We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location with marvellous management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lovely location with marvellous management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My 17yo daughter and I spent 5 nights at the York apartments escaping the southern winter and were most reluctant to leave. The apartments are clean, bright and spacious with good facilities and lovely touches like the complimentary chocs and bubbly. We arrived very late and left very early due to revolting Jetstar flight schedules but this was not a problem with the management. Karen and Graham are fantastic, down to earth and always happy to chat and recommend places to eat, things to do and answer all manner of questions. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is beautifully maintained and a very pleasant place to spend time. The beach is just across the road and it is wonderful relaxing on the balcony or in the lounge with the doors open listening to the ocean.
We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

stayed for 7 nights, very comfortable, great location, walk to shops, beach etc, we spent most of the time relaxing in the quiet garden atmosphere, our hosts were very accomodating and assisted when asked, Karen and Graham took time out just to chat. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I am writing this review for my elderly father and his friend who stayed for 9 nights. They were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the managers and all the help and support they received with information, transport, bookings etc. The location is great for public transport, and of course accessing all the wonderful attractions in the area. The apartment had everything they needed, and dining out there were choices at different price points. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We will certainly make it at least an annual holiday destination.
The rooms were large, bright and clean.
We loved the beautiful warm and large pool right at our apartment door, and walks along the beach right across the quiet road.
It was very easy to stroll around Yorkeys to the shops, marina (beautiful meals and views) and golf course - enjoyed them all.
We found Yorkeys to be perfectly positioned to get to all the attractions of the area - from Cairns and the Barrier Reef to Port Douglas and Cape Tribulation.
Tying all these things together were the nicest "nothing is too much trouble" managers - Karen and Graham.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Friends in Vic suggested York Apartments as a good place to stay, they were right.
The location was great, beach across the road, convenient breakfast spot 100m away.
We did swim in the beach stinger net but the York Apartments pool became our fav spot, big enough for laps and water quality was spot on.
The apartments are spacious and well equipped, perfect for our week in FNQ.
Karen and Graham are wonderful hosts, friendly and down to earth people. Nothing is too much trouble for them, providing airport transfers and recommending an excellent day out snorkelling at the Low Isles. The highlight of the day was definitely swimming with numerous green turtles.
Make sure you go to nearby Krokodillos Restaurant, location in the main street shops not great but the food is excellent.
The Yorkey's Knob Yacht Club is a terrific venue for boat watching as well as having a drink or two and dinner on Monday evenings are two for one! The yacht club also offers a free shuttle bus pick up and drop off.
Ken and Nick from Frankston Vic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Escaping the cooler Australian weather last year we found this fantastic place just 15 minutes from Cairns. Our stay was made more memorable thanks to the efforts of managers Karen & Graham. Their advice was spot on and nothing was too much trouble, such as assisting with a hire car to encouraging our boys to help with the feeding of the local Kookaburras.

Our accommodation was clean, well appointed and suited our families needs perfectly.

The safe swimming beach across the road, easy access to Cairns and the tourist attractions and a number of convenient shopping centers made our holiday one to remember.

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We arrived in Cairns for 5 days holiday as part of a tour of South East Asia & Australia. We wanted pure relaxation, hired a car for a few hours to find somewhere to stay. Saturday, we cruised the beaches looking - Quiet Eliis, trendy Trinity & Palm Cove but then we had breakfast on beach front at Yorkeys, made the short stroll down to York apartments and we both knew this was the place for us. Graham took us here and then when necessary, Karen was full of info for trips. Apartment was quiet, well equipt, next to beach. Being up in the canapy with birds was pure tropical bliss.

We live 12000 miles away, but we may be back sooner than you think.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Address: 61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful seaside village of Yorkeys Knob are our 4 1/2 star rated fully self contained beachfront holiday apartments. All have stunning views of the Coral Sea from their entertainer balconies or garden courtyard. They contain complete kitchens and laundry for that relaxing self sufficient holiday. An ideal spot to step off for trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forrests, there are attractions and activities galore. Relax on your balcony overlooking the pool or enjoy the awesome beach, it's all too easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.