We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under repair hotel - Not good for non-business stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.H. Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre, | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shimoga
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Under repair hotel - Not good for non-business stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'm rating this as poor just for the trouble we had to go through getting several things fixed in a day's stay at Royal orchid last week. I recommend every traveler to check electrical connections while they check-in to the room. Here are few things I found:
- The light switches don't work
- The Master switch doesn't work
- The AC control is very crazy. You'll need assistance to operate it
- Hair dryer doesn't work and not easy to use also

As expected in any 4 or 5 star hotel, the rates are high for the food items in the room. A 5 rupee Kurkure packet would cost Rs.15 + taxes. Drinks bottle are present in the room. If you have children keep them away from those items

The restaurant mostly has non-veg food and priced very high. The taste is worst. Even a road side shop would make the same dish better. Rotis are very hard. The curry has no taste and not cooked well.

We ordered Methi Roti and what we got was plain Roti with Methi powder sprinkled on top of that :)

Location: Its located in a busy road at the center of Shimoga. No malls or good shops near by.

GOOD THINGS: There are few good things about this hotel that doesn't standout due to other problems:
- The bathroom fittings are nice
- Bed and cushioning is nice
- Breakfast was ok

Room Tip: Clearly mention what you need in the room at-least a day or two before by calling them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

At the outset please accept my most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to live up to your expectation and the standard Royal Orchid hotels are renowned for.

I have raised each of the points right from maintenance to food quality with my concerned teams to ensure corrective action is taken in areas where we faltered in service and prevent similar situation from re-occurring again in the future.

It is our constant endeavour to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve the quality of our services.

It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.


Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    116
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
102
51
6
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Erode
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good hotel in that region. Good ambiance & service. Located in middle of the town but the sight seeing from windows was not great. Slightly overpriced. Very small rooms. Very limited menu options for dinner. Overall, the stay was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It was good to know that you were happy with most of our services.

Guest feed backs are very important for us and it gives me pleasure to inform you that we are in process of reworking our menu to give more options to our guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcome you back at Royal Orchid central,Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went in a group of 27 people & i must say all of them were very happy by the arrangements & service provided by Hotel staffs.They were co-operative & caring.
We had a chance of having breakfast which was also good .
rooms are good sized & well maintained.
I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to know that you liked our services and will share your feed back with my team. This will definitely encourage them to continue delighting our guest with their services.

It is our continuous endeavor to update and upgrade ourselves with the feedback of our esteemed guest and we treat every feedback as an opportunity in our this effort.

We once again thank you for giving as an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back at Royal Orchid Central,Shimoga.

Best Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I didn't stay here. I ate my lunch on the way back from Jog falls to Bangalore. The buffet here was awesome. The tomato soup was very tasty. The naan/roti freshly made were delicious. The curries and salad were different from the usual buffets and were tasty. The desserts were bit disappointing. The staff were very friendly. Good value for money too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to know that you liked the food at the restaurant and will share your feed back with my team. This will definitely encourage them to continue delighting our guest with their services.

It is our continuous endeavor to update and upgrade ourselves with the feedback of our esteemed guest and we treat every feedback as an opportunity in our this effort.

We once again thank you for giving as an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back at Royal Orchid Central,Shimoga.

Best Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night on our visit to Jog Falls. This is a professionally managed place from reservation, to check in, to room service. The rooms were good sized clean with refreshing hot showers. Good restaurant and all round pleasant stay. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was wonderful to learn that you liked our facilities and services.We always strive to ensure that all our guests have pleasant stay with us.

We once again thank you for giving as an opportunity to serve you and all of us look forward to welcome you back at Royal Orchid Central,Shimoga.

Best Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was doing business with a local steel company and this seemed the best hotel in town. By my tastes, dinner was a modest affair however this hotel restaurant does excel range in non-veg biryani dishes. The room was very comfortable with a flat screen TV and all my favorite channels together with free internet however I woke up at 3 am to discover I had been the feast for a dozen mosquitoes. I have no idea where they came from as the room is on the 3rd floor; sealed with air-con. Bedding sheets were luxurious however the duvet cover was made out of some strange synthetic material. Breakfast was rather humble. I had cereal and pancakes. It appears you have to ask for unmixed tea in a silver pot if you don't like the ready mixed tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Take Mosquito killer mat and extra bed sheet if you don't like synthetic covers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was good to learn that you were happy with the most of our facilities and services.We strive to provide highest level of services to our esteemed guests.

We have also taken a note of your unpleasant experience due to mosquito in the room. Please accept my personal apologies for not being able to completely satisfy you on this aspect of our services. The issue has been taken up seriously with all concerned and will ensure such problems doesn't happen again.

We once again thank you for giving as an opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back at Royal Orchid Central,Shimoga.

Best Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the best hotel at Shimoga. I happened to stay there in the first week of November for two nights with my famliy. Was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel maintained at the standards like any other 4 star hotel.
Pros:
-Well maintained and spacious rooms
-Decent (little sort of being outstanding) food
-Excellent service levels
-Good place to stay if you are on tour and plan to visit Jog falls, Bhadra wild life sanctuary, Bhadra Dam and Kemmangundi, keeping Shimoga as the centre
-Affordable
-friendly and courteous staff

Cons:
-No swimming pool. I guess this is because this hotel is mostly frequented for business
-Breakfast though tasty, lacked options. Both the days the menu looked to be the same
-Missed the travel desk
Net-net go for it if you dont mind staying in a hotel and not a resort. Hotel is in the heart of the city opp to the main bus stop. for some this can be an advantage, however i dont prefer that,

Room Tip: Nothing much to choose from. Go for a super deluxe room if you have a big family or you prefer to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Address: B.H. Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre, | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga Karnataka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.