We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality in centre of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.H. Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre, | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shimoga
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hospitality in centre of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Shimoga in July '13 for business purpose. The hospitality extended by staff, food quality & variety, and the immaculate handling of our dealer meet, are a reason enough to return to this hotel again and again. Rooms, bed, bathroom etc. are all clean and tidy with lots of space to move around. Good job!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delights for them.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    102
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
44
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nearest town from Jog Falls is Shimoga and so while looking for a place to stay the night, found this hotel from the popular chain. I was surprised when I checked in since the hotel is quite good and clean. The rooms are well equipped but the bathrooms could be cleaner. I think the footfall here is high and so the hotel is starting to look its age but nevertheless one of the better hotels in a smallish town like Shimoga.

Buffett breakfast and lunch was plentiful though the non-vegetarian options were limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

We have also made a note of your observation about the bathroom and food option for non vegetarians. We shall work on these areas for the betterment of our service standards.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back.We look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

im very happy to share this information, i've stayed in this hotel multiple time due to business trip.. Every time i see their hospitality and service improves day by day.. The hotel staff including the room cleaner are all courteous.. Good Job

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delights for them.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangalore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in June 2013. This is an excellent property of the Royal Orchid Group. The room tariff is reasonable compared to the hotel standards which are very high. The rooms are fully air conditioned and the bed is very comfortable. The room has flat screen TV with satellite channels. The toilets are clean and all the amenities are provided. Breakfast is served at the lobby level and is also having a lot of variety and is tasty. Overall a good place to stay in this city. Would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delights for them.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back.We look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The club class room was excellent with a large king size bed and a nice and large bathroom. The complimentary buffet was excellent. We couldn't make use of the dinner discounts that was provided but overall we had a pleasant stay at the Royal Orchid Central at Shimoga. The travel desk service was also good and we had a nice cab that took us to Jog Falls.

Room Tip: Go for the Club Class rooms. If you check out the royal orchid site, you may get a deal of the day w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delights for them.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in Royal Orchid for a day. Couple of observations from my side.
1. Quality of materials[Door does not close properly] used is inferior
2. No hot water all of the times as promised
3.Service Quality is bad & Price charged is exorbinant for the same.
4. Limited Food selection

I would not recommend this Hotel. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We have made a note of your observations and would definitely work on the areas where we could not live up to your expectations.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve on the issues you have raised.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and can be easily accessed. I think this is the only well know hotel brand that is available in the Shimoga city. The rooms are clean but bathrooms can be more cleaner.
One thing that needs a sea change is the attitude of the staff. They are very arrogant and does not bother about their guests. I think the fact that this being the only decent hotel around, they feel monopolistic and behave very bad. To quote, I had booked 5 rooms and I was not provided place to park my car in the hotel, the reason given was parking in the hotel was full. I had to vacate early in the morning and there were elderly guests along with me, so I requested if I can have dinner instead of breakfast as per my package, and I was given a rude 'No'.

This hotel needs to go a far way with respect to guest services and amenities provided. otherwise, its going to come down badly to the management.

Room Tip: Keep evrything in writing dont trust words of mouth. I was promised that I can have dinner instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience in detail on TripAdvisor.

It was good to know that you liked our rooms and standard of cleanliness.We have also made a note of your observations about the issue with parking space and package inclusions.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused as designated parking space was completely full with the vehicles of guests came for dinning however your car was parked immediately when the space became available in the night. I would also like to share with you that we do give complimentary (If part of package) packed breakfast to those who are leaving the Hotel at early morning.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve on the issues you have raised.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Address: B.H. Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre, | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga Karnataka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.