We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zauchenseehof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zauchenseehof to your Saves list
Zauchenseehof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zauchensee 12 | Altenmarkt, Altenmarkt im Pongau 5541 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travelled from Australia to Austria (over 24hrs travelling by plane and bus) to ski for a week with friends from the UK - they were a family - 4 children, we were a couple.

Hotel Zauchenseehof was exceptional in every way - proximity to ski rental and lifts, restaurants, outstanding service, superb rooms and facilities ... the food and wine fit for a king - fresh and delicious.

A great hotel for both couples and families - skiing experience does not get much better then through this hotel... well done and thank you Hotel Zauchenseehof, you definitely made our long trip worth it - we hope to be back one day with our kids!

I have posted a couple of photo's as well.

Room Tip: They seem all to be great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel is located right next to gondola, nursery slopes and ski school meeting place, so very convenient for all levels of skier/snowboarder.

Nice spa area with pool – if you want to use the sauna or steam room you have to go in naked :) Can’t say if it is a mixed or separate sex area as I was too British to discard my swimsuit and venture inside.

Food was not haute cuisine but was always good and nicely prepared, with fish, meat and vegetarian options on the menu for most nights. Excellent salad and cheese buffet each night.

Rooms are spacious and with comfortable beds but very few have a bath as well as a shower. No tea/coffee making facilities. No English channel on our TV but my father managed to get BBC world in his room as he had a newer flat screen TV.

Because the hotel has been expanded over the years the layout is a bit haphazard, for example, you have to walk through the restaurant to get to the bar. On the subject of the bar, Austria seems to be a little behind most of Europe in that they still allow smoking in the bar areas – even the bar tender herself was blowing cigarette smoke over all her clients!!

Locker room can get a bit crowded and tight at peak times but lockers themselves are great, with heated boot racks and shelving for items of ski wear.

One thing worth mentioning about the resort of Zauchensee is that there are virtually no shops (apart from ski shops) and no mini market so it is almost impossible to buy any food or drink outside of a hotel, bar or restaurant.

Hotel organizes show shoe walks (no extra price to pay for hire of snow shoes or for the mid-walk gluhwein) once a week – our party loved this walk thought the beautiful forest. If you go over New Year, the hotel also organises a candlelit walk around the lake, which is enjoyable and very pretty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Zauchenseehof in a party of 12 with mixed ski abilities, ages and interests. We went with Ski Hillwood and were very impressed. Everything was organised for us with minimal faff which was great particularly when it came to ski hire/transfers etc. There were lots of activities and things to do for non-skiers- small bowling alley under the hotel, beautiful swimming pool with a little waterfall, side jaccuzzi, with changing colours through the water, very serene. The sitting area has very big windows overlooking the slopes which is nice if you want to watch the skiers come down- it did get busy from 5ish onwards so best to go on a morning where the snow is not great. No clothes allowed in the steam room etc which was a bit off putting for our group. We had a quick look in the kids pool and it is as nicely decorated as the adult pool. We went over new year and new years eve was lovely with a candlelit walk with chinese lanterns and goulash soup at midnight. There was also a snow walk which our party enjoyed. The food did become a bit samey after a while but was good quality and had a lovely salad buffet to accompany it. We were able to make our choice in the morning for our evening meal. Our waitress (Nicole) was very attentive as were the majority of the staff- we thought it was slightly inappropriate on occasion that the waitress in the bar was walking around smoking as she served us though. We are used to a ban being in place so I am sure this is a cultural thing. We found the general smoking in restaurants and hotels off putting but the smoke did not transfer into the rooms which was good. The rooms were all different, we had an extra area on ours which had a lounge which was nice as some ski hotel rooms can be quiet small. The majority of rooms do not have a bath but this seems to be a standard in Austrian hotels. We had two single beds pushed together which gave us extra space and was perfect for us. We are not particularly keen on Austrian pillows so might be worth bringing your own if you are fussy. Excellent boot room- spacious and clean with a room key system- much better than other boot rooms we have used previously. There are no proper shops around the hotel to buy souvenirs or alcohol- basic supplies are sold in ski hire shop but we were surprised there was not another main shop somewhere else where you can buy beer, medicines etc. Hotel could not be closer to the gondola and overall was a pleasant stay. The owner of the hotel often walks around speaking to guests in the evening which is a lovely extra touch.

Room Tip: Room 117 has a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a superb hotel. Food was excellent with a 5 course menu every evening. The spa is also very well equipped with multiple different rooms. The boot room is lovely and warm and the exit is about 100m from the ski lifts. Swimming pool is too small for anything other than paddling. We stayed in a room with 4 beds which was a bit crowded. Our friends were in a 2 room suite which was a bit more but much the better option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

First time skiing in Austria after 9 years in the 3 valleys - my eyes have been well and truly opened!! Went with expert skier husband, our 2 small children and friends with one 11 year old. We booked with Ski Hillwood who only organise holidays through this hotel so are incredibly experienced and knowledgable on ever aspect of the hotel, hire shop and ski area. The hotel itself was brilliant, lovely food, very friendly service (special mention of our wonderful waiter Maic), the spa facilities were fabulous. The rooms were very well equipped and very clean.
As for the area I cant really fault it at all! It was so pretty with trees lining most pistes and fabulous long blues and reds perfect for me and challenging blacks for the hubby. The kids loved the ski school and came on leaps, the child care provided by Hillwood was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
Another bonus was that the gorgeous mountain restaurants served up amazing tasty and top quality food but at half the price of the three valleys, and with a smile!
Austria and this hotel may have our custom for quite some time....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Lovely family-run hotel with lots to offer - ski slopes right there, good day care. However, it was very difficult with kids in swimming pool - at one stage i counted 26 kids in a relatively small pool, it was noisy, dangerous and not enjoyable to say the least. Of course, if you go during the day - everything is perfect. Waitress was a bit rude a few times and gossiped about the guests - not very pleasant, but most of the hotel staff are absolutely delightful, helpful and have a great attitude. One major downside- over crowded ski room, if you come here during peak hours - prepare to be crushed, pushed and shouted at.
will be back again

Room Tip: No shop around - bring nappies with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Totally brilliant experience in the improved public areas at the hotel. We have stayed here 5 times and the service and experience is consistently excellent. Fabulous location and brilliant facilities for our three-year-old.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zauchenseehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zauchenseehof

Address: Zauchensee 12 | Altenmarkt, Altenmarkt im Pongau 5541 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Altenmarkt im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Altenmarkt im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zauchenseehof 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Familyhotel Zauchenseehof is situated direktly in the ski- and hiking-paradies Zauchensee in the middle of "Ski amade". Giant children's play area covering two floors - Child care and supervision - 6 days a week. Large children's swimming pool with knights' castle. Rainbow waterslide, waterfall, water games area, colourful water lighting Toddlers' pool with 25 cm water depth Swimming pool with water jets, pleasant streams, massage jets, waterfall. Finnish sauna, bio herbal sauna with herbal essences, whirlpools in the sauna rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zauchenseehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zauchenseehof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.