We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seclusion Service Simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sangway Holiday Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dandeli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sangway Holiday Homes
Save
You added Sangway Holiday Homes to your Saves list
Kerwad Village, Dandeli 581325, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Seclusion Service Simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our stay in Dandeli was made an amazing and relaxed one owing to Sangway Homestay. This place truly exemplifies and lives up to its tag of a 'homestay'. The establishment is a humble place with 4 rooms that can each house 4 members easily. The bathrooms in the rooms are well maintained with hot water provided for on demand. The proprietor and caretaker Mr. Vikram is a very friendly and helpful individual; extremely accommodative and resourceful. His assistant Ravi is always at your disposal, catering to any chore you might have. The 4-room building is surrounded by lush greenery which has a volleyball court right in the middle. A few metres away from the same, there is another small resting area of sorts with tables and chairs. Food can be had there or just a normal chilled out conversation too. Coming to the food, it is made fresh after getting ur approval on the menu a few hours prior. Non vegetarian is only served during dinner. On the whole the food is very homely and tasty. Tea, coffee and biscuits are also served on demand and during the morning and afternoons. This place is a perfect destination if a calm and serene holiday is what you wish for with friends and family. Mr. Vikram is also very helpful as he can arrange the transport to the various destinations in and around Dandeli and also handle the booking in advance for the river rafting, jungle Safari, rappelling and other activities that the place is famous for. All these places are adequately distanced and located to Sangway Homestay. If a trip to Dandeli is on your Mind, this is the place you want to lodge at!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I spent 2 nights at Sangway Homestead and the experience was wonderful. Vikram and Vijay are great hosts and I forget other names but everyone is extremely friendly and can't do enough for you. They offer very personalised service. If Vikram is going into town, he'll buy what anything you may want, enquire about bus times etc. And did I mention Chintu their wonderful puppy dog? Take him for a walk down to the river once or twice a day and you know you have made a big difference to a life and done a bit of exercise. This is a perfect place for those living in Bangalore and taking a couple of days break to reinvigorate. The food is too much! So good and so much and it comes with the daily cost. And if you need an early breakfast because of bus times, as I did - no worries. Give yourself a treat and have FUN. I am traveling alone and had a great time and the other guests were all youngish couples.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, being a homestay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is not easy to describe an amazing experience that I had while staying at Sangway and Madhuvan. If I have to summarize it in one sentence than I would say that just be their guest and experience the best. Both Vikram and Vijay are the best hosts you could ever find in Dandeli, this review may not do justice to what we experience while staying with them. We felt like we were staying in our own home all through our 3 days stay with them. It started with a very warm welcome to an outstanding hospitality. We spent time at both of their facilities at Madhuvan and Sangway. We stayed in room as well in tents and tasted mouth watering food amid the best of the best services both the brothers had to offer. Their planning for our river activities was admirable, you can't spot a single flaw in that. Our all activities were booked well in advance and the changes in schedule were very well accommodated. We just followed what they suggested us and we enjoyed it like anything. We were a bit reluctant initially to go for white water rafting but they recommended us. I must confess that had we not considered their advise we would have terribly missed the experience. Both of them were always present when we needed something, especially while having the food. If we had to leave early in the morning for river activity then they made sure that our breakfast is ready at least 30 min before we leave. Both of them are caring and give you a comfort feel while you are there, especially if you are staying with a family. I do recollect that they denied a group of boys even though they had the availability of room, only because we were three families staying with them.

If you like to stay inside the forest and with the nature then request them to accommodate you at Madhuvan. It is a completely different experience. While at Sangway, do go to the river to sight Crocodiles in all different sizes.

You may not want to miss the water activities at Dandeli. Vikram and Vijay are the best guides you can have to make your stay in Dandeli memorable. I will surely be back in Dandeli to stay with them again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and kept clean. You may want to experience sleeping in tents at least once durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very very basic, but overall very nice place to stay. Vikram and his team are really great hosts. Nice ambience and food was local, ethnic and overall, tasty. Do watch the crocodiles nearby to the place :).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at this place for 3 days & 2 nights.
*Good food and nice service- Bendi fry was my favorite (Non-veg was a bit disappointing though)
*Clean and neat rooms
*Don't miss the Night forest walk experience
*Guidance when required
Thanks to Ravi for his great service

Room Tip: Room to the Right extreme is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The stay was great at Sangway. Vikram(caretaker of Sangway homes) guided us in planning our trip better. As the number of rooms are 4 only, we can feel comfortable and isolated from the rest of the world. And the best part was the food, the vegetarian food was good and you should not miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for tent house and campfire. They will arrange it beside the homestay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nice, cosy place tucked away in the jungle. The cottages are surprisingly big and the bathroom is spacious. The interiors are basic but clean and tidy. The home cooked food was delicious.

The best part of the stay was the great service provided by Mr. Vikram and Ravi. They are courteous, polite and they make comfort of the guest their top priority. From booking the cottage to picking us up from Hubli at middle of the night to arranging our activities in Dandeli, everything was a breeze and efficiently managed by Mr. Vikram. We just kicked back and enjoyed our weekend.

Will wholeheartedly recommend this place

Room Tip: There are only 4 cottages. All are similar and face the same direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sangway Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangway Holiday Homes

Address: Kerwad Village, Dandeli 581325, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dandeli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dandeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sangway Holiday Homes located at Kerwad Village which is 3km away from Dandeli city. The perfect place for restful holiday and enjoy local and traditional food and tribe. A simple and comfortable cottages having very peaceful meditative ambiance and one can wake up with the call of the birds, also we organise adventure sports and all water activities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangway Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.