We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, can stand improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jasnagra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jasnagra
Save
You added Hotel Jasnagra to your Saves list
Near Railway Station,, Akola 444001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Akola
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel, can stand improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a good hotel, about 2 star in international ratings in this small dusty and chaotic Indian city. It was the best hotel in town for years until a new crop of competitors came along with better meeting facilities and improvements in toilets/showers. The staff are friendly, but too much like Indian servants - intimidated, afraid, taking orders, serving like serfs of an earlier time. The rooms are clean and well painted. The hallways often smell of stale air, old cooking. There are two small meeting rooms - a cramped wood lined Board room, and a withering couch room called The Nook which is like a lounge with 2 sofas. Needs improvement. There really is not a good meeting space for small groups.

The food is excellent (if a bit greasy). Breakfasts are best in town. Staff and owners aim to please. Some rooms, at least, have wi-fi which is exceptional for this city. The hotel is close to the train station, and quiet enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Hotel Jasnagra is just near to Akola Railway Station. This is my fourth stay at this hotel. Hotel owner is very polite and professional man with human touch. Whenever I visit Akola - my company makes my stay arrangement here.

Though room size is small - it is maintained clean Being a Jain - Hotel Owner and Staff pay special attention to my needs of food and maintained pure jain food with good and consistent quality.

All staff is very polite and friendly nature. Though Hotel may be rated at 2 star only - based on services provided - it is best choice in Akola among others hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

jasnagra is a nice hotel, having good rooms but not up to the quality according to the tariff chart... poor service and the cleanliness in the bathrooms was definitely on the negative side. one of the oldest property in Akola thats is why quiet famous n renowned. food was one of the plus point i found along with location which is just walking distance from the railway station.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Rooms are a little tired after 16 years, but the owner is revamping and so expect a new look in 2011 / 2012. The food at the restaurant is amazing and is always a treat. Suggest you always discuss your preferences with the steward before ordering as the recommendations are usually very good. Must say that the owner is aware of growing competition and keeps his staff on their toes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My title may be a bit misleading, as there is simply a lack of any decent competition in this district center. I travel to Akola around 2-3 times a year generally, and have noted my experiences below:

1) Service: The staff here is good - polite, firm, helpful, and accommodating. The reception during check in or check out is usually packed, as connectivity options to and from Akola are pretty limited, and so everyone is either coming in or going out on the same bus / train!

2) Room: AC rooms are one of the smallest i have seen during my travels (which are pretty widespread), however, the interiors have been done well taking into account the space constraints. The plasma TV was a shock for me in a city like Akola, and all other furniture has been accommodated very well. Bathroom again is small, but tidy.

3) Location: Located at a 5 minute walking distance from Akola railway station.The city as such is small, so getting anywhere from the hotel should not take you more than half an hour.

4) Food: SPICY!!! Thats the way i like it! I've kinda noticed - the more you go towards eastern Maharashtra, the spicier the food gets (Nagpur is insane!!). Breakfast buffet is limited with eggs, toast, butter, jams, cornflakes with milk, juice and tea / coffee. Dinner best to order ala carte.

5) Overall experience: Way beyond my expectations the first time I visited Akola, however, i believe that once there is some competition (and i have heard there are some new hotels coming up), they would need to do something to retain their regulars (mostly corporates)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jasnagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jasnagra

Address: Near Railway Station,, Akola 444001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Akola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Akola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hotel Jasnagra Akola, Maharashtra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jasnagra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.