We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location & view, but quality of food is not up to the mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Dukes Retreat to your Saves list
The Dukes Retreat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Khandala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location & view, but quality of food is not up to the mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a chance to stay at this hotel recently for a conference. The view from the rooms is amazing, in room services are excellent. The furniture & linens were comfortable & clean, the poolside dining area is superb! The only sore point was the food quality, which was not up to the mark. The staff also needs o be more courteous & trained in soft skills. My fourth star in entirely for the view from the room............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback which helps us to review and improve our services from time to time. I sincerely regret that your dining experience was not up to your expectation. I have shared your feedback with the Food and Beverage team and let me assure you that corrective action has been initiated.

We request the pleasure of serving you again and an opportunity of offering you a better experience. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    189
    48
    17
    15
See reviews for
149
87
4
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have been to this resort twice. First with family and another time for business for our company conference. The management had probably changed the second time. My review is more from the second time point of view. The rooms are nice and seems to have been renovated from my earlier trip. But with change in management, there seemed to be some lapses in the way things were done. For e.g. some of my associate rooms had welcome chocolates and fruits in their rooms, whereas some didn't have. The rooms which were not assigned to our company used to get mornings newspapers, whereas rooms allocated to us didn't get any news papers (we were there for 2 days). Such small things gets easily noticed and does not go well with what they claim it to be as a "premium property".
Another point would be that the spread of buffet breakfast can be extended, especially when they are catering to large guests.
The property was also undergoing some renovations, however, adequate safety measures were not taken, like side of the pathways had been dug up, but no instructions were written or precautions were taken for guests safety.
Overall, may not be value for money.

Room Tip: chose the rooms near to stairs to avoid confusion. The layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and the time you have taken to share your valuable feedback with the trip advisor community.
We are glad that you liked our newly renovated rooms.
Kindly be informed that we have already started providing newspapers in all the rooms. Amenities like chocolates and fruits are part of inclusions if requested at the time of booking.
We apologize that currently the pathway is under renovation and we have taken all possible measures with signages and diverted the guests movement through the ramp.
We shall be in a position to give an enhanced and all new experience to our guests very soon.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

With Best Wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at The Dukes Retreat and enjoyed my weekend. I took a break from the hustle and bustle of Mumbai and found the retreat quaint and enjoyable.

The resort, like many in India, is in a little need of routine maintenance. However, the rooms and staff certainly made a great impression. The bar and pool overlooked the valley and waterfalls and was a good place to relax. The traditional massage was also very enjoyable.

You are limited in your choices for food - a buffet in the restaurant or bar food.

I found both Yasar (Front Office Manager) and Athena (General manager) generous in their efforts to make my stay enjoyable.

The only annoying thing about the resort is the constant road noise. The main Mumbai-Pune road is cut into the side of the mountain below the resort. It is OK if you sleep with the windows closed but it is quite noticable (and relentless) if the windows are open

Room Tip: Check your room before you unpack. Some have trees blocking all of their view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community .
We are glad you explored the hotel and sincerely appreciate the time taken to share your feedback. We are happy to understand that your overall experience was good and you enjoyed the weekend with us.
Kindly be informed that we are now serving Ala Carte’ menu at Panorama Café’
Entire team looks forward welcoming you again.

With Best Wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Dukes. We were hoping for a nice weekend stay with my parents who were visiting from overseas. We have a large family, so we booked a Deluxe room for ourselves, and an Executive room for my parents. The Deluxe room had a breathtaking view and was huge, plenty of room for everyone (four children). The Executive room had NO VIEW whatsoever. We arrived very early and so we asked to move my parents into a different room. The staff claimed all the rooms were occupied, so it was not possible.

Our next disappointment came when we learned of their absurd rules surrounding alcohol. Forget enjoying dinner and drinks as a family. Liquor can only be served INSIDE their tiny bar, and no children are allowed there (nor does the bar have proper tables for actually eating on). But this is not indicated anywhere. They serve a menu card to the table with drinks, but then inform you that you can't have any. (Same with the in-room dining card)

The next disappointment came at lunchtime. Their buffet restaurant was so overpacked, people were literally eating standing up. We instead headed to their outside restaurant and had the a la carte menu, which after waiting a long time for menus and any attention from waitstaff, was actually really good (food came pretty quickly and was delicious).

Being rather full after our late and large lunch, we decided we'd rather have a la carte for dinner as well. We were informed that this was impossible as both restaurants were only accepting buffet. So we ate in our room. This happened again at lunch and dinner the next day. Thanks to the fact that we had a HUGE room with amazing views, this actually wasn't too bad. But it did get a bit old. (Why on earth did they not allow a la carte ordering in their restaurants??) Oh, they can't serve alcohol to the rooms either (despite the in-room dining card that includes a list of drinks), so we still never got to enjoy dinner with drinks as a family. [Note, the food itself was great; no complaints there.]

Our first night there was a VERY loud party happening outside. I tried calling the staff to get the group to quiet down so we could sleep, and after 1am they were still at it! Seriously? Sometime after 1am they finally quieted down. This is the kind of thing you maybe expect at a 2 star budget place; I was not expecting this at Dukes. Another huge disappointment.

