We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Cowra
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me and my wife had a wedding to go to at Yorkies Knob and we couldn't of been happier. The service we got from the managers was unbelievable, you can tell they love there job and are great at it. I have never been treated as well as I did as they did. The units are by far the best I have stayed in. For price and and quality its great. The yacht club is a great place for a drink, or wedding reception and the chef (steve ?) was great. I will be visiting The York again with out a doubt. Interesting that the people with a little bit to complain about sound like whinging poms LOL

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

At first sight there's not a lot at Yorkey's Knob but you soon realise that there's a supermarket, bottle shop, take-away, a couple of retaurants and a beach cafe within walking distance. The beach is superb and there's a well flagged lifeguarded area within 5 minutes walk. And there genuinely are patches of rainforest dotted about, kookaburras just across the car park and a family of wallabies just up the road.

The pool and grounds were safe and well maintained, there were a huge range of guides and leaflets and Karen always provided hints and tips about which tours to take when as well as taking care of all the tour and hire car bookings.

The apartment was comfortable with plenty of space (and 2 TVs) which meant that co-existing with our 2 children was relatively easy. Kitchen was well equipped and there was also a washing machine. The apartments, as with the whole of Yorkeys Knob, are are very relaxed and relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday at Yorkeys Knob and would like to thank Karen & Graham for their help & guildance during our stay. This accomodation is the secret of Cairns, it is slightly north of the airport. It is perfectly situated for day visits to Port Douglas & the BEAUTIFUL Hinterland Areas. The beach is directly across the road waiting for long relaxing walks or swimming in a life guard patrolled area (there is also the in-house pool). Rooms are fully equipped for a very easy-living holiday with all the requirements for a great time. As we were there in December with a small cyclone, the Reef was not an option BUT that will wait for our next trip, so we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The apartments are clean with homely touches, the managers have provided the small things that make a stay really comfortable like kitchen plastic wrap and ali foil, pegs and lots of coat hangers. Karen and Graham make you feel like one of the family and nothing is too much for them. If you like a quiet holiday, this is the place. There is a local bus that seems to drive past all the time, if you have a car it is about 20 minutes from Cairns and 10 minutes to a large shopping centre to stock up on food if you want. Tour buses will collect you if you don't have a car. There are two brilliant restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Resort has a great pool. Don't expect a 5 star resort or a raging nightlife but if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday for the price this is fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My 17yo daughter and I spent 5 nights at the York apartments escaping the southern winter and were most reluctant to leave. The apartments are clean, bright and spacious with good facilities and lovely touches like the complimentary chocs and bubbly. We arrived very late and left very early due to revolting Jetstar flight schedules but this was not a problem with the management. Karen and Graham are fantastic, down to earth and always happy to chat and recommend places to eat, things to do and answer all manner of questions. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is beautifully maintained and a very pleasant place to spend time. The beach is just across the road and it is wonderful relaxing on the balcony or in the lounge with the doors open listening to the ocean.
We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

stayed for 7 nights, very comfortable, great location, walk to shops, beach etc, we spent most of the time relaxing in the quiet garden atmosphere, our hosts were very accomodating and assisted when asked, Karen and Graham took time out just to chat. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I am writing this review for my elderly father and his friend who stayed for 9 nights. They were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the managers and all the help and support they received with information, transport, bookings etc. The location is great for public transport, and of course accessing all the wonderful attractions in the area. The apartment had everything they needed, and dining out there were choices at different price points. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Address: 61-63 Sims Esplanade, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful seaside village of Yorkeys Knob are our 4 1/2 star rated fully self contained beachfront holiday apartments. All have stunning views of the Coral Sea from their entertainer balconies or garden courtyard. They contain complete kitchens and laundry for that relaxing self sufficient holiday. An ideal spot to step off for trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forrests, there are attractions and activities galore. Relax on your balcony overlooking the pool or enjoy the awesome beach, it's all too easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.