We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot and great managers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top spot and great managers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is the second year that we have stayed here and we will be back again next year. The location is perfect. Opposite a beach that is patrolled every day of the year and is wonderful to wal along;, around the corner from the Boat Club with its music, meals and wonderful views; and there is a funky restaurant called Krokadilos nearby. It is just 10 minutes from Cairns city with its great music and entertainment. Unlike the beaches further north you do not have to negotiate a winding highway to get to town. Best of all are the on site managers. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always happy to provide advice and suggestions on what to do and see. This is just the place to spend winter.

Room Tip: If you want a view go upstairs, but I prefer to walk across to the beach itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very modern 1 bedroom apartment, opposite the beach. Great location, and only a 10 minute walk to the small shopping area, where you can buy booze & food. All facilities provided including washing machine & tumble dryer. Lounge, balcony, bedroom at the back which stays cool and modern bathroom. The apartments were very clean and well serviced.

Karen & Graham were very good hosts, there if you needed them.

My husband & I had booked Yorkeys Knob, because there is a new bird reserve there "Cattana Wetlands" which we wanted to visit. As it was probably about a 30 minute walk there (5 minute drive) , Karen offered to drive us there and then came to collect us - this was greatly appreciated as the temperature was in the late twenties/early thirties!

Karen also recommended Krokodillos - a restaurant on the shopping complex - FABULOUS FOOD at reasonable prices.

All in all a wonderful stay at The York Beachfront apartments - Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There a 3 floors - Ground, first & second - NO LIFT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We booked this resort from NZ and were impressed with the previous reviews on tripadvisor.
When we arrived we were met and asked to pay for the five days we had booked in advance.
After checking in we were disappointed with the unit, old 20 inch t v, tired furniture, uncomfortable cane couch, a long walk to the restaurants, in our opinion not a four star room, so we went looking and found a lovely apartment right on Palm Cove Beach and for a better price with lots more restaurants etc nearby. We were refused a refund (of any of the nights booked) which we were not happy about so we left a little disappointed in the management and the resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me and my wife had a wedding to go to at Yorkies Knob and we couldn't of been happier. The service we got from the managers was unbelievable, you can tell they love there job and are great at it. I have never been treated as well as I did as they did. The units are by far the best I have stayed in. For price and and quality its great. The yacht club is a great place for a drink, or wedding reception and the chef (steve ?) was great. I will be visiting The York again with out a doubt. Interesting that the people with a little bit to complain about sound like whinging poms LOL

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

At first sight there's not a lot at Yorkey's Knob but you soon realise that there's a supermarket, bottle shop, take-away, a couple of retaurants and a beach cafe within walking distance. The beach is superb and there's a well flagged lifeguarded area within 5 minutes walk. And there genuinely are patches of rainforest dotted about, kookaburras just across the car park and a family of wallabies just up the road.

The pool and grounds were safe and well maintained, there were a huge range of guides and leaflets and Karen always provided hints and tips about which tours to take when as well as taking care of all the tour and hire car bookings.

The apartment was comfortable with plenty of space (and 2 TVs) which meant that co-existing with our 2 children was relatively easy. Kitchen was well equipped and there was also a washing machine. The apartments, as with the whole of Yorkeys Knob, are are very relaxed and relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday at Yorkeys Knob and would like to thank Karen & Graham for their help & guildance during our stay. This accomodation is the secret of Cairns, it is slightly north of the airport. It is perfectly situated for day visits to Port Douglas & the BEAUTIFUL Hinterland Areas. The beach is directly across the road waiting for long relaxing walks or swimming in a life guard patrolled area (there is also the in-house pool). Rooms are fully equipped for a very easy-living holiday with all the requirements for a great time. As we were there in December with a small cyclone, the Reef was not an option BUT that will wait for our next trip, so we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The apartments are clean with homely touches, the managers have provided the small things that make a stay really comfortable like kitchen plastic wrap and ali foil, pegs and lots of coat hangers. Karen and Graham make you feel like one of the family and nothing is too much for them. If you like a quiet holiday, this is the place. There is a local bus that seems to drive past all the time, if you have a car it is about 20 minutes from Cairns and 10 minutes to a large shopping centre to stock up on food if you want. Tour buses will collect you if you don't have a car. There are two brilliant restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Resort has a great pool. Don't expect a 5 star resort or a raging nightlife but if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday for the price this is fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Address: 61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful seaside village of Yorkeys Knob are our 4 1/2 star rated fully self contained beachfront holiday apartments. All have stunning views of the Coral Sea from their entertainer balconies or garden courtyard. They contain complete kitchens and laundry for that relaxing self sufficient holiday. An ideal spot to step off for trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forrests, there are attractions and activities galore. Relax on your balcony overlooking the pool or enjoy the awesome beach, it's all too easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.