We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Camp Experience in a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Forktail Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Forktail Creek
Save
You added Camp Forktail Creek to your Saves list
Village Bhakrakot, P.O. Mohan | Dist. Almora - 244715, Uttaranchal, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A Lovely Camp Experience in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay but it's not for everyone especially if they are expecting a luxurious resort experience. To get to the "Camp" you are met at the bottom of a hill by the Camp's jeeps and at a slow but bouncy ride of about 800 meters you arrive at the entrance to the Camp. It is then a short walk to where you are met and assigned your "mud hut". The "mud huts" are extremely comfortable and very spacious and they all are named after local birds, mine was called Niltava. Because there is no electricity there are solar lamps in each hut and at night it is absolutely essential to either have a flashlight or a miner's headlamp to be able to see the path back to your room. There is solar heated hot water in each room and at night, if it is chilly, hot water bottles are put under the covers to warm up your bed! The chef is able to create amazing meals with limited facilities and the food is always delicious and substantial; if you are a vegetarian you can dine extremely well. I was traveling with a group, there were 8 of us, and the naturalists and drivers were so knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and their eyesight was unbelievable, they could identify a speck on the far side of a river as some type of Kingfisher and when we would look through our binoculars it was then that we could see what they saw. All in all it was a very memorable place to visit and stay and I would go back in a heartbeat. It lived up to every positive review I have read of the Camp.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
angleterre
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

An amazing, eco-friendly experience - we only wished we had planned a longer stay in this peaceful oasis. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, delightful accommodation and good food. We used this as a base for our trips into the Corbett Reserve and can highly recommend it for nature lovers. Our guide from Forktail Creek was oustanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Minakshi and Ritish have carved out a little piece of paradise, and they have taken great pains to maintain an ecologically small footprint and to contribute to the community. Visiting Camp Forktail Creek is an experience my family loved enough to repeat--and we'd do it again at the drop of a hat.

I almost hate to publicize this incredible find and jeopardize my chances of staying there on my next visit to the Himalayas.The setting is spectacular, the lodgings are immaculate and adorned with Minakshi's lovely touches, and every employee is working hard to ensure that every guest has a fantastic trip. Off the beaten path, and no electricity (though you can get laptops and phones charged daily if you like). The excursions into Corbett National Park are terrific, but so is hiking with a naturalist or just lounging in the library, nursing a coffee, and watching the birds and animals passing through.

On our recent trip we found ourselves very envious of the Delhi residents we met who are close enough to come back to Camp Forktail over and over again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremp, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The most fantastic hidden treasure imaginable, beautifully tended camp with the most luxurious and esthetically pleasing accommodation that respects the surrounding nature without compromising your comfort. Enclosed by the lush green jungle you will be taken care by the loveliest people who know the area well, and are able and willing to guide and help you in every possible way! It was an unforgettable experience, and I'm longing to go back with my little boys!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Amazing place , very well managed and great owners. Food is great and accommodation is neat and clean. The place gives you a feeling of staying closest to the nature. The best part is you are away from phone calls and TV .Staff is very friendly and always ready for any kind of help.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Adore this Eco-minded and award winning camp with lovely owners, Minakshi and Ritish, and their excellent staff. Trip of a lifetime #3. They were able to make all the arrangements for an adventure into Jim Corbett National Park with jungle, grasslands, and rivers: a multi day elephant safari (where we had that portion of the national park to ourselves) and a 1-day game drive into Bijrani, and a 3-day game safari into Dhikala--viewing: tigers, many herds of elephants with babies, deer, other animals, and many kinds of birds (kingfishers, bee eaters, storks, cranes, buzzards, egles, owls, etc). Spent several days in camp relaxing and taking guided jungle walks. They no longer have tents, as listed on their website. They have built "mud huts" that are wonderful, with an artist touch, that resumble the Southwestern adobes in New Mexico. When in camp, sat at the campfire under the stars with everyone relating their exciting stories of their adventures that day. It doesn't get any better that this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

What a place!
We arranged everything with Minakshi and she was excellent. Her responses were almost immediate (within 24hr) and I have to apologise to her because she responded to all my emails and changes in our plans.
The pick up, at Haridwar, was perfect and the driver they had arranged was polite and extremely careful - making for a relaxing 5 hour journey.
The camp is wonderful and the hut we stayed in was superb. Far plusher than what we were expecting and our boys loved the fact they could lay on the bed and watch deer, boar, rabbits and all the birds through the window.
Ritish and Minakshi have created a truly wonderful place; both are extremely gracious hosts, who made everything clear and they are a font of knowledge on the wild life and area.
The four days we were there we were assigned a camp guide, who was a local man - 'Harry' - If you read this - 'thanks so much, you were a big part of our family enjoying forktail creek - cheers'. Harry entertained our children, made sure we were comfortable, set up breakfast and lunch when on Safari and was the wikipedia of knowledge when out on safari.
The Safari's are fantastic, so much to see and the camp driver and guide are assisted by a park guide who were all working to find you sightings of different creatures.
Alas - we saw tiger prints but no tiger - although other guests at the camp had seen them that day and on others - However while out with two of the camp guides they pin pointed a leopard (by the warning calls of other animals), which was an amazing site - we wouldn't have seen it without there eyes and guidance.
Sorry, back to the camp -
Food fantastic, especially the paneer masala - best curry I've ever tried. Always plenty for breakfast and lunch when on safari - chef worked hard!
Accommodation - splendid and the lack of electricity added to the charm and character of forktail - It wasn't a hindrance as camp provided plenty of lights and they did have a generator on the periphery that ran a few hours a day - to charge lanterns and guest equipment if required.
Camp - Lots of wildlife, very relaxing, plenty to do.
Staff - very pleasant and polite, they join you at the evening campfire and we had some enjoyable conversations. ALL look after you and you come away feeling like you have made new friends.
Liked it lots - planning our return in 2012, for a longer stay and a few more different things we found out about, from other guests.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Forktail Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Forktail Creek

Address: Village Bhakrakot, P.O. Mohan | Dist. Almora - 244715, Uttaranchal, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Jim Corbett National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Forktail Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.