We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Darling Residency to your Saves list
Darling Residency
#11/8, Officers Line, Vellore 632 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vellore
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in this area used to be awful by western standards. The Darling hotel and others have raised the standard.

The restaurant is vegetarian like most hotels and restaurants in the area. Good selection - note to self I must learn to eat with my fingers. As I am left handed will probably have to stick to knife and fork

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
4
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went to Vellore to attend a wedding in the peak of summer and booked myself in Darling Residency based on advice of local relatives. Darling residency is nice and clean hotel which was undergoing some renovation work at the time of my visit. The rooms are big and adequate. The staff is courteous and helpful. The breakfast was a delight with local food. The rooftop restaurant offers both veg and non-veg fare with local versions of all the non north indian and chinese dishes. I'm sure, with face lift it's receiving right now, it would be a better hotel in near future. All in all, a decent option for a short stay in Vellore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Uff after so many visits to Vellore for my mom's treatment at CMC where hotels are worse then stables finally I got this one. Best in all regards. Food , room service, staff behaviour everything upto the mark. This year also I am going to make a stay there. Now going to Vellore doesn't give me that worry about a nonsense stay.Thanx to all in Darling Resi. to give such good service. Keep up the good work. Last year May I had been there and hope now also I will be getting the same.

Room Tip: I had in 4th floor the corner one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is in the midst of the town,
in the congested area,
with a narrow entrance, but with a good big car park.
The quality of food is good.
It has a small reception area , and small meeting halls.
Renovation is going on and we can expect a better ambience Later
Hope they shall make the stay also memorable like the food served there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

During my stay I observed rooms are excellent. Rooms have all modern facilities right from Intercom to flat TV. Rooms are have ACs too. Foods are good. Services are excellent. Housekeeping and Cleanliness are excellent. Each floors have wi-fi. Hotel is having three lifts, 2 for public & 1 for their service personnel. Right from entering ( Reception ) to stay & leaving ( Reception ) all fine tuned and smile service.

Room Tip: From Top for scenic beuty enjoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at darling residency at Vellore as we had to attend some wedding in nearby village and this was the closest option. Our booking was done by the person who had arranged for the wedding so we had no clue of it. The hotel is still getting renovated and the room given to us was right in front of the people who were doing the work..So we couldnt even open the curtains and the window panes were broken so we didnt have any privacy. The staff was very horrible and not supportive. Majority of the time they werent around. The rooms were ok with basic amenities but the toilets were horrible.. Not clean at all. Once again no one to respond to the complaint. We had to stay on one night so we somehow managed. Also Vellore doesnt have too many options. The hotel looked like one shabby place and wasnt clean at all... I wouldnt recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is located in front of the busy road in Vellore. There are renovation still going on in this hotel. From the roadside it will looks like the hotel are not completed yet. The rooms are ok with some of the basic facilities such as flat tv screen, safety locker, cupboard, table & chairs.

The restaurant are at the ground floor just opposite the reception. You will get a complimentary newspaper & there will be a bar at the back of this hotel & some space for car parking. There are also halls for wedding or reception functions which can accomodate nearly 100 people.

The price are not so much expensive & it is worth to stay here. The location from this hotel to the temples nearby are not so far. There are also some restaurant & shops just outside this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darling Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Residency

Address: #11/8, Officers Line, Vellore 632 001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Vellore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vellore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Darling Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.