We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   80 North Shore Road | Sunshine Coast, Mudjimba, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I had a one night stop over at the Grand Mecure Twin Waters in March the year. We stayed in a Studio room which was quite enough for our needs, one observation was each site had an A & B unit however there was only one park per unit number (i.e. 29A & 29B one car park) so its first in first serve and its not clear where else you can park so during a busy period this may be an issue.

There is certain facilities at the Grand Mecure however the Novotel resort is only about a 5 -10 min walk and the lake and other facilities here are available for use, just be aware that there could be a fee to use. I would suggest this resort is very family friendly so as an older couple we would not visit during the holidays

There is a lovely restaurant (Nouveau) which overs a lovely themed buffet which in comparison to other buffets we have been to is good value however could be a little expensive for a family. There is also a little cafe and the Aqua restaurant that caters for the more casual diner.

The resort is a little isolated so you definitely need a car to get around although the beach is a short 10 min walk across the dunes, which during Summer would be a lovely alternative to the Lake and pools.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue ask for a ground floor as the units we stayed in were two story and all lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou for you kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Grand Mercure Twin Waters. We were please to see that you got to enjoy the resort in its entirety by using the facilities at the Novotel. We are very fortunate to have this available to our guests on our door step. We do hope that you get the opportunity to return in the near future.

regards
The GMATW Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    116
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
203
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this property and both times we've had a great experience. The rooms were exactly, clean and modern with all the facilities needed.

The pool area at the Mercure was great and they have 2 pools so restrict access and give you a key to only one pool this meant that we were the only people at the pool on a few occasions the pool area was never crowded.

You also have the ability to use the Novotel facilities and the lake. We had 2 great days on the lake with the family utilizing all activities, we did paddle boarding, bounced on the tramp in the middle, sailboating kayaking - the kids had a ball. We were there for a few busy days and never missed our on a lounger. The pool is also good at the Novotel.

We didn't eat at the main restaurant as a little pricey and a buffet style. We did however eat at the bar and eat and use the takeaway place and had good experiences.

We used the spa facility and had a good experience, massages, manicures and pedicures. There was a few of us and they allowed us to use the deck and take wine and nibbles to enjoy while we waited for each other.

I'd highly recommend and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your kind words on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share you thoughts with our team here who are always trying very hard to ensure all our valued guests have a memorable stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Twin Waters in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went there for work purposes but took the family along.
The apartment we had was great. Roomy, had all the facilities needed, and great views.
We are even considering coming back there for another holiday sometime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I was please to see your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We are very fortunate to have such fantastic facilities at our disposal. as you mentioned work or play its a great venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

OK, weddings tend to be, but we rented two units - a big one for 9 & a small one for 4. The big one was a perfect place for lots of people to get together & the small one by the lagoon was beautifully positioned with a wonderful view. Equipment is OK if a bit variable. As a place to spend a relaxing week its unbeatable.

Room Tip: Every unit is different so it's important to think about size/position & exactly what you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou very much for your kind review. we are very fortunate to have such varied accommodation options in such a beautiful location. Perfect for weddings family holiday or just a quiet getaway. We do try very hard to ensure we offer a value product to our guest. We do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We rented a 2 bed apartment for 4 of us at the Grand Mercure. This is definitely the way to go with kids as you have the option to cook and BBQ yourself and not rely on the neighbouring Novotel restaurants, which I thought, were expensive and didn’t cater for kids. The environment is awesome. We had access to three very different pools and all the Novotel had to offer including bike hire, kayaks, surfboards and a water trampoline, which the kids appeared to love. The grounds are beautifully kept and the beaches are clean and quiet. This is a great place for a short break with the kids, but I would recommend hiring a car for trips to the supermarket, Australia zoo and other surrounding beaches. It’s a good ground point for exploring the sunshine coast and at only 7kms from the airport, makes it easy access. The novotel also offer a kids club and babysitting service if you require, which is a real bonus when you are in an apartment with the kids. The DVD player in the apartment was broken and I have to say that the Grand Mercure staff went out of their way to sort it out as quickly as possible. The kids were delighted, which meant we were too. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for one of the apartments with access to a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
thankyou for you great review. We are all really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry we could not get the DVD Player working for you whilst you were here. But as you mentioned we did try. The ground & surrounds does make for a perfect location for kids to play safely enabling you to enjoy so you time.

