We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Natural” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalatop Wildlife Sanctuary

Kalatop Wildlife Sanctuary
6 km from Dalhousie, Chamba, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Chamba
Attraction details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Natural”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Excellent place, very beautiful and green, kids really lliked snake flowers found there. Only improvement, road is very narrow , risky to take your vihicle.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
guna
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excelent Place , Close to nature.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

First of all wildlife and second thick dense forest, if u are lucky can get booking done for the rest house in midst of jungle.
really an adventure night u will have.. As I stayed dere and had experience to c Reech(bear) out of our room. U can even walk in the jungle. take ur care for spin after paying some fee of Rs100 I remember.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wild life Sanctuary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

3 KM Jungle walk is good, but final stop is too commercialized. Giving access to vehicles drive-in has started spoiling the nature's beauty.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, Punjab, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One time visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you are going for the first time, first time will be enough. Sanctuary is though a past but views are execllent. Lush green all around. Also to add, a lady there cooks amazing pakodas with tea. Must try that.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumta, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Heavenly beauty of Green Himalayas at Kalatop..!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited the Kalatop sanctuary as the first place on our week long vacation at Dalhousie. As all of us are avid nature lovers, we asked the car to be parked outside the barrier only and we started walking on the beautiful forest path.

The entire 3 km walk was heavenly experience with the beautiful tall trees of the pines and conifers coupled with the peacefulness of the forest. En route their were places for sitting also and when we reached it was cloudy accompanied with light drizzle which added to the chill at the place.

After the trek we reached the forest bungalow and relaxed in the garden with hot cup of tea. Overall a wonderful experience and make sure you walk at least one way in the forest to have a flavour of nature..!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalatop Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Chamba, Himachal Pradesh
Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh
 
Chamba, Himachal Pradesh
Dalhousie, Himachal Pradesh
 

Been to Kalatop Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalatop Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.