We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalem Island Oliviera Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kalem Island Oliviera Resort to your Saves list
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bademli Koyu Kalem Adasi Dikili Merkez, Dikili 35983, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dikili
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wow - just wow! I only write reviews when I think somewhere is exceptional and this place really is. I absolutely felt like I was staying in a luxury resort - from the beautiful island and delicious food to the exceptional service. Eating our four course dinner while watching the sunset was the highlight of my day! The beauty of the place was truly breathtaking and was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. We had our young baby with us who was spoilt rotten with all the lovely attention he received; it was nice feeling so welcome with a baby and they helped to make the whole experience stress-free. From looking at previous reviews which are more critical of the food and service I am sure these must have improved since as both were faultless. I cannot recommend this island highly enough - we stayed for four days this year but hope to go back again next year for longer. Already I can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've never seen such a turistic place in Turkey, the island's nature, sea and the location was unbelievable, The deluxe room was great but not worth to pay for it. Standart room is enough because you spent all of your time at the beach and on the island. Beyond the island, the stuff of the hotel was great. The director of the hotel (I think his name was Rustem) was the best organizator I've ever seen. Also the chief of the restaurant (Mr. Alidoğan) served us the best meal we tasted in a hotel ever. We'll come back again certainly

Room Tip: Standart rooms are suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Kalem Island as external guests, meaning we did not book one of the 29 hotel rooms, but we were day guests as the resort accepts an extra 20 guests on a daily basis from outside who pay an entrance fee of 75 TL to access the island.

The welcoming to the island is wonderful. You are picked up by a nice private boat and taken to the island in 10 minutes, where someone welcomes you and shows the way around the facilities for the day guests. The day guests have to use a designated area at the beach with lower quality deck chairs and umbrellas. I could not quite understand why the hotel guests have better deck chairs and umbrellas than the day guests. It certainly does not add to the experience. Also there are quite a few kids, so if you are looking for a kid-free place, this is not your destination.

The sea is wonderful with almost no waves and wind as you are on the luff side of the island. A bit rocky on the bottom but lovely to swim in. The staff at the beach bar are attentive and prompt. The food at the restaurant is excellent, we tried the pizza and the pide (Turkish filled and baked bread) and the quality is very high. The only downside is that one of us had to wait double time for their pide to be ready as something went wrong while taking orders. Unfortunately the waiter did not inform us about this until the other food arrived and 3 could start their lunch while the 4th one had to wait another 15 minutes.

As mentioned we did not stay in the hotel, so I can't say much about the rooms, however, we walked around a bit on the island and the garden, buildings and dining area were in a great condition with meticulous eye for detail.

Overall, the island is private, the sea is lovely and it never feels crowded. The resort is hugely overpriced, especially on food and drinks. Charging 10 TL for a tea or Nescafe, 10 TL for a bottle of water and 7 TL for one scoop of ice-cream is just absurd, even when you are used to Istanbul prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Checked in on the 25th of august 2013, stayed for 1 night, because we were passing by. Very lovely boutique hotel. Nice environment, clear waters, a small beach with cabbanas and everything. Food is tasteful, and the site is well organized. Most important of all toughts shared, I would visit again, altough a little pricey. Afternoon wind is typical, but it helps a lot during the day, if you are lucky. If not, you can always jump in the water for a great awakening. Be prepared to freeze instantly, but you will get used to it in a short period of time. I would say, you should definitely try it.

Room Tip: There are interlocking rooms for travellers with kids. You might want to get the rooms closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for only one night at the Olivera Resort as we drove down the coast towards Cesme in July. The setting is fantastic. The island and its well maintained garden, make you feel you are staying somewhere exotic such as the Maldivs or Carribean. The beach side area is well organized with plenty of shady space for the small number of guests the hotel caters for. The sea is warm and sandy with so many multicolored fish swimming right beneath you, you can get about 80% of the view the divers get without evening diving.

The restaurant and beach staff are pretty good though not excellent. The reception staff were excellent - very informative and helpful.

There were a few reasons why we did not stay two nights at this hotel even though we loved the location.1 CHILDREN there were many young children staying at the hotel whose parents did not even try to control them. Our room was in the Chateau part and the swimming pool is located right outside this building. The pool was full of screaming children. Some of them were even jumping from a decorative faucet like water spout with the help of their parents. The dining area had children running around. One little toddler even went and emptied the service cupboards used by the waiters. His parents never moved from their seats. The hotel did not take children until 2 years ago and was not built with children in mind. If the hotel wants to continue to accept young children they should provide areas for them to play safely, a special pool for children and early family dining hours as to not disturb the other customers.

2 FOOD The other area of major concern for this " could be super" resort was the quality of the food. The food should be better in such a place and you cannot really escape and eat anywhere else. The most disappointing thing, rather reminiscent of the 1980s, was there was no real coffee at breakfast only instant coffee. Also when I ordered a rather highly priced cappuccino ( 15 lira) I discovered it had been made from a packet and not even stirred properly.

If I return, I will try to go off season and escape the sea of toddlers. Not so much because of the children but how their parents permit them to behave in such a place. I would hope by them the food will have improved too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A boutique resort with just 29 rooms, so never fully packed,also during the peak season.
The rooms are very clean, the stuff are very friendly, the prices are not cheap but also not expensive.
The activities at the resort are scuba diving and spa. I tried Bali massage for 80 €, which is not cheap but the massage ladies are original from Bali.
I will definitely go again to this resort and this time with my son.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

To those individuals who choose to read this review you should know I typically do not spend writing reviews for resorts or hotels whose business it is to offer excellent services to the guest. In this case, from the time that we checked in at Oliviera, until the time we checked out we were treated as VIPs and my sense was other guests received the same level of attention and service. Turkey has many wonderful places to visits for historical or touristic purposes, the Oliviera offer a great natural setting supported by excellent services. Ultimately people make the difference. For those of you who have watched "The Bucket List" this is well worth the visit. Check it off.

Room Tip: This is an island, so you need to be willing to add one more step, which is part of the allure, to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalem Island Oliviera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalem Island Oliviera Resort

Address: Bademli Koyu Kalem Adasi Dikili Merkez, Dikili 35983, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Dikili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dikili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalem Island Oliviera Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalem Island, a haunting place of only the sailors up to date which has never lost its mysterious character is making time loses its meaning while taking you to an amazing world within a historical texture. Kalem Island's boutique hotel Oliviera Resort let you experience the comfort of being in an Island with its 30 distinct rooms which are decorated in minor and simple details. It offers warm atmosphere in its restaurants and bars accompanied by the splendid views of Eagean shores and Lesbos Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Kalem Island Oliviera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalem Island Oliviera Hotel Dikili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalem Island Oliviera Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.