We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to go Chimp Tracking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kibale National Park

Kibale National Park
P. O. Box 188, Kasese, Uganda
+256 4834 44629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Kasese
Type: National Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This park features one of the most diverse primate populations found anywhere.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A great place to go Chimp Tracking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Chimp Tracking was really cool. You hook up with the local Uganda Wildlife Authority rangers who start you tracking off into the jungle. It took us several hours to actually find the chimps, but that was part of the journey, and you can hear them screaming, aka going [--], in the jungle off and on, and that is part of how we located them. There was also another team of rangers tracking them too. They split up the groups to increase the chances of finding them, and when one team finds them, they contact the other over radio. Once we found them, even though the chimps were acting really crazy, they did not seem to mind our presence one bit and tolerated us walking through the jungle with them. That was soooo cool. We probably saw nearly 30 of them when we finally found them. Make sure you bring water for the hike, and perhaps some rubberbands to tie your pant legs to your socks, or you can just tuck your pants into your socks, but you will want to do this as there are some pretty nasty ants out there. They also do a nice nature walk through a swamp where you will see many other types of birst and monkeys. The terrain there is very beautiful, and I loved my time there.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two thumps up to the chimps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I just did the chimp habituation experience at the Kibale National Park. I have to say that this was one of the best excursions I have gone through in Uganda. You can spend a full day among chimpanzees and move along with them through the rain forest. I could not believe how close I could get to these chimps and study their behavior. The guides seem to be very literate about the chimps and they will give you loads of information. Absolutely recommended.

Warning: be ware of the fire ants as they might really ruin the experience for you if you're not prepared for them. You need to wear long trousers and carry insect repellent with you. If you can somehow tuck your pants into your boots or socks, you should be fine.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Fire Ants in Kibale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Visiting Kibale to see the chimpanzees is beautiful, but there are also monkeys, birds and butterflies to see. There is one animal that you really need to watch for: fire ants! When you go trekking here, be sure to have thick, long pants and thick, long socks, so that you can tuck your pants into your socks for protection. Otherwise, the pants will climb up your pants and bite you, and believe me, it really hurts. When you are trekking, be aware of where you walk and step. Often there are trails of ants across the path, which can be avoided by jumping over them. Make sure that when your group stops on the trail, that you are not standing on or near an ant hill or ant trail. You can still enjoy a visit to Kibale, just be prepared for the ants.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Bigodi wetland sanctuary. the best place for primates and a diversity of bird species for bird lovers. with Cycads safaris

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chimpanzee Habituation Experience CHEX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Spending an entire day with the chimps, from locating them via their pant hoots in the morning to them nesting at night. As it is a small group (Ranger plus max of 4) it would seem that you get much closer to the chimps than often happens during the larger group chimp walks. The trekking is hard though as you are often moving fast through dense forest so as to not lose the chimps. Personally I found this even more rewarding than than Gorilla trekking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kibale National Park also viewed

 
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Western Region
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Western Region
 

Been to Kibale National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibale National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kibale National Park to your Saves list