regards
the GMATW Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The 2 bedroom apartments we stayed in were lovely- we initially stayed in apartment 49. The bed was soft but comfortable - which I really liked (but my husband did not) but the air-conditioning in the lounge room (near 2nd bedroom) was broken and as 2nd bedroom didn't have air-conditioning at all, just a ceiling fan, my poor son slept in a room which was over 30 degrees overnight. We asked management to fix the air-conditioning but as they couldn't, they promptly moved us to another apartment- I think it was unit possibly room 161.
The main bed mattress was very hard - which I personally hated (hubby liked it) but the apartment was still very lovely. After a couple of days a very bad smell started coming through the air-conditioning in my son’s room and when we complained about this to management, they looked into it and advised that a rodent had climbed up the air-conditioning pipe and had died there. They promptly fixed this but the next day our room lock wouldn’t open (and it took several hours to fix). When we spoke to 2 girls in housekeeping they said this was often an issue and they had issues with this regularly if you turn the key in a certain direction.

The 2 pools we had access to at Grand Mercure were lovely looking but we preferred the Novotel ones as they were more appropriate for our toddler as they had a decent shallow end. The landscaping is extraordinarily lush but this also came paired with hundreds of mosquitoes (literally) so we needed both insect repellent and sunscreen any time we left the front door. We also had to buy several types of insect repellent (plug ins for overnight) and spray the doors each day as 10-15 mosquitoes would be plastered against the door at all times and would fly inside every time we opened or closed the doors- which is why we did not make use of our gorgeous outdoor terrace- which was a shame.

Food: we had very ordinary pizzas from the Novotel take-away, however the kids meals and fish and chips from there (both of which my son really liked) were very tasty. The buffet at Novotel was also very ordinary. Dining there wasn’t great value for money but this was expected as eating in resort is always far more costly than outside. The close proximity to the supermarket was a plus though.

Other than beach and pool swimming there wasn’t much to do with a toddler as there’s no kinds clubs anymore- only a child-minding/daycare service, although my son loved watching the daily fish feeding and also riding around the complex on hired bicycles.

Overall we had a lovely stay and liked how polite and responsive management was whenever something went wrong but weren’t so impressed by the number of things that went wrong or the number of mosquito bites we each ended up with (despite our best efforts to avoid this). We asked for a late checkout to coordinate with my toddler’s sleep time and had to pay $30 extra to stay until noon- which we also weren’t so happy about as we would have hoped that after all the things that went wrong and the fact that we wasted so much holiday time on this they would have at least ‘comp-ed’ the late checkout.

Room Tip: If you have young children, the ground floor rooms are far more practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. We wire thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was unfortunate that you did have a couple of minor issues with the local wild life & locks. We are usually very quick to respond to these problems & was happy that we could resolve these for you. I have shared your comment with my colleague at the Novotel so he can address this with his team. We do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards
the tam at GMATW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times now and love the facilities at Twin Waters. The pools are nice and not overcrowded. The apartments are clean and have everything we needed. I prefer to stay in the ones overlooking the lake as they provide the best view. It is a bit of a trek to get over to the restaurant at the Novotel but it's a nice walk around the side of the lake through the landscaping. The midges can be pretty bad on dusk so make sure you take and use plenty of insect repellant. The kids loved the kayaking and the water trampoline. There is plenty to do without having to travel anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, Manager at Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind review, we are very proud of the Resort & being able to use the facilities at the Novotel. This unique point of difference give us a competitive edge when choosing a family friendly Resort. Knowing that the kids can roam freely in safety is a big tick for guests these days. We do hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters

Address: 80 North Shore Road | Sunshine Coast, Mudjimba, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mudjimba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mudjimba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained beach houses, and apartments situated in an exclusive gated precinct, bordered by the Mudjimba patrolled surf beach, the Maroochy River and a private man-made swimming lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments Hotel Mudjimba
Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters Sunshine Coast, South Pacific - Mudjimba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Apartments Twin Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.