We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Live in Oeiras Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Live in Oeiras Guest House to your Saves list
Live in Oeiras Guest House
Largo Almirante Gago Coutinho, 5, Oeiras 2780-245, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Oeiras B&B and Inns
Strasbourg, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The guesthouse is incredibly comfortable--everything was spotlessly clean, new, and there is even a guitar to play and a cat to pet. José and Patricia are two of the nicest people I could imagine running a guesthouse; they were super helpful for everything from planning trips into Lisbon (very easy to reach via the train station, which is only a three minute walk from the house) to finding food.

Breakfast is included in the stay, and they even hosted a communal dinner for everyone one night!

I totally recommend Live in Oeiras Guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of being the first guest . I was in Portugal on my first visit for a friends wedding these guys made me very welcome , nice house ,nice people,nice location,nice country,I will stay there again and spend more time .excellent! Barry,australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this guesthouse during the whole of November 2012 whilst working at an institute in Oeiras. Within the first few minutes of viewing the place I had already asked to book myself in. The house is an ideal location situated about three minutes from the train station, which offers regular trains across the Tagus River coast line serving Lisboa or further out to Cascais. The beach is also a three minute walk from the guesthouse whilst the old town of Oeiras is about an eight minute walk away through a beautiful park where one can find some great local 'Tascas'.

The guesthouse itself has a very homely feel and has only recently been renovated with a modern touch. Downstairs is a welcoming area with a TV lounge and dining room. There is also a kitchen where guests have their own fridge to store basic food items. My time spent here was in the winter months so unfortunately it was too rainy too enjoy the relaxing outside lounge area that had deck chairs and even a table football! I can imagine some great barbeques here during the summer months! A substantial continental breakfast was served at a time convenient for myself in the dining room every morning and consisted of fresh bread, ham, cheese, jams, local pastries as well as tea coffee and orange juice.

However the real selling point of this guesthouse is the owners Jose and Patricia. Both made me feel very welcome and they helped me to quickly settle into Portugese life. They are very knowledgable about the area and always recommended good places to eat in and out of Oeiras. My time there coincided with a dental emergency and in no time they arranged everything for me to see a local dentist. They are both a real jovial couple and we spent many a night in fits of laughter. I consider them both as real genuine people that offer a personal service to their guests and I am very thankful for their hospitality during my stay, so much so that I ensure a return visit! I also mustn't forget the house cat Zahara who is a real cutie and is a bonus for animal lovers.

On the whole, if you are looking to stay in a place outside of the hustle and bustle of Lisboa, Oeiras is an ideal setting since it is only about 15 minutes away by train. This guesthouse is a real gem and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at Live in Oeiras Guest House for almost 2 weeks in October and I have to say it's the best place to be! Patricia and Zé make us feel so comfortable and at home that we don't ever want to leave... The rooms are great, the toilets are decorated to perfection and very clean. But these are not the highlights of the place. The communal spaces are fantastic, with a fireplace to warm you up in the winter and beautiful huge balconies for the summer time. The breakfast is also very nice and all is very cozy! The location is also perfect. Within 5 minutes from the train station, the beach or the IGC.

Apart from the Guest House structure, Patricia and Zé make the most wonderful job of connecting to us and providing information and help on anything we need. They are really fantastic hosts! Hope you enjoy the place as much as I did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Live in Oeiras Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live in Oeiras Guest House

Address: Largo Almirante Gago Coutinho, 5, Oeiras 2780-245, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Oeiras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oeiras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 minutes from Lisbon and Cascais and 30 minutes from Sintra, Live in Oeiras is a Charming Guest House which offers you a comfortable and homely stay between the city and nature. The surrounding area of temperate climate along the beaches and gardens and the proximity to the capital gather all the reason to take advantage of cultural, leisure and sports activities... or just relax. House with three floors with various types of private bedrooms, 2 suites with private bathrooms, 4 bedrooms for 2 shared bathrooms, one kitchen, common indoor and outdoor areas with gardens and terraces. Breakfast is included and served daily. The bedrooms: 2 delightful twin bedrooms with two single beds, with a view of the Municipal Garden of Oeiras, with shared bathroom. 1 double bedroom very welcoming with a double bed and a desk overlooking the common terrace, with shared bathroom. 1 Triple bedroom with three single beds overlooking the Municipal Garden of Oeiras, with a shared bathroom. 2 elegant Suites with double beds, private bathroom and possibility to put an extra bed for an extra guest. They are all equipped with cable TV, ipod connection, air conditioning, WI-FI and wardrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Live in Oeiras Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Live in Oeiras Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.