We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dear Yatharth Travels, Gratefully thank to you for arranging our tour of 11 days in JAMMU & KASHMIR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonamarg Palace

Hotel Sonamarg Palace
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonmarg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sonamarg Palace
Save
You added Hotel Sonamarg Palace to your Saves list
Sonmarg Village, Sonmarg 191203, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sonmarg
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dear Yatharth Travels, Gratefully thank to you for arranging our tour of 11 days in JAMMU & KASHMIR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

To,
YATHARTH TRAVELS, DELHI.

Dear Sir,

We Mr. J. D. WABLE family and friend gratefully thank to you for arranging our tour of 11 days in JAMMU & KASHMIR and visits of Shrinagar, SHRI AMARNATH & MATA VAISHNODEVI by helicopters. We are fully satisfied for making arrangements of Hotels, transport, helicopters and guidelines by you and your staff time to time in tour period.

We thanks you again and wish to meet personally.

YOURS
WABLE J. D.

Room Tip: The room was small but was very clean. Had just enough place for two people to stay, and basically t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August 2012.

This is a hotel that has been rented by a Maharastrian from a Kashmiri owner (non-Kashmiris are not allowed to own land or property in Kashmir). We liked that, since we are from Maharashtra.

This hotel has an excellent location, right on the highway, and offering lovely views of mountains on one side, and a river on the other.

Since peak season had tailed off, the food options available were limited. Further, the food was VERY spicy (for the international tourists, this is an Indian saying the food was spicy!)

Staff was friendly and courteous. They procured an electric blanket for us upon request, since my wife was feeling cold.

The room was basic, but clean and cozy.

If I vist Pahalgam in future, I would definitely stay here.

A tip not related to the hotel: There is a pony trekking scam that happens in Sonmarg. The pony fellows offer to take you to snow (Thajewas glacier), and indicate a travel time of around 1 hour each way. However, the track is not easy, and horses may slip (mine did). They journey also takes around 2 hrs. Often customers may ask to turn back halfway, and are asked to pay the full negotiated price. Stand your ground and argue it out, and do not pay the full amount, or negotiate a lower sum in advance if you were to return halfway.

Room Tip: We stayed in room F3, which had excellent views from the large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The room was small but was very clean. Had just enough place for two people to stay, and basically that's all one needs in Sonamarg. The food options are very good, 100% vegetarian menu and the food tastes good too. Food and room rent are very cheap when compared to my other stays in Srinagar and Gulmarg. I highly recommend this hotel.
Regarding the booking and checkin process, it is highly problematic in Kashmir in general because none of the mobiles work in J&K as such, and one needs only J&K sims which are not provided to outsiders. So, it is better to call up the hotel about couple of days ahead and let them know about the trip and stay.

Room Tip: Backside rooms get a great view of the river flowing behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Been in sonamarg last month!!!
Place was simplyy a delight to watch.. but some ppl are mischievous and some are tooo goood!
I planned a trip to leh from srinagar, but missed my Bus at the final moment .. ended up here after gathering info from JKTDC offciee.. they urged me to head to this place so that i can experience some real kashmir..!

Coming to the review part,
i got a room at the time when i landed here,. (TaXI :P ) the taxiwala was sooo kind enuf to arrange us a room., ( SPEAKING TO THE HOTEL OFFICIALS WITH THE HELP OF LOCAL WILL REDUCE YOUR EXPENDITURE ) .,, i stayed here for 13 hours, i cudnt complain much about the comfort, coz the hotel offered a very nice kashmiri blanket !! room service was awsum, after gettin familiarized! food was good! evrythiin was fynn til the next day mornin, no complaintss nor anything,...!


i wud suggest DONT BOOK OR GIVE MONEY IN ADVANCE, YOU WILL GET ONE WHEN YOU ARRIVE HERE!!!!!!

BEWARE OF KASHMIR! when u are takin food, crosscheck your bill with the menucard for the prices.. some Genius kashmiris will raise 5-10/- per dish, !! BEWARE!!

Room Tip: Have a SALT-TEA, when you arrive here,... it is a kashmir special tea!! Get rooms at the north sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

One of the worst hotel is sonamarg palace,Never trust this hotel.I booked 7 rooms on triple sharing basis in this hotel 80 days in advance and they issued me hotel vouchers for that after successful making payment.On the day of arrival their cab picked us from airport and took us to hotel.At the hotel we were shocked when the person at reception said that there is no room available as all the rooms are full,When i showed them their voucher which they issued at the time of booking,They said that party which was to be checked out has not checked out and asked us to stay at their waiting hall.With the no option in hand we had to stay at the waiting hall in the chilled night,One of the lowest moral less is HOTEL SONAMARG PALACE,i suggest all the traveler's to never book this hotel for u r any trip.
RAMKISHORE BHATI,
45-169,SRINIVAS NAGAR,JAGATHGIRIGUTTA,
JEEDIMETLA,HYDERABAD,500035,
ramkishore.bht2@gmail.com.

Room Tip: Never book a room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was one of the best hotels that I stayed during my visit to Kashmir during last October. The rooms were clean and neat and the service was really good.

But the best part was the food. Being a pure vegetarian I had tough time in other places of Kashmir. But this place was an exception, we enjoyed the food and the quality was really good.

Also this hotel is strategically located for a pony ride to Tajiwas glacier. The view from the hotel was awesome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonamarg Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonamarg Palace

Address: Sonmarg Village, Sonmarg 191203, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Sonmarg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sonmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonamarg Palace is one of the affordable and cheapest hotels in Sonamarg and an ideal stay for Amarnath Yatra. The Hotel offers the budget traveler and their family a friendly accommodation at the lowest room rate. Sonamarg Palace Hotel is known for its affordable accommodation options, well maintained rooms , common areas, friendly reservation counter and the service and staff who try to make vacationers stay at Sonamarg Palace Hotel worthwhile. This hotel is well-suited for families, backpackers, holiday travelers, professionals and foreigners.There are 18 rooms in the hotel and all the rooms are well equipped with the modern facilities like 24 hour room service, color TV, Telephone, 24 hour water supply and exquisite furniture. The hotel also provides facilities like the doctor on call, laundry service, power backup generator etc. and offers campfire facility with music to the visitors during the night.Sonamarg Palace is a pure vegetarian hotel (Catering by Agarwal caterers) and a fantastic place for authentic Gujarati, Jain , Punjabi, Marathi and Chinese food. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonamarg Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.