We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place on the way to Shimla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Trail Heights

Save Saved
You added Timber Trail Heights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timber Trail Heights
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Parwanoo, Parwanoo 173220, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Parwanoo
Bangalore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place on the way to Shimla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stopped over here to experience the cable car especially for the kid. The ride is thoroughly enjoyable. There is a mini toy rides on the top for small kids & you can utilize the restaurant & recreation facilities. The cable car ride costs Rs. 625/person for anyone above 3 years.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    34
    15
    21
See reviews for
82
39
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Timber Trail Heights is a great place to have a refreshing break for food on way to Shimla. The restaurant is multi-cuisine and food is excellent. Indian dishes are quite delectable and spices can be adjusted on request.
Price may pinch the pocket of some.
Somehow, this place needs to be more well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We felt so elated to be on this one day stay at Moksha... it has a complete package of everything one dreams of a best stay.... the start of our stay from cable car; to the room location and the services ... all were excellent... we were attended so nicely that they made us feel too special...
we really loved our STAY.... thanks to the management for the hospitality.. and specially Garg Sir and Randhawa Sir for making our stay memorable..

Room Tip: It's best to have a corner room at some height :-))... u can have an exotic and lovable view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Timber Trail has 3 parts, a. Resort (which is located right next to the highway) b. Heights c. Moksha the Spa. For us one of the main attractions was the Cable car and the high cost ruled out Moksha.
The Cable car is good and modern, at times the waiting time can be long, but luckily we had virtually no waiting time. Our luggage was swiftly carted to the cable car. The Cable car ride was short and uneventful. However once you land the reminder that you have opted for a cheaper option begins with a separate pathway. This reminder continues throughout your stay, with boards which warn you to keep away. At times, this is accompanied by the feeling that the staff there is constantly keeping a lookout for you, lest you go to the forbidden place.
The rooms at the Heights are average, infact some of the rooms which are on the lower level don’t have a welcoming entrance at all. Rooms have a good view.
Indoor facilities are ok, but outdoor facilities like a Children’s toy train and some rides looked bad. The Café and the store did not inspire too much confidence. In short difficult to spend more than a day at Heights.
The food was decent.
Moksha looks much better, but then I don’t think it is simply worth it.
Lastly I tried to pay by Amex, but the person concerned told me that the transaction was rejected. Well I checked with Amex and they told me that the person did not complete the transaction and he did not enter the nos to complete the transaction. Well was he ignorant. Don’t think so I think the high Amex fee had something to do with it.
My Visa worked fine. But then …

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Parwanoo hotels

Jaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First the positives:
Great location, great views. All rooms have wonderful views. Ride in the cable car was a nice experience with kids. Food was decent. The buffet spread for breakfast was also sufficient.
BUt thats about it. This is my 2nd visit to the property and i was disappointed that the management is doing nothing to upgrade or even upkeep the rooms, services or staff.
The rooms were in similar conditions 4 years from now, only more run down, with old broken fittings. badly maintained floors and still no refrigerator.The extra bed for third person was a folding mattress and had gap when you laid it flat, which gave me a bad back ache the next day. However linen was good quality.
It was extremely pricey for the overall experience considering it was a group booking that had organised an event in the evening. The staff was un-freindly and would not cooperate.

Room Tip: rooms on higher level are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a good short break from mundane when we checked into this resort for a 2 nights stay. The monsoon season was apt for the location. We spent a lot of time on the balcony from where the view of the valley was great. Similar views from the restaurant where you can see the clouds passing by, and walk out into the terrace outside if you want to feel it too. The food was pretty good and so was the service. Overall, a nice experience.

Room Tip: The junior suites are good since they offer a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited Parwanoo in March this year with another family..we were excited after a wonderful drive from Delhi to be at the property. Reached there on time, only to realise that there was a huge qeueu for the cable car - which was the only way to reach the hotel. Also, we realised that there were several private folks also who were waiting to go to the top - only to see the view. While for those staying at the property, the cable car ride was free - only one round trip!! Even though there are two cars, there is no process in terms of who goes first (private people or those staying there)!! It was absolute madness and chaos - we waited for 3.5 hours before we managed to get onto the car. And the worst part was - there was noone at the cable car venue to take care of the guests. Everybody was on their own...no courtesy or hospitality check on any kind of beverage, snack etc. we were not able to reach the property until almost 3 pm, and obviously the buffet was just about getting over! there was zero co-ordination between the hotel staff at the bottom of the hill with the staff at the top, who were supposed to be receiving the guests. This is after it was a fully paid trip and booked a month in advance. The hotel is far from any kind of hospitality treatment and I think right people in the wrong business!!! The property does have a recreation room with a billiard & Table tennis table. It also has a small area where they have a three rides for kids within the age of 3-8. They also have a tennis court, which doubles up as a cricket pitch as well. Other than that there is hardly anything to do at the property. It is a small property - may because they have carved out a luxury resort within the same space, called Moksha, though I dIdn't get a chance to experience their "hospitality, or lack of the same. The food is decent and wouldn't dis-appoint you. The best part of the hotel is its view, and location. Absolutely peaceful and very serene. Thankfully, we were two families with kids of the same age, we were able to enjoy our stay despite the initial goof-ups. Finally, on the last day I think the hotel staff tried to make up and brought two cakes for both the rooms - but while the effort was good; the cakes came at 1:00 am!!!! Neither of us knew what to do, other than accepting the cake with a smile, but this was ridiculous! My recommendation is to avoid the place, unless you don't have a choice. May be a night is more than enough, and you should not try two nights, unless you are a couple trying to get some space. Also, it is pretty expensive for stay and food as well, so beware as it may burn a large hole in your pocket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timber Trail Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Trail Heights

Address: Parwanoo, Parwanoo 173220, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Parwanoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Parwanoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Trail Heights 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located at the foot of the magical Himalyan Mountain Range in Beautiful Himachal Pradesh, at 4500ft, Timbertrail Heights is uniquely accessed by Cable Car, with stunning views of the Shivalik Mountains and a full 30 Km panoramic of India's Majestic Natural Beauty. Families are warmly welcomed, Fantastic grounds and activities available, including children's funfair and picnic area. Feel the Heights!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Timber Trail Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Trail Heights Parwanoo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Trail Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.