We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Milk House & parking area
The Milk House & parking area
The Milk House & parking area
The sitting room
Downstair bedroom with wheelchair access
The kitchen
Ensuite bathroom downstairs
Erlestoke
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendy I
Bath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and dry - just what we needed over New Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from The Milk House after a week away with a family group.

Finding property, picking up keys and getting settled was all very easy. Rachel popped round to make sure we had everything we needed. House was spotlessly clean and it was great to have some basic things like washing up liquid already there.

We had visitors one day and accommodated a total of 13 of us for a buffet lunch which was a bit of a squeeze but not a problem and thanks to Rebecca for allowing us to have our annual family gathering (loads of parking).

Weather during our stay wasn't great but as we have 2 dogs we walked every day. Erlestoke woods and plain beyond is doggy heaven. Loved Pear Tree Hill where you could walk for miles.

Took the opportunity to visit Imber and the church while we were there and researched some family history (Axfords and Carters from Imber, Erlstoke and Great Cheverill). Friendly local farmer told us where to get key for church and the nice lady with the key also let us borrow parish records for a bit more family research - all very interesting.

Tried the local pub which has now re-opened - very friendly people and nice freshly cooked (non-gastro) grub.

Back to the house itself. Beds were very comfortable, we struggled a bit with the upstairs bath and shower under the eaves so everyone ended up using the downstairs bathroom in the end but wasn't a problem for us. Kitchen was well equipped. Our only constructive criticism would be the lack of side tables in the lounge for putting a drink on and lack of storage in the bedrooms - we had to have clothes in piles on the floor. TV also hard to watch from the large sofa without getting a crick in your neck.

Didn't get to use the orchard/garden really as it was a bit wet but be aware that one side of it is un-fenced and leads onto a minor road. No sign of the chickens or eggs mentioned in the description. Did get awoken early on a couple of mornings by the tree care people who operate out of the adjacent yard and left engines running but to be fair, given the wind and rain they were probably busier than normal.

Those are just minor gripes in what was an excellent house in a great location for walking and exploring. Wifi was good too for wet afternoons allowing people to play online games, surf the internet or watch catchup TV. Only lit the wood burner once - the heating was so good we really didn't need it. Useful having the drying rack in the utility room for our wet coats too.

Worth mentioning the additional single room/study/2nd reception room downstairs off the Utility room as the website description doesn't really do this justice. It really is quite a large room (could possibly sleep 2). It has a comfy day bed and a large desk with childrens toys under it and a toilet with washbasin close by.

We would recommend this property and would definitely return to the area.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, cosyness, kitchen
Liked least: lack of side tables for drinks and bedroom storage, upstairs bathroom a pain
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Julia B
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable and homely cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a lovely week at the Milk House. It has everything you would expect and want from a holiday let, and extras on top. The furniture and furnishings are really comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. Our eldest daughter loved looking at the animals on the farm and wore herself out on the trampoline. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and we look forward to returning for the same week next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MrsSGlouc...
Gloucestershire
1 review
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The house was extremely comfortable. Most of the time we forgot that it was a holiday let. Even our 9 year old grandson commented that it 'feels like we live here'. The house met all our requirements. It was spacious and spotlessly clean, with all the cooking utensils that we needed. The highlight for the children was bottle-feeding the lamb. The village, itself is very quiet and unfortunately the pub is currently closed, however there are many others in the area, some within walking distance and a lot are dog friendly. The location is so peaceful. Wiltshire is a beautiful county - I'd never really considered it for a holiday location before as we live in a bordering county, but we will in future - in fact we are booked in for another visit later in the year...says it all!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Liked least: Can't think of anything apart from two days of rain!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Scodge
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We found the Milk House to be excellent in all ways. Newly modernised (late 2011) all the fittings are of very good quality - the kitchen in particular was practical and well appointed. The cottage itself is very spacious; we were four in number but never felt cramped at all - a party of six would still be comfortable.

The location is idyllic, being in a very rural location just on the outskirts of Salisbury Plain and the house has a vegetable garden and fruit orchard from which guests are free to pick produce when available. (There is a group of chickens also, but sadly, we were unable to find any eggs.)

All in all a great base for a relaxing holiday, or a base to explore the Wiltshire and Somerset countryside.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: High level of comfort and space.
Liked least: A very noisy cockerel every morning at 3:00 a.m. A shotgun could solve the problem though.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
729suzb
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed with a group of 6 persons in the Milk House! We had an absolute wonderful time... the house is perfect, the garden is nice (we could eat the things from garden!!), atmosphere is lovely and good! The place is the middle of all the great things Wiltshire has to offer! We would love to return to this lovely place! Thank Rebecca!
An absolute recommend!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rawlings...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb warm and friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at The Milk House with our 2 sons aged 8 and 12, and our dog. We found the accommodation to be very well equiped with nothing else we would have needed.

The cottage had such a lovely warm feel to it so much so we didnt want to leave, and asked the owner if we could stay another night - which we did.

The large garden with trampoline for the boys and the use of a bbq was a great addition.

Our youngest son was invited by Tony the Farmer to feed the lambs in the morning, which he enjoyed immensely. We also had a couple of good walks through the fields with our dog which was very enjoyable.

The owners are very helpful, accommodating and friendly, and we would definately make this a place we return to every year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$227
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Rebecca H
44 7595 601109
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Mar 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing