We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri to your Saves list
Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri
APSRTC Complex Road, Rajahmundry 533103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Rajahmundry B&B and Inns
solan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here because all other good hotels were full due to marriage season. The Hotel was good but some how I didn't feel comfortable. On top of the the south Indian thali I ordered was so hopleless that I was almost food poisoned. My stomach Bloated and I had vomoting in the middle of the night. I will not stay again in that Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
3
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good hotel infrastructure with a pathetic maintainance. I guess the manager is not interested. It takes 2 daya to change a fused bulb, ac control do not work,ask for a iron,it takes to deliver, green tea in tra cart is funnyafter repeated reminder. You have this as the only option unfotunately. Try youself...i had a bad experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rajahmundry hotels

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Rajamundhry. Located in the main city, it is about 30 minute drive from the city airport. I had a day stay this time and was definitely not going to any of the hotels that I had stayed at earlier. That is how I was suggested this hotel. It is a decent place and has reasonably efficient staff.

Good lobby and smooth check in and out. Front office staff are efficient. Rooms are well furnished and bigger. Bathrooms too are well equipped and spacious. There is a need for the staff to pay attention to the linen as one of the sheets was torn and frayed. Other wise the rooms were clean. The corridors need better lighting and need to be better ventilated as there was cigarette smell all around.

I ordered room service and it was prompt. Food preparation was fine. House keeping was good and responded to my calls and requests promptly. Constant playing of music in the common areas can be a source of irritation to some.

I think this is one of the better hotels in Rajamundhry and I would definitely come back for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is best hotel in Rajahmundry and also bit costly. The Hotel has two restuarants and Bar. The Food quality is ok. Advice to have food in the restaurant on the top floor. BTW they also have roof top swimming pool it gives an excellent view of Rajahmundry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Rooms were clean and tidy. The food was touch and go… sometimes it was great, other times, not so great. The breakfast lacked any creativity…

Fourth floor is a smoking floor, which is nice. It's near by the the center of the city, and the staff is friendly.

I just hate one thing, and that is that Kenny G is played throughout the hotel, and through the night! And you can hear it from your door late at night, and it bugs the hell out of me!

Oh and mosquitos are the size of a human child...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is nice and attractive. The rooms are spacious and the toilets are clean. The room is really cozy. There are two problems in the hotel. One, they have to work on their smoking zones because those are in the middle of the floor and just outside of the lift area and the high volume of music in the lobby. The nice part is that hotel gives you various choices of food with several restaurants in it and provides very good food. The service is very nice and the staff is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Pros:
1. Excellent service. Though the staff are a bit slow, they are extremely courteous and willing to help. Dont expect them to make any executive decisions as most are only trainees.
2. Cleanliness. This is by far the cleanest hotel in RJY.
3. Rooms are well appointed and furnished. Beds and quilts are great. You can sleep away for days.
4. Food. Excellent continental food. (again service can be slow)
5. Location. very close to those who travel by rail or road

Cons:
1. like I said, staff can be a bit slow
2. dont expect much from the pool

Overall an excellent option for those who care about neatness and comfort

Room Tip: ask for rooms on 3rd or 4th floor, because 1 and 2 have banquet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri

Address: APSRTC Complex Road, Rajahmundry 533103, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Rajahmundry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rajahmundry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.