We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location with marvellous management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely location with marvellous management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My 17yo daughter and I spent 5 nights at the York apartments escaping the southern winter and were most reluctant to leave. The apartments are clean, bright and spacious with good facilities and lovely touches like the complimentary chocs and bubbly. We arrived very late and left very early due to revolting Jetstar flight schedules but this was not a problem with the management. Karen and Graham are fantastic, down to earth and always happy to chat and recommend places to eat, things to do and answer all manner of questions. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is beautifully maintained and a very pleasant place to spend time. The beach is just across the road and it is wonderful relaxing on the balcony or in the lounge with the doors open listening to the ocean.
We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

stayed for 7 nights, very comfortable, great location, walk to shops, beach etc, we spent most of the time relaxing in the quiet garden atmosphere, our hosts were very accomodating and assisted when asked, Karen and Graham took time out just to chat. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I am writing this review for my elderly father and his friend who stayed for 9 nights. They were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the managers and all the help and support they received with information, transport, bookings etc. The location is great for public transport, and of course accessing all the wonderful attractions in the area. The apartment had everything they needed, and dining out there were choices at different price points. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We will certainly make it at least an annual holiday destination.
The rooms were large, bright and clean.
We loved the beautiful warm and large pool right at our apartment door, and walks along the beach right across the quiet road.
It was very easy to stroll around Yorkeys to the shops, marina (beautiful meals and views) and golf course - enjoyed them all.
We found Yorkeys to be perfectly positioned to get to all the attractions of the area - from Cairns and the Barrier Reef to Port Douglas and Cape Tribulation.
Tying all these things together were the nicest "nothing is too much trouble" managers - Karen and Graham.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucei7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Friends in Vic suggested York Apartments as a good place to stay, they were right.
The location was great, beach across the road, convenient breakfast spot 100m away.
We did swim in the beach stinger net but the York Apartments pool became our fav spot, big enough for laps and water quality was spot on.
The apartments are spacious and well equipped, perfect for our week in FNQ.
Karen and Graham are wonderful hosts, friendly and down to earth people. Nothing is too much trouble for them, providing airport transfers and recommending an excellent day out snorkelling at the Low Isles. The highlight of the day was definitely swimming with numerous green turtles.
Make sure you go to nearby Krokodillos Restaurant, location in the main street shops not great but the food is excellent.
The Yorkey's Knob Yacht Club is a terrific venue for boat watching as well as having a drink or two and dinner on Monday evenings are two for one! The yacht club also offers a free shuttle bus pick up and drop off.
Ken and Nick from Frankston Vic.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicenicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Escaping the cooler Australian weather last year we found this fantastic place just 15 minutes from Cairns. Our stay was made more memorable thanks to the efforts of managers Karen & Graham. Their advice was spot on and nothing was too much trouble, such as assisting with a hire car to encouraging our boys to help with the feeding of the local Kookaburras.

Our accommodation was clean, well appointed and suited our families needs perfectly.

The safe swimming beach across the road, easy access to Cairns and the tourist attractions and a number of convenient shopping centers made our holiday one to remember.

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We arrived in Cairns for 5 days holiday as part of a tour of South East Asia & Australia. We wanted pure relaxation, hired a car for a few hours to find somewhere to stay. Saturday, we cruised the beaches looking - Quiet Eliis, trendy Trinity & Palm Cove but then we had breakfast on beach front at Yorkeys, made the short stroll down to York apartments and we both knew this was the place for us. Graham took us here and then when necessary, Karen was full of info for trips. Apartment was quiet, well equipt, next to beach. Being up in the canapy with birds was pure tropical bliss.

We live 12000 miles away, but we may be back sooner than you think.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowmanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
3.5 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 1 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beachfront Apartments Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
2.4 mi away
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Place
The Beach Place
#20 of 85 in Cairns
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Address: 61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful seaside village of Yorkeys Knob are our 4 1/2 star rated fully self contained beachfront holiday apartments. All have stunning views of the Coral Sea from their entertainer balconies or garden courtyard. They contain complete kitchens and laundry for that relaxing self sufficient holiday. An ideal spot to step off for trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forrests, there are attractions and activities galore. Relax on your balcony overlooking the pool or enjoy the awesome beach, it's all too easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing