We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to yelagiri with corporate friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aruvi

Hotel Aruvi
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vellore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Aruvi
No.100 White Gate | Yelagiri Hills, Vellore 635853, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Trip to yelagiri with corporate friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My co-worker took the responsibility of booking accomodation in Aruvi hotel in yelagiri. at the first impression of looking at the hotel website i thought its going to be a mediocre hotel with a lodge like appearance. We had a tight budget and most of the confirmed travellers dropped in the last moment. So no other options other than staying in hotel with low budget.
Our agenda is to have a fun drive to yelagiri from chennai, have a barbeque party in the night and return back to chennai next day morning.
Prior intimation was given upon booking that we need camp fire, barbeque place to grill the vegan and non vegan food and good music. We asked for charcoal for the barbeque for which Ravi [caretaker/manager/all in all] said he will try to arrange.
While we started from Chennai in Morning, it was hectic traffic in bangalore highway and crossed vellore in noon. meanwhile my friend kept on enquiring about the charcoal while on the move and Ravi didnt show even a single sign of irritation for calling him multiple times. Fortunately we got the coal in Vaniyambadi and headed straight to hills.
Reached by 1:30 PM, Ravi welcomed us. Took us to the big double room where 6 people can stay [dorm] with single toilet. Neat, clean with a TV. No bed bugs, no stains. Toilet was also maintained clean. hard to find such hotels of that budget.
We headed to Nilavur village for some photography, came back. Ravi helped us to arrange kerosene and bricks for barbeque grill. We opened the boot of our car to play the music voila, the party began. It was cool breezy and little bit of drizzle which didnt dampen our spirits. went to bed.

next day morning six o clock, wake up to hear bird chimes, chirp. Loads of sparrows, bull bull, bablers and other small birds. Perfect for photography. I felt its not the outlook of the hotel that makes name but the caretaker/manager who lends an helping hand for guest and makes the stay memorable.
Food in the inhouse canteen is not that great, but OK kind of food for that value. We all felt happy with the entire trip expenses with loads of memory and fun factor. The location is also apt to take some hill views. All category of guest were there, youngsters, corporate friends, family, elders. next time if I go to this place i will ask ravi to take us for a good trekking spot.

Room Tip: Ravi will help out to identify a room for your need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Hotel Aruvi and the Experience is pleasant as usual and Mr. Ravi never failed to please us again.

My first trip to yellagiri was at Jan 30,2012 it was one of the best season that people should never miss at yellagiri, we reached Hotel Aruvi at the afternoon and there he was Mr. Ravi with a smile received us and shown our room, it was such a good room with neat bathroom with 24 hrs heater and the room where so chill, we never dare to use the Fan the entire trip and at the night we can had a good look at the stars over the hotel roof. During our stay it happens to be so chill and we were hesitating to venture out, Mr. Ravi was kind enough to provide us a jerkin to go out. We were really felt that we were in our very own home. while returning to chennai,Mr. Ravi provided us a nursery plant to take home.

Our Second trip was at Aug 12,2012, we fixed to go to Hotel Aruvi again , there is no doubt in that. There he was waiting with smile again and received us. The hotel had improved a lot than our previous visit and now you could see fishes in the entrance and a new restaurant ( during our last visit it was different restaurant) and this time Ravi had managed to provide us a trip to the view point which he had promised the last time we came over. it was a beautiful view that should not be missed when we go to yellagiri. (sorry ravi, can't keep myself quite about the beautiful experience that you had provided us, just want everyone to feel it)

overall its was yet another pleasant stay at Hotel Aruvi

Room Tip: You will get the rite room once the staff sees you , he will provide the room with respect to our ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was my first trip to Yelagiri. I was not pretty much sure how the hotel service will be . When I stepped in to the hotel that was the experience you will be feeling that you are at home. Mr.Ravi made my trip to be a great time to remember. Yes. his service is excellent and the food in that hotel is brilliant. As I said I loved yelagiri Trip as well as Hotel Aruvi.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are 5 guys stayed in Aruvi Hotel in the month of Aug 2012. It’s very good place to stay, we have enough of free space in and around the hotel. Hotel manager Ravi is very friendly. I was amazed with his service, He speaks good English. I got a minor injury in my finger, he went out and got a bandage for me at night 10 PM. We get homely Food.

Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I visited Yelagiri on Aug 04 2012 and stayed with my family. Though the hotel ambience doesn;t look attractive, hotel rooms were very clean. Staff Ravi was extermely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. My son was unwell and vomitted in the blanket. A call to Ravi, he was there in an instant, replaced the blanket with smiling face despite being a late night.

Food was prepared in a homely fashion and served on demand to the room. I defnitely recommend this hotel for quality in cleaniness, hygenic and being customer friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed together with my girlfriend for two nights at Hotel Aruvi, The staff (e.g. Ravi) was very friendly, helpful, spoke good English and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He also gave us a ride on his motorbike to the base of Swamimalai hill which was very helpful.
As the hotel is very new some decoration still is missing and inside it has some kind of a swimming pool charme with all the tiles around. However, we've been told that this is going to be changed soon.
In a whole we can really recommend staying at Hotel Aruvi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We're group of 5 friends stayed for a night. We really liked our stay in this stay. Friendly reception, spacious large & clean room/bathroom, easy to find on the main road, good parking space, reasonable tariff... restaurant was closed on that weekend so can't comment on that. there are lot of family/children as well staying in the nearby rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aruvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruvi

Address: No.100 White Gate | Yelagiri Hills, Vellore 635853, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Vellore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty lodging in Vellore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aruvi with boarding and lodging facilities was recently opened in yelagiri hills,which is located at an altitude of 1410 metres above mean sea level. All the rooms are well furnished,well maintained and will ventilated.• 30 Well furnished rooms.• classic A/C Rooms (with two double bed)• Deluxe A/C Rooms (with single double bed)• Dormitory (with three double bed)• cottage (Leena cottage with three master bed rooms, guest room and Kitchen Attached) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aruvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aruvi to your Saves list