We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing view, great surroundings....well worth a stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda to your Saves list
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An amazing view, great surroundings....well worth a stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Tethys, Narkanda in June 2012. Had zeroed on this property after much deliberation (i.e. after having spent a lot of time going through the reviews on tripadvisor, other sites) and I must say that we weren't disapointed at all. Not that Narkanda has too many options to chose from but having spent a few nights in Shimla (at the Cecil, Oberoi) and a week in Sangla (at the Banjara Camp and Resort) we were keen on a decent property with a nice view and surroundings so as to keep the 'vow experience' going. Tethys pretty much catered to this need of ours. Its located almost a km inside, off the main road and close to a valley across the Hatu peak. We had booked ourselves in a room on the top level and it was very spacious with 2 bedrooms and an attached bathroom/toilet. The best part of course was the view from both the bedrooms. The windows opened out into the valley and the day we checked in, we literally had the clouds wafting through the rooms. That was quite a surreal feeling. The overall service level was good and the boys who work there are quite prompt and friendly. We had one of the guys double up as a tour guide who took us on a trek around the Hatu peak area. A trifle reluctant in the beginning to go ahead with the trek (given the amount of walking that we had done at Sangla, which is like heaven), we really had a great time and would have sincerely missed out a great experience. The trek involves a 3 km walk inside the woods that suddenly opens up in to a plateau filled with greenary all around you. The food at Tethys was ok'ish and this is one area where the owners need to look into. Generally the food at places such as Shimla and beyond is good and you expect a certain kind of quality and taste. We came across this restaurant called the Himachali Dhaba at the main junction in Narkanda and that turned out to be quite a find. The food was simply superb with an amazingly sumptuous thali being served. Overall Narkanda is a good place for a 2/3 night kind of a halt (thought it is a much better option than Naldehara, which, IMO, is overrated). And if you intend staying at Narkanda then Tethys is a safe bet. Good rooms (at least the ones on the top most floor are very spacious), superb surroundings, decent service and average food. Bumped in to Shoojit Sircar while checking in, looking so very peaceful and happy (perhaps more to do with his success from Vicky Donor than the surroundings itself..;)!
To sum it up - this is a decent property and you really wont be disappointed. Have fun!

Room Tip: Try the ones on the top level facing the valley, worth the price that you shall pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This good is very good indeed. There are a lot of things to do in this area. The owner, Sam and his family are exceptional. Sam is a great organizer and a qualified mountaineer. The food was the best that we had during our trip to India. There is a nice camp fire also that staff prepared.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our resort & updated our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked the Deluxe room of this property for 2 nights. Was very excited about the trip as the hotel promises a lot of activities such as horse riding up to the Hatu, amongst other things. Was disappointed to know that the same was not available since this was the off season. Found it rather strange as I was charged the season rate & also found the hotel full to its capacity.
Location:
The hotel is located around half a km into the woods & is accessible through an unmetalled road that got quite slippery in the rains. The trail to the hotel just forks off before the road leading to the Hatu peak. The property is located in serene surroundings & is quite away & aloof from the Narkanda bustle.
Room:
Very small though having nice wooden flooring. The bed too was small & the matress & pillow quite hard. I was having a corner room with glass window on two sides. The view from one of the sides was that of a property under construction while the other side had the views of distant mountain that was quite nice. The day bed placed along the glass window was also quite thoughtful. However it was a shame that the windows were too dangerous to be opened & were having an extremely sharp drop. Surprising in that the same were full length & so could be really dangerous in case one does wishes to open it. The bathroom was also very small but was working fine. However the window in the bathroom was covered with black plastic & cell tapes that looked very shabby. The shower too was cold & had extremely low water pressure.
Food:
Very disappointed. The package was inclusive of breakfast & dinner. Other than that the property has a very thin menu. We reached there at around 3:30 PM to be told that lunch would not be possible & we would have to do with snacks. There was hardly anything in the menu & the cheese finger & the chicken momo that we ordered was very bad & outright inedible. The dinner too was a scanty affair with hardly any choice though the taste was better. Breakfast too was simple with either paratha/curd or bread omlette.
Service :
Was ok. Though did not have an opportunity to stretch them any bit.
Over all experience:
Had a bad time. The property sells itself as a friends farmhouse but we did not feel that way. They knew that my kids had not had any food & yet refused to make Maggi saying that the kitchen was busy. I doubt if any of the friends farm house would do that. I had booked a 2 nights stay but was fed up after the first night itself as there was hardly anything to do at the resort. The guys at the resort had no idea about any of the places of Narkanda & were of absolutely no help. There was a pool table but the same was always crowded as the property is very small & so can get quite claustrophobic on a busy weekend. We were promised a discount of 20% at the time of booking that was ultimately denied & in addition a penalty of 25% of the room rent was charged for pre mature departure. Yet we were happy to get out of the place.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & updated our Management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Reached Tethys on 3rd July 2012. To my surprise the road to Narkanda now is fully metallic and there was not even a single pot hole throughout. The vegetation on the road side and on hills changes drastically once you cross Fagu. Its a real pleasure driving to Narkanda now. So go for it....

