab £270 for the 3 nights stay in line with his 'cancellation policy'. He wanted at least one night's pay of £90 as he said he had been unable to re-let his double room in that period. We negotiated, by offering £50 which he said was too low and he said he would accept £75 minimum. Alternatively, we could pay him a larger sum and he would give us a credit note if we agreed to stay at Knowles Lodge within a year.
This guy is just trying to maximise profits and in our view has acted in a exceptionally mercenary way to our difficult situation. When we originally booked he asked for credit card details including the security code. In hindsight, this was a mistake on our part and I would advise against doing this as he will be able to debit your account without any further permission.
Needless to say, this has put us off visiting not only the Yorkshire Dales but we would not touch Knowles Lodge with a bargepole! Be warned!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitnik, Owner at Knowles Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
It always saddens us to receive negative reviews about Knowles Lodge. Thousands who have stayed with us know what a special and unique place it is and that we always go out of our way to ensure that everyone’s stay is as relaxed and enjoyable as possible. Those who have stayed with us are hugely complimentary and we’re always delighted, and grateful, that so many take the time to write such positive comments.

There are, however, some critical reviews that are almost all related to our cancellation policy. We fully understand that it can be frustrating having to pay for something that you’re not able to enjoy but we’re a small family run B. & B. and spring/summer is always our busiest period. It makes it hard to run a successful business if we are unable to re-let cancelled rooms. We have tried to make our cancellation policy as visible as possible on our website and, nine times out of ten when people cancel they understand why we need to charge them a percentage. In those cases we try to deal with the problem sympathetically and offer them a credit of half of what they’ve paid us if they choose to stay with us at a later date. We realise it’s a difficult situation but almost everyone is happy with this.

We recognise however that not everybody uses the internet and to avoid any confusion in the future we will send a ‘confirmation of booking’ letter which clearly shows the cancellation policy.

Finally we’d like to apologise to those people who felt less than satisfied with their experience with us – it is certainly not our wish to upset anyone. Those that we can contact will be offered a free night; we really believe that if they had the opportunity to stay with us they would realise what a special place Knowles Lodge is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

After booking all the available rooms for our family and friends for our wedding day for 2 nights, the owners made an admistrative error and confused themselves thinking the bride and groom would be staying the night of their wedding. Rather than sorting this out in a sensible and reasonable way, the (male) owner decided he couldn't wait to clear this up so showed up unanounced at the wedding reception 5 minutes away and proceeded to question the bride about who had reserved what. After establishing there had indeed been an error he decided that the best course of action was to huff and puff at the bride (to recap, AT HER WEDDING RECEPTION) and then have a verbal go at her before storming out. Considering our friends and family still had all the rooms booked there for that evening, we found this an amazingly bad error of judgement that is aboslutely unacceptable and we would never want to have anything to do with this establishment again, and would recommend others to stay away. Staggeringly bad over reaction and I'd question the ability of the owners to deal with unavoidable and minor issues.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My partner and I have just spent the most glorious weekend at Knowles Lodge, the house and surroundings are beautiful, ideally located for excellent walking and sight seeing.
Our room was comfortable and spotless with every attention to detail,the owners Pam and Chris were so welcoming even our little dog was sorry to leave.
Excellent breakfast too, couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed for 2 nights in April and was blessed with fantastic weather which allowed me to appreciate this beautiful place.

There are three rooms all are beautifully decorated and the beds were so comfortable. No tv's in the room it was so peaceful. You are encouraged to share the house with the owners which was very welcoming. I took my dog with me and again they were very accomodating although she did take quite a liking to the resident pheasant percy!

The surroundings and views are amazing, fantastic for walking and within easy walking distance of Simon's Seat, Appletreewick, Bolton Abbey etc.

The breakfasts were delicious and as I was on my own

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

My mother stayed here twice and enjoyed her stays.

However,on the third occasion, I paid Pam Knowles Fitton £45.00 as requested for her single night, "£45.00 cash will be fine" but the following morning when I came to collect her, Chris Knowles Fitton came running out in the pouring rain to say that his wife has undercharged by £10.00, and demanded this be paid. No receipts were given.


Unfortunately, the bathroom was full of tiny flies, which were very unpleasant.


Will not therefore be using this establishment again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Greedy grasping attitude of the owner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knowles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles Lodge

Address: Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Appletreewick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Appletreewick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knowles Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.