We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yorkeys knob - a villa gail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Villa Gail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Villa Gail to your Saves list
A Villa Gail
36 Janett Street, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“yorkeys knob - a villa gail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Gail's B&B in November 2013.

I had been exploring the Cairns region, with trips to the rain forest and the deserted beaches of Cape Trib. Then I stayed on the MV Kangaroo Explorer for two nights, snorkelling the great barrier reef. The food on the boat was plentiful, and the corals and the marine life were fantastic!

When I got off the boat Gail very kindly picked me up from the trip operators office in downtown Cairns. It marked the start of the final part of my holiday...
The B&B itself is in a fantastic location, overlooking the coral sea. Each morning I sat on the terrace eating a tropical breakfast, planning my day.
Yorkeys knob is a quiet suburb, with a beautiful, almost empty beach, with only a few amenities such as a supermarket, cafe, and liquor store, all just a block back from the esplanade.
The buses around Cairns are cheap and reasonably frequent, and I used them to get around to the different northern beaches.

Gail made me feel very welcome and provided me with all the amenities I needed - including free wifi, advice about where to eat out etc etc.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to take time out - the relaxed pace of Yorkeys knob itself, and Gail's willingness to help out with lifts and advice were most welcome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
20
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingen, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I just enjoyed my second stay at Villa Gail and it was just as wonderful as my first. I highly recommend Villa Gail for James Cook Uni (JCU) external students and visiting academics needing accommodation. JCU is a short bus ride away. Gail picks you up and drops you off at the airport which is a terrific service. The rooms are beautiful and quiet, the views over the ocean are spectacular, you can see all the way to Green Island, in fact the view is so expansive you can see the curvature of the earth. Breakfast is perfect for the heat of the tropics, a large platter of fresh fruit and toast and tea and coffee, served on a private balcony so you can take in view. This place is a dream, Gail is an angel - you'll love her.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you only ever get to stay in one b&b in your lifetime you should make sure it is A Villa Gail! The towels are fluffy, the bed huge and luxurious, the room ( the king room) absolutely stunning and the tropical fruit and toast breakfast fit for royalty. Gail is possibly one of the kindest people you'll ever meet, and nothing is too much trouble. Sitting eating breakfast while watching dolphins cruising lazily around the headland directly below the window, and waking up to a glorious sunrise each morning, this was the most relaxing break I've ever had. Thank you Gail for sharing your not so little piece of paradise with me. I will definitely be back. Sandy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is absolutely gorgeous, with views that are second to none! Gail was incredibly welcoming and just a lovely person all round.
The room was quaint and very homely. No complaints at all- was such a lovely stay and I would definitely recommend it to any friends travelling to this area!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed like they would have great views- though be mindful of the stairs as there are a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great hospitality from Gail. The villa shows its age a bit but that adds to its charm. Fantastic sea views from all angles. The villa rambles down the cliff towards the sea. Simply unique, relaxing and peaceful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a wonderful place. Fabulous sunrises and Gail hospitality was second to none. I would recommend this fabulous place to all who want something different from the large commercial hotels. We were recommended to villa Gail's and would recommend on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Villa Gail really is just as the photos depict - fabulous views overlooking the water, with several terraces offering great places to sit and just take it all in. To wake up to the light on the water is truly an exceptional experience. Gail is a delightful, welcoming, kind and considerate owner. The breakfasts are great - lots of beautiful tropical fruit amongst toast and good jams etc. Rooms and facilities are clean and good value. Yorkeys Knob is a very attractive place and you can explore the beach, or go to the Boat Club for a good dinner overlooking the water with lots of fabulous boats. Cairns is so close. Really recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Villa Gail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa Gail

Address: 36 Janett Street, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your A Villa Gail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Villa Gail Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Villa Gail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.