We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
The Hideaway | Pigeon Wood, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England (Formerly Wild Luxury - The Wild Glamping Company)   |  
Hotel amenities
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I have just returned home from a wonderful trip to The Hideaway - Pigeon Wood. The accommodation is fantastic, the service was excellent. Ellen was fantastic with our young children, coming for them every morning so that they could help her feed the animals and check for eggs. This was the high light of their weekend. We are definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure looking after you and your children are lovely.

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a fab site. The tents are massive, they are equipped with everything you could want and more. I have stayed on several 'glamping' sites and this was by far the most luxurious. Fabulous to have the wood burner in the middle of the tent, it really made us feel cosy in spite of the wind blowing furiously outside.
We loved the site and though our little one isn't quite toddling I can just imagine the fun children would have here, adventuring in the woods and feeding the animals. I would heartily recommend the site to friends with little ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
The Hideaway is a firm favourite for families with young children so thanks for highlighting this in your review.

Kind regards

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very impressed with the whole set-up, pre-stay information was very useful and informative, the accomodation was really good and lived up to the billing, would recommend this to anyone who fancies getting out into the fresh air and enjoying the country whilst retaining a few home comforts.

Room Tip: All Lodges looked the same, we stayed in Muntjac which was in the middle, good sociable location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you had such a good stay

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back home, already planning our next visit! This break was a birthday present for a friend who is not usually a "happy camper" but no problems here! Big comfy beds, comfy chairs and a blazing open fire it just doesn't get any better.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments. There is something very special about escaping for a few days in the countryside and I am glad you loved your time at The Hideaway so much.

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First things first; both Thornham Bay and The Hideaway are excellent venues and either are a great choice of venue for your holiday. However, we are one of the lucky few who have experienced both sites and if you are considering stating with Wild Luxury, but are not sure which of the two sites to opt for, we thought it might be useful to do a comparison. Use this if you are undecided between the two sites, but whichever you choose you will not be disappointed.

Both sites offer peace and quite, plenty of nature and walks for young children, a great Honesty Shop on site for essentials, and brilliant accommodation with more protection from the weather than you might expect. Our hosts have always been vey helpful and supportive.

Benefits of the Thornham Bay resort:

i) As well as the honesty shop; there is a "normal" shop at the entrance to the farm linked to the site. This provides a wider range of supplies
ii) You can walk to the beach from this site (although it is quite a way!).
iii) Tents are marginally bigger and toilet / shower is more enclosed (although perfectly acceptable on either site)
iv) The Hideaway is down a long track, a much shorter journey off-road to Thornham Park

Benefits of the Hideaway

i) There are fewer tents so it is generally quieter
ii) There are more onsite animals which makes it more interesting for the children (chickens, ducks, goats and soon to be sheep as well)
iii) The site was better for the children to play in - we used the footballs and goalposts at the Hideway a lot and Thornham Bay was quite muddy when we went (June 2012); no such issues at the Hideway.
iv) Nearby small wood at the Hideway was great to explore
v) The site is laid out so that you can see the children whatever they are doing; not the case at Thornham Bay.

Which would we pick if wewere back for a third time? I really difficult choice, but I think we would go for the Hideway as there it is probably more suitbale for younger children. But you can't go far wrong making a choice between these two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your very generous and fair assessment of what both sites have to offer. We do generally recommend The Hideaway to families with youngsters as it is great for kids and just a short drive to the beach but as you say both have a lot going for them

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our third time with Wild Luxury, twice at The HIdeaway, Pigeon Wood and once at Thornham Bay. Both sites are equally great, but our favourite is Pigeon wood. The Lodges are so spacious, with everything you need and even though it was very cold this time, it didn't spoil our fun. We were a group of 14 with children ranging from 5 to 13 and there was something for all of them. The little ones love feeding the animals onsite - chickens, 2 goats, and ducks and collecting the eggs in the morning. While the older ones loved to play swing ball, football, ride their bikes and run free in the woods, using their imaginations to make up games, rather than sitting in front a screen for hours on end !! Then sit round a lovely log fire in the evening. As parents, its great to see the kids outdoors for endless hours, having fun, knowing they are completely safe, even when it got dark. The honesty pantry has all you need, if you run out of anything. We all used to be campers, but now we are Glampers and would never go back. The feel of the outdoors, but with a little bit of luxury. Lovely comfortable beds, fluffy duvets, your own toilet and hot shower and the Aga to cook lovely meals on and to keep you warm at night. As a group we would like to say a big thank you again to Jonathan and especially Ellen, who was on site every day to make sure we were all OK and to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend Pigeon Wood to anyone who loves the outdoor life, with some peace and quiet - well, apart from the wildlife!! and especially to families - the kids will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. The Hideaway is an excellent choice if you have kids in tow and we think one of the prettiest settings on the North Norfolk Coast. I understand that you guys are planning a return trip to the Hideaway so hopefully see you then!

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were impressed by the high quality and cleanliness of the lodgings. We found them to be spacious well equipped and even loved the shower and toilet set up! It rained for us for most of our 4 day trip. Everyone else cancelled due to the weather forecast so we had the whole campsite to ourselves. Despite this and losing our beloved pet dog Fudgie, whom we knew had inoperable bladder cancer and needing urgent euthanasia half way through the holiday we will hold some deep happy memories of our final days together as a complete family. Bitter kind to us but the lady in charge Carrie, was very kind to us before and after the bittersweet time. It will forever hold a firm place in my heart as heaven on earth. We will definitely be back once we a. Save up and b. Come to terms with our loss of a dear family member, and can brave the memories. Perhaps we will try out the beach location next! Our 3 year old thought it was fab! Especially checking if the hens had laid her an egg. Thanks Especially to Carrie!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hideaway - Wild Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

Address: The Hideaway | Pigeon Wood, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England (Formerly Wild Luxury - The Wild Glamping Company)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Sedgeford
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Safari tents in breathtaking location. Terraces, master bedroom, second bedroom, children's sleeping quarters, kitchen, power shower, flushing lavatory. Private fire-pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury Sedgeford, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hideaway - Wild Luxury to your Saves list