We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Bad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Dukes Retreat to your Saves list
The Dukes Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khandala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good to Bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Why Good:-
Earlier I visited to Dukes Retreat in the month of September and my experience was great! Its a great property with good surrounding and even their Staff is Polite.

Why Bad:-
yesterday it was lazy Sunday i.e. on 8th December,2013 we decided to visit Khandala to Dukes Retreat and drove all the way from Mumbai to spend a nice Teatime with my Family.(Thinking of nice,relaxed ans chilled evening). But I was in a Shock when I reached there and the Security Person Stopped us at the entrance and asked us if we were attending some wedding function, We said no and he replied that the whole hotel is booked for next 3-4 days for function. Even the Restaurant/Cafe was not accessible becoz of the Booking. Our whole evening was spoiled as we were very excited to visit this place again.

Verdict:-
All in all waste of Money, Time and Energy. My advice to all... pls Check out this place whether it is available or not before planing to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for visiting the Dukes Retreat and sharing your experience about our resort in Khandala.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused on account of the Food & Beverage outlets not being available for your visit. We are certainly looking at the feedback and are ensuring that at least one of the food & beverage outlets is always available for visiting guests

We once again regret the inconvenience caused and look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back and would request you to consider the deviation as an aberration of the experience you have had with us at The Dukes Retreat.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    209
    54
    19
    17
See reviews for
172
96
4
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Ambience of Hotel is good..Its nearby to express highway so good location. The view from Hotel terrace is awesome.. we can see the charismatic view of mountains & a small waterfall from the terrace and some hotel rooms views.. unfortunately didn't enjoyed the view from room, as had booked corner ones, but would suggest to book 109 or 110 rooms nos. to enjoy the view..food is also good, ok service.. rooms are clean n nice. The panorama restaurant is nicely built with swimming pool view & the view of express way road, mountains on the other side. Overall good hotel, would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Dukes Retreat.

Set on the edge of a 500 foot cliff with breathtaking views of the Khandala Ghat, The Dukes Retreat is a perfect escapade for leisure and business travelers. I am overwhelmed to know you and your family had a pleasant stay. I have shared your positive comments with our associates and they are delighted to receive your words of praise.

I regret that you were not impressed by the room and would like to mention that on your visit, opt for a room with a picture window that offers enchanting views of the Ghats.

We thank you once again for your custom and look forward to your continued visits.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.
Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I along with my wife staryed here for 1 night (18th Nov 2013). The hotel is just 5 mins drive from Khandala exit on Expressway. The location of the hotel is simply awesome. The arrangement on the rooms are such that every room get the valley from their windows. We opted for Executive rooms which were reasonable large and there was nice homely feel to the room. The room was clean, the interior looked contemporary and beds were cozy too.

The hotel has a swimming pool, garden for children, cafe and a deck from which you get a beautiful view of the nature. It also has couple of conference rooms which we didnt check out.

Hotel service was first class. Hotel staff was warm and approaching. All our requests were attended promptly. No issues on that front.

Yes, food is very expensive here. We opted for package meal which included lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day. Quality of food was just ok and was not worth the money they took for it.

Overall its a good hotel to spend a day or two to just relax and enjoy the hills away from the city hustle bustle.

Room Tip: All rooms are valley facing and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Set on the edge of a 500 foot cliff with breathtaking views of the Khandala Ghat, The Dukes Retreat is a perfect escapade for leisure and business travelers. The rooms are spacious and have a fresh modern décor with enchanting views of the Ghats. I am overwhelmed to know you and your wife had a pleasant stay. I have shared your positive comments with our associates and they are delighted to receive your words of praise.

Also, I would like to mention that the food pricing is guided by the par excellent services that we offer. However, we have noted your concern about the quality of food and our team in the kitchen will take the corrective measures to offer the best culinary experience to guests.
We thank you once again for your support and look forward to your continued visits.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have been visiting Dukes since forever.... It always has a homely feeling.. The staff is an absolute delight and uber helpful. Everytime i visit its a memorable experience..... The only thing i wish would be if you could revamp your breakfast menu..... everything else is AWESOME !!!!

Room Tip: Always go for the deluxe room on the ground it has a sitting area which is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Dukes Retreat. We are grateful to you for your continued support and patronage.

Set on the top of a mountain, our resort in Lonavala is a mesmerizing destination to relax and unwind. It makes us immensely happy to know that we succeeded in making your every visit memorable. Our associates strive to attend to guests’ requests with utmost flair and your special appreciation of their efforts has inspired them. We are glad to note that you had a home away from home experience at our resort and we will certainly incorporate your suggestion regarding the breakfast menu to make your next visit even better.

We thank you for your custom. It has always been a delight to host you at our accommodation in Lonavala and we look forward to your continued visits.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was accompanied by my one year old twins, and thanks to the service , my stay was memorable and my kids had great fun. right from the room to the location, the view from the balcony, all was amazing. the food was good and they helped me with infant food instantly. My only problem with the stay was the swimming pool which did not have a temperature control. The water was chilly and my kids could not use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for joining us at our resort with your family. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the experience with us as much as we enjoyed being at your service.

The Dukes Retreat is an ideal destination to relax and unwind with friends and family. Your special appreciation of our service has made the entire team ecstatic and they are eagerly awaiting to welcome you back. We have noted your suggestion with regard to temperature control of the pool and would look at the feasibility of incorporating the same during product up gradation.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

On behalf of the ladies & gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am so glad that we came here. I had a bit of a challenge getting through with their contact numbers. But it seems they had a genuine problem as even though I reached them a day before making the trip, they went out of the way to reserve the best "Deluxe" room with the best possible view - 109. Great view. I was travelling with my grand-father and it worked out great as this one had a balcony overlooking the valley. Breath-taking view - best time I had with my grand-father. Service was impeccable - wheel chair access through. Dial 6 and I would have someone within 5 minutes - that is called 5 star service. I couldn't have chosen a better option in Khandala. Thanks everyone on Trip advisor for the accurate reviews and tips. Thank you Pete and Jayant - I really appreciate you going out of the way for making my stay memorable.

Room Tip: Room no. 109 has an awesome view. If you like a balcony for privacy even more recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review on this public platform.

We are glad that our location, rooms and service were at par with your expectations and that you had a memorable sojourn. We endeavor to extend a hassle-free experience to our guests and are pleased to receive an acknowledgement of our efforts through your testimony. We also thank you for the special mention of our associates that has motivated the entire team to strive for excellence.

Once again, thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you at our hotel in Khandala. We look forward to the pleasure of having you back with us again.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat.

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I had been this Diwali to the resort for 1 day.
It was a very bad experience. From entry no one to guide u where to drive.
None of the staff to take responsibility . It was like passing the parcel when asked for a help
Restaurant having strong non- v eg food.
Had to call multiple time for housekeeping service for same thing.
NO LABLE OF FOOD ITEM AT BUFFET, COULD. NOT GET WETHER VEG OR. NON-VEG ITEM WHERE THEY.
Food items r very expensive compared to the quality of food.
Not worth staying

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to patronize The Dukes Retreat and taking time out to share your feedback.

As indicated in your feedback and the personal interactions with the team during your stay, we have noted the areas for improvement and you would also agree that we have also been able to address the concerns during your stay itself.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J Pulliattu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.