We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling vineyards great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Barossa Valley Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golf Links Road | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rolling vineyards great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel is set on a rise that looks over a valley and if you want peace and quiet, you should find it here. Easy check in and plenty of car parking near your room. Good location for the wineries in all directions really. Lots of different rooms styles from single person to couples to conference - I can see why it appeals to conference organisers. The restaurant was large and overlooked the valley also reasonably priced. There is a large outdoor pool with comfortable poolside furniture. We choose to have a private meal on the balcony and nothing was too much trouble - the food arrived hot and delicious. The hotel has a spa offering treatments. We took up the offer of the complimentary wine tasting in the evening, the hotel offers wines for sale for vineyards locally that don't have cellar door sales. The room - a twin - had a large bathroom, however the beds were well used and a bit saggy. Next time I would ask for a room on the uppermost floor as the occupants heading back to their rooms after conference dinners or departing early - was very audibile in the room as the walkway is set directly behing all rooms on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel first to see if there is a conference on. If there is, try to secure a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    608
    252
    60
    21
See reviews for
233
842
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Self and spouse stayed here for 4 nights last week while at a Tanunda conference. Supposed deal for conference attendees at $213.00 p.n. included 2 x full breakfasts for our room though reception did not advise of this at check-in. With a full breakfast at $28.00 p.p we missed out on 3 having bought food at the Tanunda supermart - but that's really not an issue (If management would reimburse us $168 we'd be grateful and it knows where we are)
Our experience here was very good for the hotel is very comfortable with excellent rooms and a great green view. Bar-lounge and dining room are spacious and well managed by extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Pool dwellers are well provided for with a large pool with a vast pool-side area for watchers and others. Would be a glorious venue in high summer.
The hire-bikes are something of an overkill as there is only one road in and out - to/from the main road - which has short heart-stopping hills though admittedly these would give much practice at uphill bike pushing.
Harry's Restaurant is very good but equally expensive. There are Harry's Take Aways available at more reasonable costs which we didn't try - room-service with a difference in that the kitchen calls you to collect (in plastic containers) rather than it delivering to your room.
We enjoyed our stay in the wonderful Barossa and at Novotel in particular and would happily stay again but it's such a long way from home in NZ.
One gripe - silly perhaps. There needs to be better, or some, training for bar staff. I have not previously experienced a single Baileys served in a large brandy glass (right down at the bottom) with a straw, or been asked if I want coke with my scotch - though I would accept that it may be me who has had a too conservative past.
One delight - helpful certainly. Pre-arrival I had communications with Reception concerning room access and the obtaining of a hire-wheelchair locally. Great responses and help. Accessible room was confirmed pronto. Wheelchair was not found, despite great efforts in searching. In the event one is needed by a future guest I can recommend Terry White Chemists at Gawler which does such hire.

Room Tip: Ensure whether or not your room rate includes/excludes breakfast. You absolutely need a vehicle here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a rave review on tripadvisor.com. Your feedback and positive comments provide encouragement to my team and to continue to provide the service and experience you have just reported.

I was particularly pleased to read you loved the guest rooms & facilities of the hotel. We at the Novotel Barossa pride ourselves on exceeding guest’s expectations and I can assure you that your outstanding comments will be shared with all of my amazing team at the next team meeting.

Thank you once again and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Novotel on your next visit to the Barossa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a lovely weekend in the Barossa and stayed at the Novotel because I was attending a reunion dinner there. Our two bedroom apartment was very comfortable and certainly met our needs for a weekend stay.

We chose to stay two nights instead of one as the description of the Resort led us to believe there would be plenty to do for the day around the Resort to entertain the kids and that would be more relaxing than to keep moving - in this we were disappointed - it wasn't clear if the pool was available to be used (cover over it and no sign of how to get access), most activities seemed to be for big groups rather than visiting families and other activities seemed to cost more money (hiring bikes) after we had already spent alot to stay there.

The varying room rates for each of the two nights ($372 one night and $285 the next) while explained beautifully to us were difficult to accept. There was no supply of leaflets or info about what else there was to do in the area or what our alternatives for meals were - getting information felt like hard work.

To cap it off the Resort was undergoing renovations whilst we were there and so the function room with a view we were supposed to having our reunion dinner in was not available and we were tucked away in a small side room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com.

I was disappointed to read information relating to resort activates & regional sights were not communicated directly to you. We endeavor to promote these options via our in room information booklet and information boards. I am sorry you felt this information not forth coming from our staff, as they are normally very proud to share their local knowledge of the area.

Our hotel rates fluctuate with the demand for the period reserved & length of stay. This is similar to airlines and a practice with most leading hotels.

I am sorry the temporary closure of Harry's restaurant effected your overall impression of our dining facilities. We are doing everything possible to offer a similar or better experience than usually. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have just come back from this hotel today having visited a few times in the past. and been very happy.

The problem seems to be that now it is part of a new hotel group. The hotel is tired and in need of some care and attention. It seems that all the general public / play areas are worn/broken or in need of upgrade. Worst of all is that they don't tell you till you arrive that the restaurant is closed. They have a lease problem with whoever runs the restaurant and the result is that you have to eat in an old function room. The spectacular Barossa Views are replaced by a view of the car park. The restaurant was a highlight in the past and now is indefinitely closed.

To get a good meal you now have to drive 15-30 mins so not partaking of the glorious Barossa wines (the whole reason for going) IMO.

So sad to see this once good family hotel on the way down hill. We won't be going again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com.

I was sorry to learn that you where not advised prior to your arrival of the temporary closure of Harry’s Restaurant and Bar. We tried to contact each & every guest & in particular those with restaurant reservations. Through these challenging circumstances we are doing everything possible to offer a similar or better experience than usually offered. Complimentary hotel transfer to local restaurants are available & alternate dining options at Tanunda Pines Golf Club or al fresco dining around the pool deck is also available. I offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the restaurant closure may have caused.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Harry's Resturant was shut up and a conference room was used - the kitchen was in the carpark - the menu was a small selection most of which was below par SO check it out as they didn't let us know at booking or checkin

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Attended a wedding and reception at the resort and then stayed overnight in a king suite.
The location is great with fantastic views over the valley from our room. Excellent service from all the staff. The room was clean very spacious and the bed was comfortable with a option for different pillow selections if required.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Barossa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Address: Golf Links Road | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Rowland Flat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barossa Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Barossa Valley wine region, Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is just a 55 minute drive from Adelaide. Surrounded by world-famous wineries, the resort offers a multitude of features: enjoy a game of golf at Tanunda Pines Golf Course or a treatment at Endota Spa. The resort features 140 rooms with private balconies and kitchenette facilities. It also boasts an award-winning restaurant, tasting room, heated outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, an 18-hole golf course and refurbished conference facilities for up to 250 delegates. Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Barossa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barossa Valley Hotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Tanunda
Tanunda Novotel
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.