We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly..trip of a lifetime,Gone twice...Love to go again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kodachadri

Kodachadri
Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuary, Shimoga 5762200, India
(08254) 258488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kottayam, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Heavenly..trip of a lifetime,Gone twice...Love to go again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have been to kudachadri twice..
A lot of option to reach there.
1.catch a bus- shimoga route tell the ticket guy to drop at Kudajadri trail starting place.start walking one way around 12 km.return before the last bus or you will be trouble. Ask the timing to the hotel we find in the middle of the forest rail I forgot the timings.

2. Catch a jeep. but jeep service stoped from january 2013 for 6 months i think.still we have to walk atleast 2kms uphill.

3. the best method but needs two days. a strong will, fitness, most importantly GODS GRACE. Walk from kollur temple to kudajadri. Oneway is about 23 kms so total 46 kms.
Night we can spent in a small house near the devi temple 1 km downhill from the highest point.
During monsoon leaches will trouble us. so take a packet of salt.
Rest of the things I cant mention. Its heavenly things, those who have the grace should go and see it yourself.

kudajadri temple priests number who is so kind too arrange accommodation with nominal charges 09632847302

Sotel Santhosh they are the only source of food in between. they where building some rooms also so call them also for booking land phone 08185290183 mobile 094838116911..but they are situated in the downhill so staying there wont give us the wonderful experience that we get on top..but sometimes we get trapped in between as we wont make in time for the last bus.

for calling from outside India use +91 instead of 0.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Excellent place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Its a wonderful place to visit. For 8Km we have to travel in jeep which is good experience where u can accomodate 10people and they will charge 1500\- , ie, 150\- per person.. And after that we treck for 11/2 Km to reach to top, it was really amazing as we went at sun-set. your will experience will be memorable as it will be filled with fog and u feel near to clouds. There is no cottages or rooms to stay there tat is one default. The guide showed us the places where films like "Gaalipata" , " Tajmahal" were shooted. Ita really awesome place. No hotels also near by, and u can get some snacks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Trekkers delight : Kodachadari - Hidlumane - Kudlu Tirtha Trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful sunny experience as we went during march 1st week. We started our trek in morning around 8 and by the time we reach to the top it was way too hot. On the way it was too amazing with the waterfall around, buttermilk sold in between by some family. Once you reach at the top you get disconnected with the world which is the best thing. Basic facilities on the top but acceptable.Trekking lovers must visit this place but choose a right season not March like us.... :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A nice hill station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

You need to take the jeeps from the bottom to recah the top. Except for the tourist bunglow ( under renovation, almost doen) you do not have any other places to stay. You can carry tents and pitch next to the tourist bunglow.Need to carry your water and food from below, midway you can order food to reach you later.Its quite windy and the tents can get blown away, winters are pretty cold.

beautiful sunrise and sunset and delight for photgraphers. There is also a trek route from subramanya about 22 kms, a popular one amongst trekkers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kundapur - Kollur - Kodachadri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We, a group of 10 enthusiastic members, planned to go from Kundapur all the way to Kodachadri. We packed our lunch and left in a Tavera for our destination at 8AM. It took us roughly 45 minutes to reach Kollur, the Temple town, which is at the foothills of the Kodachadri Hill. From there, we started our ascent on Kollur-Nagara route. You will not be able to go all the way to Kodachadri, on your own vehicle. We have to get on to a Jeep either from Nittur or from Kattinahole. From Nittur, Kodachadri top was 16 km away, but from Kattinahole, it was 8 km. So, we parked our Tavera in Kattinahole and hopped on to a Jeep there.

We then understood why no vehicles except for jeeps were allowed.The road was very uneven and bumpy and it went on for 8 km. It is amazing how Jeep can go forward in such a road. The scenery kept on changing as we gradually went up. Many hills had these golden coloured weeds growing everywhere but the others were green with vegetation. After half an hour of hardship we reached the end at 12.00. Our clothes were red from the dust. The scenery there was mesmerising. There were Panchamukhi Ganesha, Parvatheshwari temples and the Priest's house there. We offered our Puja in the temple. The summit is still 2 km away from there and we had to climb to the summit by foot.

The elderly and people who have some health problems or are scared of heights are recommended not to take the trek as it is very tiring. The path twists and turns as it ascends to the summit. The track is covered with loose mud and pebbles so sometimes we skidded. There were many food stalls selling friuts and juices so whenever one felt thirsty, one could always ask for a cool, juicy watermelon. On the way to the top, there was a tiny cave, 'Ganesha Guhe', having a little Ganesha. It took us 45 mins to reach the summit. At the top, there was Shankara Peeta, which apparently was built by Sri Adi Shankara, in one night. In the Peeta, there was a model of Shankaracharya. The Peeta was quite small but the view was worth watching. Up there we were around 1300 metres above sea level, Kollur town was visible at a distance.We sat inside the Peeta while the swami inside told us the remarkable story of how the place was found and how the Peeta was built. We rested for a while then prepared to descend.

To go all the way back down in the same path, it took us only half an hour. The descent wasn't so bad as the ascent. We came back, rested, washed ourselves and then had our lunch near one of the temples there. After we had filled our stomachs, we got back on to the jeep and we headed down. When we got out of the jeep in Kattinahole, we couldn't even recognize ourselves! We wiped ourselves clean, hopped on to our Tavera and headed back. The Jeep trip costed us Rs.1200. We visited the Mookambika temple in Kollur. The Souparnika river rushes past the Mookambika temple but we could only get a glance of it. Finally, at 7:00 we reached Kundapur. We had spent an entire day in Kodachadri but it was worth it..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodachadri also viewed

Shimoga, Karnataka
Shimoga, Karnataka
 

Been to Kodachadri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodachadri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.