We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE FOR TIGERS AND THEIR WATCHER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corbett National Park

Corbett National Park
Ramnagar, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Agartala, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE FOR TIGERS AND THEIR WATCHER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

if any one plans a zoo like weekend then this is total dis appointment. this is natural habitat and a lot of patience and time is needed to explore it. dikala area is very good. a two days and one night stay may be fruitful. their are many other interests other than tigers...may be u r lucky one to see them i hv seen and enjoyed it a lot.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    265
    128
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to be close to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Forest rest house(FRH) at Dhikala overlooking Ramganga reservoir is the best place to enjoy Corbett. It is near Dhikala chaur (grassland) and one can enjoy the flora and fauna best staying there. We had booked 3 rooms for two nights at the new forest rest house online at http://www.corbettnationalpark.in (official corbett site). All payments are to be made online. We were two couples and three singles. We had taken Ranikhet express till Ramnagar and waited at the waiting hall at the railway station. Alternatively one can book room at KVM guest house which is very close to Ramnagar office of corbett. We reached Corbett reception office at Ramnagar (2.5 Km from the railway station) which opens at 1030 hrs and got the permits verified. It is necessary to carry all the original ids that have been used for booking. Then we hired a Jeep that charged us all inclusive Rs 5800 for to and fro to Dhikala FRH and 4 safaris inside. Dhikala FRH is about 38 Km from the entrance gate and the gate is 17 Km from the Ramnagar reception office. One must book elephant safari immediately after reaching at the FRH reception. Elephant safari is the best way to go deep inside the chaur. Staying at Dhikala FRH is much more than seeing a tiger. Room are basic but clean. Electric supply is maintained 24X7. Geysers are in working conditions. Room no 1, 2 and 3 have lake view. No TV or phone inside the room. There are two canteens. One serves breakfast (Rs 200 per person), lunch and dinner (Rs 250 per person) (All buffet). They serve only vegetarian food, which are fresh, hot and good. Alternatively, one can have tea anytime at the other canteen and lunch at Rs 150 per plate. Staff and service are satisfactory. No mobile connection except Idea work and that too at only few places. Vodafone/Airtel have very limited connection restricted to 1-2 meter radius outside the guest house. No landline phone is at the FRH. Monkey are there at guest house so one need to be careful. The place has limited facilities still it is best considering one goes to corbett to enjoy nature. If someone wants luxury then all resorts are similar all over the country......why travel to corbett. More photos are at this link http://goo.gl/EvqNxq.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The sheer uncertainty of spotting the big cat makes it a thrilling experience at the Corbett National Park. The Corbett Tiger Reserve, with a density of one tiger per 200 square kilometers, is home to one tiger in every eight spread over the country. While the chances of spotting a tiger are the brightest here, yet it remains onto the Lord of the Jungle to oblige. Thus, we set off for Corbett full of hope – of sighting the tiger in its natural environ. If there are two hundred tigers in this jungle, one could be waiting for us!
This oldest National Park in India was established way back in 1936 as the Hailey National Park with the view to protect the endangered Bengal Tiger. This deciduous forest is a natural habitat of wild animals and nothing is prearranged here – you may or may not sight an animal! Thankfully, out of the four types of antelopes found here, we came across three – the spotted deer, which is the most common; the barking deer, which belongs to the oldest species of deer; and the sambar deer, the largest of them all. We failed to spot the fourth class of deer that of hog deer. In fact, spotting a hog deer is difficult as it ducks under obstacles to cover itself instead of leaping over it like most other deer. Well, to have missed the hog deer may not have been as unfortunate if and only if we could spot the big cat. On this afternoon trail, we spotted some more animals like the wild boar, and some species of monkeys, but the tiger eluded our sight.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“World Class National Park !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The 3 of us on this trip have a an extensive background in the outdoors, wilderness—one of us grew up in remote Alaska and has done safaris/ expeditions in Africa, another of us was a wilderness guide and has trekked around the world, the other is a mountaineer/ winter, solo expedition explorer on 4 continents and is the most traveled of all in the wilderness. We KNOW the outdoors. Corbett is deserving of a world-class status, bar none. Upon entering the park, we were struck by the dense, rich, diverse forest for both flora and fauna. It is clean; it is mostly pristine. The clear water streams and small rivers throughout reveal just how well taken care of the park is. Deer are present in absolutely amazing numbers. The roads had other vehicles, but we never felt like we were in a crowded park, like those in the USA often are. To have an excellent, mature guide, like we did, pointing out things, of course, added to our experience. However, this being one of the last best refuges for the great tiger certainly does enhance its reputation. We saw two tigers, but others were spotted in the very same vicinity of where we stayed. The core area of the park, along the lake and river has some wide-open spaces, grasslands. Here in the grasslands, while parked in one place in the thick of tiger cover, we watched wild elephants, peacocks, eagles, umpteen different other birds, 3 species of deer, monkeys, and wild boar within 20 minutes. We only had 3 nites and wished we could have had at least twice that many.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathura, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reply to Hormadz05”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Corbett N P has many zones and one reserve forest - named Sitabani. To enter Sitabani, no permits or special vehicle is necessary. That is "No Cost incurred". Many tour operators take the tourist for a ride and take them to Sitabani. The Park authorities are aware of that and so have provided these warnings like - "This is not Corbett National Park " etc.

In March 2013, I went to Corbett for 2 days with another family. Somehow, the other guy did not book the permits in advance. So we went to Sitabani with our vehicle - a Tavera. We saw many deer, a Barking deer, couple of jackals. It was at noon. As we had nothing to do, we went to Sitabani once again in evening. Similar observations. At dusk, we listened to the "Call". Call means the specific type of sound made by birds, monkeys and other animals when they spot a tiger. It was a very strong call. Somehow, our friends and driver panicked and were not ready to stay. So we went back to our hotel at approx. 19:30 hrs. There was another group from the same hotel who went to the same spot. They confirmed that they saw a tiger at approx. 19:40 hrs.

We went back to Sitabani early in the morning. But again, no luck.

This January, we went to Corbett once again. We went to Bijrani and Jhirna. But only deer, wild boar (one), barking deers, Jackals etc.. and peacock. Now, I see 15-20 peacocks everyday in my quarter - so no love for peacocks. In hotel (Tusker trail), a boarder had written that he saw a tiger on 04th January, 2014 in Sitabani. My guide (Mr. Ramesh Suyal) confirmed that tigers have been spotted in all the zones including Sitabani.

BTW, I had asked my operator for Jeep safari as well as elephant safari. He initially arranged for elephant safari in Sitabani. After my objection, he changed it to jeep safari of Jhirna.

The basic point is - If one is lucky, he can spot a tiger in any zones of Corbett as well in the reserve forest of Sitabani. But for Sitabani, no cost is incurred. So, many tour operator tries to cheat the tourist by taking the money and then taking them to Sitabani.

It is best to obtain permit from the Govt website (http://corbettonline.uk.gov.in). Regarding the gypsy/ elephant part, one has to arrange it personally and the same is highly negotiable. Same with hotels. My last tour was through a tour operator in Corbett. Later I realized that I have paid approx 35-40% more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbett National Park also viewed

Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
 
Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Corbett National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corbett National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.