As for the stay, we reached at around 4.30 pm. The package included stay, evening Tea, Dinner, Breakfast next Day. The room was huge with wooden floor, 2 double beds, sitting area with sofas, LCD TV and great views. My kids had great time (aged 2.5 and 8) in the garden of the hotel. Only that the kids play area is missing makes them feel a little sad. Ordered snacks (Tawa Chicken and Gobhi Manchurian). Both were great and well priced. in 3 days trip, we had actually tasted good snacks and food (chicken masala, Yellow Dal, Aloo Ghobhi, Cheese Tomato with Kheer as dessert).

Overall, will come back soon to be on that wonderful road which leads to this wonderful hotel. Kudos Mr Dogra.. Keep us the good work. Hope to be there again in Jan 2013...

Room Tip: Choose any room. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad , AP
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel early june courtesy Shimlaroyals.com , a travel agent specializing in arranging wonderful trips to lesser known locations in himanchal at cheap rates.It turned out to be a great journey in the end

Initially speaking about the location of the hotel it’s located on national highway 22 at a distance of 64 kilometers from shimla and 400 kilometers from Delhi, in a village named nagrot which is surrounded by dense woodlands of mixed tropical forests, villages, apple orchards and dense forest cove, our check in was quite smooth and didn’t consumed much time to our relief after all that journey and we were accompanied to our rooms

Let me take you through our positive as well as negative experiences with this hotel starting initially positive experiences

 The rooms are quite big and spacious, heaters are working fine, and all other much needed amenities are in place and in good working condition, the view from the room as well as hotel are just amazing, aerial view of the mighty Himalayas on the east and picturesque views of far-flung low-lying villages as well as apple orchards is just mesmerizing

 Hatu Peak is very much accessible from this hotel, Hatu Mata temple is a must visit place and the journey will be definitely worth a remembrance for life time, even the temple is in very pleasant atmosphere at a height of approximately 11400 feet

 The location of the hotel is not much accessible to the near by commercial places as well as restaurants

 Good service given by Shimlaroyals through out the package tour

Now the cons

 Staff behavior is worst, you want to urge them repeatedly for service instead they go deaf at your request, which is really annoying

 Don’t be fooled by the pictures shown on net as they doesn’t resemble any thing at the hotel

 Journey leading to roads near by the hotel is very slippery and very dangerous for normal drivers

 Food is a nightmare, and you don’t have any other option taking the location in to consideration

 Management are least bothered about your complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We went to Narkanda in the month of April for an official get together, we were group of 26 people and were bit concerened about our holiday, though it went all far better than expected espicially the way whole itinerary was planned by the people at tethys. Evenings were amazing with bonfire, bar-b-q music, post breakfast activity sessions at zamunda meadow and specially the walk to hatu and further to meadows and above all the rafting experience in satluj rirver. thakns to the guys and Mr Dogra @ Tethys.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance prior to visiting, talk to the owner Mr.Dogra whille planning your itinary f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I wrote a review earlier when i did not visit this place, i was very confused but Honestly i Took a chance simple because there was no other option at Narkanda.
Our family reached Narkanda on 31.12.2011 and Left on 02.01.2012.
Everything was perfectly planned, rooms Very Clean, Washroom nicely done.Staff was very courteous, though we reached past the lunch time but they still managed to offer some snacks. As intimated by Mr. Dogra (The Owner) that consider it like a friends farmhouse where the Local village Boys are there to serve you. The boys were good, helpfull and Snowfall add the icing on cake and made my trip a memorable One.

So you can go and stay at Tethys without any tension and have a great time.

Room Tip: Try the family room,, its Hugeee !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.