Their activities notice mentioned kite-flying, which we thought would be fun for the kids and grandparents to do together - nope, that's not available. They mentioned DVD players for rent -- after much calling around (apparently staff wasn't really aware of this option), we were told the rate -- 500 Rs + tax PER HOUR. Really? I'm guessing they made that number up on the spot so they wouldn't have to bring it.

The pool and playground were nice for the kids, but surrounded by very unsafe, broken up grounds, including huge pits in the sidewalk with metal spikes at the bottom -- this is on the walkway to the playground. Absolutely no marking or barrier around any of it. The tiles in the pool are all falling apart. So sad, really.

The staff -- some staff were great (the waiter at the outdoor restaurant was excellent), but many were just not friendly at all. Don't they teach how to greet guests?

To sum up, Dukes has the potential to be a great place (maybe it used to be a long time ago?), but under the current management, it is definitely NOT worth the money. Very disappointing overall. I hope someday it is re-done and worth another visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a good view! Not sure which have the best, but avoid room 319 as it has no view at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor community.

I along with entire Dukes team deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you in your stay and we apologies in the areas where our service delivery could not meet your expectation.

We would like to further clarify on the areas where we failed to satisfy you.

Though we tried to deliver the best of our services from our F & b Service team, however we are limited due to the scope of areas where we serve the alcohol which is as per the excise rules& regulations.

To enhance the guest experience we have made the note of the concern and we will definitely consider your feedback and look for the possibility of serving alcohol in the Restaurant & in rooms.

We will keep you posted in this aspect in near future.

Best Wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was my birthday and we were looking for a quick break from our usual routine.. Given the time we could spare, the only option we could think off was Lonavala/Khandala... We drove up there this weekend and were looking for a good hotel to spend the weekend.. We were in no mood to explore Lonavala/Khandala.. So, we were looking for a place where we could spend the entire weekend without stepping out of the resort. After a long search in Lonavala, we headed towards Khandala and found exactly what we wanted. Peace and tranquility.
We knew we would love the Duke when we got into the lobby. The place is under a little bit of renovation but we hardly noticed. The rooms were great and spacious and offered wonderful views of the valley and the expressway. The bathroom was nice and spacious. The bed is nice and soft.
The food impressed us the most. We opted for an all-inclusive package and were a little apprehensive about the food. But all our doubts were put to rest. The food was really very good and offered several options. Even my 1.5 year old daughter enjoyed her meals.
The staff is very courteous. We had a little bit of a problem with the room we were initially put in. But we were immediately moved to another room as soon as they figured they could not fix the problem soon.
If I have to pick on an improvement tip, I would suggest having at least a few rooms with king size beds. We were told that all rooms have 2 single beds that are joined together. We would have been fine with this had it not been for our daughter who would sleep between us. :) The gap between the 2 cots is a little bit of a problem. But, having said this, once the beds are joined, the bed becomes super huge. :) Our daughter enjoyed the soft bed.

Overall, a wonderful experience and I'l definitely go back for a short break.

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in had good views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I am pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay and the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. We have updated the preferences in our system and for your next visit this shall be taken care .We do enjoy the privilege of being located amidst natural beauty which is a given facet of admiration from all our guests who visit.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Best wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited dukes retreat on valentines days on 14th feb to celebrate our marriage anniversary , and our experience was stupendous.
Resort has all amenities what one looks for in five star resort , room were very well decorated with lots of privacy , the deluxe rooms are awesome built in duplex style , on arrival we were given a very quick check in without any delay .
Regarding the meals all the 3 buffet meals had nice variety and the food quality and the taste was mind blowing and too good , i would really like to appreciate the cook.
To our surprise they came to know that it was our anniversary and when we entered the room , we found a nice welcome bouquet and chocolates on our bed which really overwhelmed us and made us feel so special , thanks to the resort management and staff. In the evening we were served with a complimentary anniversary cake by making our anniversary so special by the duchess restaurant staff.
we had a toddler with us and On request we were provided with a baby cot and baby products complimentary.
All the management and staff are very very cooperative.
The gym , swimming pool , game room are really nice and the Ayurveda massage is too good and must try for all, overall we really had a wonderful stay and wud love to come back again.
I wud recommend dukes retreat to all the travelers planning their trip to khandala or lonavala.

Room Tip: i wud recommend deluxe room which has a good valley view and has lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip advisor community .

It gives us tremendous pleasure to note that you took back fond memories of a special occasion complimented by your experience with us. Our team is our strength and it is feedback from esteemed guests like yourself which motivates us to scale greater height of excellence . we are truly honoured and inspired by your recommendation of our hotel being your preferred choice in Khandala and Lonavla.

Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation . We look forward to your continued visits .

Best wishes ,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in Duke Retreat fo3 days during weekday and non rainy season and had taken the all meals package.

Pros

- Superb/Great Foood
- Good Staff
- Good view from Valley view room

Cons -

- Average and dated rooms
- Average and below par Amenities ( child play area was unsafe and non child friendly)
- Far from the city (you need a vehicle to travel around)

We expected more from this place hence the disappointment - great food was the highlight.

Room Tip: valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip advisor community .

We are glad that you explored our hotel . We really appreciate your feedback and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in few areas. We have shared your valuable feedback with the relevant teams in our hotel and assure you of a better experience the next time . Each one of us is delighted by your recognition of recommending our hotel for sumptuous and tasty food .

We await the opportunity to welcome you once again .

Best wishes ,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.