We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanghat....a very special, peaceful wildlife retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linger, Vanghat Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linger, Vanghat Lodge
Save
You added Linger, Vanghat Lodge to your Saves list
Marchula, Corbett Tiger Reserve | Ramnagar, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India (Formerly Vanghat Riverine Woods)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vanghat....a very special, peaceful wildlife retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I was very fortunate to visit Vanghat at the start of February 2014, luckily for me I also happened to be the only guest. It is such a wonderful place in truly breathtaking, beautiful surroundings. The staff are all extremely welcoming, friendly and very knowledgable. The search for wildlife was really exciting as there was so much to see. The roar of the tiger while sat next to a bonfire under the canopy of a star filled sky was a highlight for me, an absolute delight. My only regret...... that I couldn't stay longer

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Vanghat offers the most exhilarating wild life experience ! While the property is fantastic with super service from the staff there, it offers more than what meets the eye. Foot trails into the forest area and along the river side, where you could encounter any wild animal (we saw Yellow throated Martins and lots of birds) including the Tiger makes the resort truly amazing. The rooms are fantastic and are extremely comfortable. I would be going back to Vanghat very soon as I love the place !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is one Wonderful place to be one with the nature. The beautiful tranquil Ramganga valley where Vanghat is situated, is picture perfect and surrounded by lush green forest and green hills which are home to hundreds of species of Himalayan birds. Mesmerising view of the river and tweeting of birds makes one feel enchanted. A number of treks that wind their way through the forest and please your eyes with astounding landscapes to thrilling wildlife sightings. It is a place where I saw Otters in the wild, saw eagles & owls hunting for fishes in the Ramganga River. Watching Ghooral coming down the slope of the hill opposite to vanghat to quench its thirst in the river & a pair of Pine Martens following it made my day. In the evening, under the stars, enjoying the warmth of fire & amber liquid, I was listening to the sambhar’s distinctive ‘Ponk’ & tiger’s ‘Roar’. Vanghat you are simply amazing......

Room Tip: Kedar Hut is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Seriously the location is heaven on earth. With the Ramganga river flowing close by and the serenity of the valley, Vanghat is located in the most picturesque spot, a perfect place to get away from the hubbub of the city and be lost amidst the beauty of nature. The cottages and dining area are designed to be simple, elegant, and eco-friendly and suit the taste of nature lovers. If you desire to connect with nature and have peace of mind away from the routine of life, this is the place to be.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A fantastic place, truely wild with an awesome array of birding. I always make a point of staying here for a couple of days whenever I visit India. The food is delicious the staff are knowledgeable and always willing to help, the swimming pool is a cool clear river. My wife, young son and I have had fantastic trips here and always keep coming back. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is perhaps unique within India as one of the most remote and quiet lodges in the country. The birdlife in particular is excellent, and everything you will see will be on foot with almost no disturbance to you or the wildlife, which is a complete turnaround from most of the rat run jeep safaris you get around the world.
Early morning jungle walks, tracking tiger and leopard pugmarks across the river, almost too-close-for comfort snake encounters and regular great hornbill sightings are particular highlights. No matter how long you stay, you won't want to leave!
Nights are pitch black apart from the moon and stars and silent except for the sound of insects and alarm calls. An unforgettable experience for all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The lodge at Vanghat really feels completely different from many of the larger resorts in the Corbett area. Its location is much more remote, set in an otherwise uninhabited part of the river valley in the tiger reserve on the very edge of the park. As the lodge is really close to the river it offers great opportunities to fish and swim in the clear river pools. The wildlife all around is outstanding, we saw tiger pugmarks quite close to the lodges grounds, and heard the deer signalling their presence every night! The staff are great, most are from the area so have tons of local knowledge and we found them friendly and helpful. The cottages are comfortable, nicely spaced and combine traditional building style for a very cozy authentic feel. If you are after great wildlife, genuine peace and quiet and a bit of luxury as well, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linger, Vanghat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linger, Vanghat Lodge

Address: Marchula, Corbett Tiger Reserve | Ramnagar, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India (Formerly Vanghat Riverine Woods)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanghat Lodge is the remotest private property around Corbett N.P. Far from road head, it's perfect for nature lovers. A unique mahseer conservation lodge and an exquisite eco-friendly resort that offers guests a genuine wildlife experience.The lodge offers awe-inspiring opportunities to wild-lifers, birders, anglers, as well as those just looking for relaxing time amidst nature. Catch and release mahseer angling, jungle safaris, experienced and trained naturalists, trained hospitality staff, elephant rides (subject to availability), guided nature walks, bird-watching, a library, guide service etc. Riverine Woods arranges transfers to and from Tiger Camp, Ramnagar in a 4 wheel-drive jeep for its guests. While the camp is open round the year, fishing is closed from 15th June to 30th September each year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linger, Vanghat Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.