We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silent Waters Retreat

Silent Waters Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vellore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silent Waters Retreat
Save
You added Silent Waters Retreat to your Saves list
Athanavur | Yelagiri Hills, Vellore 635853, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went to this place as a small group (2 families) about 4 months back. I would say it's a perfect place for a weekend/long weekend break when you get really tired with your regular routine. Rooms are compact but yet comfortable (works well for the price we paid). Although this is right on the main road, you don't feel that once you get inside the property. There are lots of trees and plants inside the premise which gives a different feel to this place, There's not a whole lot to do inside the property but it could be fun if you go as a large group. We basically wanted a short and quite break. "Silent Waters Retreat" offered us that. Food was pretty decent and hospitality was great. I found food to be little expensive - Food could have been priced a little better (you pay extra for the food).

Hoping to go there one more time when the right opportunity comes along.

Room Tip: Choose the one next to the pond. It has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We traveled as two family groups from Chennai and Bangalore during September 2012, to Silent Water after selecting it by reading online reviews.
In the end it was a not to regret decision as the whole family ranging from 5 yrs to 70 yrs enjoyed the two day stay.
Some observations
Rooms were clean and spacious, but could have been better maintained.
Ambiance was great with the greenery in the property.
Food was homely and timely
Staff were friendly and courteous
There was a Surprise element for the kids which i will let remain as a surprise..

A good get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had booked a double bed room at the hotel,which was good.It had all the normal facilities except a telephone.The food was excellent.It was just like our home food and my son enjoyed it a lot.The badminton court and the indoor games area was good.Overall it was a pleasant stay at the silent waters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was a great stay with family in Silent Waters Retreat. Awesome home made food and very cordial staff. Enjoyed the badminton and the campfire ! The rooms could have been made a little better - overall nice play to stay in Yelagiri !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was really an excellent stay at the resort Silent water retreat.The green environment and hospitality of the hosts were excellent.It is a very good place for relaxation from the busy city life.Food was also good.And the rate seems to be good.Love this place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

its gr8 place to stay in yelagiri..good food..power bk up..gr8 service...nice location for family and couples..good view of the pond near by..the buildings can be made to look better ..under construction..and garden can be well maintained ...over lil improvements can mk this place heaven ...otherwise gr8 to stay ..must stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Had an opportunity to stay at Silent Waters Yelagiri with my family along with my freinds family for a couple of days. Words dont describe the environment prevailing there along with the greenery.
You have to search your cottage amidst Greenery and all it was in the middle of an excellent Orchard. Jackfruit, Gooseberry, Pepper, Guava, Mango, Betel vines and what not ?
Added to this , I would say Silent Waters serves the Best Food in Yelagiri. The people are courteous and all the way thru our stay all the staffs including the owner was easily approachable.
Even though we had a food package, it was flexible as per our choice and not as per the Conventional AP,EP, CP plans.
The icing on the cake was the great Campfire alongwith Karoake which will pull all the guests together to enjoy their evening

I have visited a lot of place in South Indian Hill Resorts and this one is easily rated at the top.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silent Waters Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Waters Retreat

Address: Athanavur | Yelagiri Hills, Vellore 635853, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Vellore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Vellore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silent Waters Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.