We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you have settled in....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Kut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shantaa Koh Kood
Save
You added Shantaa Koh Kood to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   25/2 Moo 1 Aao Tapao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Dublin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Once you have settled in....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Shantaa is great, don't hesitate to book in. Koh Kood is a sleepy island, there is nothing at all to do, so make sure this is what you are looking for and then Shantaa won't disappoint. The first few minutes are a bit unsettling. Everyone is very serene, we were thinking it was going to be more like a yoga entreat, but then we got settled into the slow pace of life, rented scooters and literally pottered around for a week. We checked out all the other resorts and were happy with our choice - well, soneva turned us away at the gate but that's probably because brangelina might have been in residence, or rod Stewart or someone equally famous.. Anyway, the Shantaa team are wonderful, the food is superb, yes the beach at the resort itself is tiny and facing the pier but Koh Kood is an island full of empty beaches. For those who absolutely want to tumble from hut to sea, then maybe find an alternative, but the stunning views and fantastic rooms and bathrooms of Shantaa more than make up for having to walk 100m to the huge long beach. Long live Shantaa, and hopefully Koh Kood won't go the same way as Koh Chang....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
155
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

So very grateful to Tripadvisor and all of the reviewers for steering us towards our decision to stay at Shantaa. What a special place!
The resort manager, Fon, and her team were so very attentive, friendly and courteous. The Shantaa website states that the staff are not professionals, but they sure do a wonderful job making the guests feel at home. Keep up the "unprofessional" job!
The suite was absolutely spotless and comfortable, and the outdoor garden bathroom was amazing. I wasn't sure how I would take to an outdoor bathroom. Our suite bathroom was so private, spacious and beautifully designed. It was an exhilarating experience just to have a shower!
And then there was the food... oh my! Shantaa has an extensive menu at extremely affordable prices and the food was scrumptious! Mealtime was a highlight of our trip.
Another nice thing about Shantaa was that no one rushes you. It is such an intimate resort that if you want to linger over dinner, it's not a problem. There is no stress here.
It does take some doing to get to Shantaa, but it was worth every mile. We do hope to do it again, someday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After taking the night bus from Bangkok to Trat, being jipped by a song theow driver and being abandoned at the laem sok pier at 4am, and then being told that we may not be able to take the 9 am speedboat to Koh Kood, we actually began to question whether we'd made the right decision to go to such a far away island. Shantaa had better be worth it.

Post sunrise and with the satisfaction of knowing that we were going to be on the first boat out, things seemed to be looking up. The journey from Laem Sok to the Shantaa pier took exactly an hour and was stunning. Once you reach, the pier can be a bit of an eyesore but only just. The water was clear blue and Shantaa from the pier was beautiful. Once you're within the resort compound you're transported to a lush paradise and everything sort of feels irrelevant. We instantly fell in love with the place.

We stayed in Villa 1, the furthest away from the beach but also one of the most private. As it was the last villa on the path nobody ever walked past it. Perched almost at the edge of the hill, it had spectacular views of the rocks, ocean and the magnificent sunset. We actually enjoyed the walk to the beach through the entire property. The open plan bathroom was so charming, with an outdoor coconut shower and lush foliage. Decorated with strings of coral, it almost felt like being underwater. For the faint at heart, there is a covered shower as well, and a really good one at that. The room itself was very pretty and airy. My only gripe was that there wasn't enough space for suitcases Everything else was very well thought out. Supremely comfortable beds, a lovely balcony with lounge chairs to enjoy the view, a music system. Perfect for a beach holiday away from it all.

As stated in the other reviews, Shantaa's actual beach is small and looks right onto the pier but you only have to walk a few 100 yards and you find yourself on a long stretch of white sand and crystal blue waters. If you only have a couple of days on hand, this beach is adequate. For most of the day you'll feel like you're on your own private beach.

Food here was excellent. Fresh, flavorful with a focus on the local cuisine. The Som Tam and Thai Curries were outstanding. The beach bar was really cute and very well equipped.

Shantaa is all about the little details. A welcome drink and cold towel on arrival, informing you 5 minutes before your food arrives at the beach bar so you can ready yourself for the feast, always smiling and always helpful, the staff are amazing. Everything about it is quaint. This isn't a 5 star and isn't trying to be, but everything is so well thought out and personal, it might as well be. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We actually preferred the Villas as they are further apart from each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here in both Koh Kood and Shantaa. First time was exactly one year ago. My hubby and I often go to Phuket, koh Samui, Bali type of places when we want a relaxing vaca to chill by the pool, looking over the sea, stroll around the local area...etc. My husband decided to surprise me last year to bring me somewhere without telling me where it is, so from Bangkok we took a 7 hours transportation (combination of mini-van and speedboat) to this mystery island. I did not do well at the speedboat(it was about 1.5 hr ride), so when I arrived I was already pretty cranky. Then we got to our "sweet" and I really upset: small room, not a close sea view, no pool...(basically everything the previous reviewer has pointed out). I was so upset we immediately set out to check out other places to stay at instead. There were places like Peter Pan and tinker bell that has amazing beach but rooms not so pretty. We also saw Charm which was still developing, the rooms seems nice but at the end we decided to not to waste money and stick with Shantaa. I can't tell you when exactly this place has finally won my heart over and became a place I just want to come back to again and again. Was it the excellent quality linen and tasteful decor, the beautiful bath area, the amazingly authentic Thai cuisine (amazing breakfast also!), friendly staff (even though many are not good in English they try their best to serve), after all, maybe it's the peaceful atmosphere that I don't seem to be able to find anywhere else. It's really just a gem and I sincerely hope that both Shantaa and Koh kood can stay the way they are as long as possible.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere really special during our travels in Thailand, and also somewhere relatively unspoiled by tourism. We found both here.

It would be a shame to stay here if you are not really looking for what is offered by Shantaa or Koh Kood, so it may help to state what some may consider negatives:

-This is not a corporate 4/5* hotel
- It does not have 24hr room service
- It does not have a pool
- It does not have a gym
-The air con doesn’t operate during the day
-It does not have TVs in the rooms and internet is hit and miss
-There is no ‘entertainment’ in the hotel and no nightlife nearby
-Koh Kood is undeveloped compared to many other Thai islands and does not have the resources to provide what would be expected elsewhere; constant air con and swimming pools. You won't find an ATM or a single chain shop (take enough cash).
- And yes, Shantaa is next to the main island pier (I have only included this point as so many reviewers seem to see this as such a big negative. There are plenty photos to allow you to make your mind up. We quite enjoyed watching the occasional comings and goings on the pier. It wasn’t built to be pretty for tourists, it was built to service the needs of the islanders.)

What it is:

If the above does not read as a list of negatives to you then you will find Shantaa is a heavenly place. With 15 stylish villas set in extensive grounds, I think the generosity of space has a lot to do with the relaxing atmosphere here. The owners could probably fit 3 times as many guests into the grounds but it would become a ‘resort’ with a very different vibe. We had a ‘Sweet’ which was very well designed and I loved the outdoor bathroom. All rooms have ipod docks. The food in the restaurant was consistently excellent and the menu has a really good choice. There is a great little beach bar/cafe where you also get your free kayaks and snorkeling equipment. Mopeds are available for hire at 400 thb/day. The beach on the Shantaa side of the pier is small but all you have to do is duck under the pier and you are are on a long, deserted beach. You will find you have no need for a pool. Koh Kood has many gorgeous beaches but we did not see a hotel to beat Shantaa for style, ambience and space. You can travel to any beach you like quite easily on a moped, but this is the place I would want to come back to. Traveling creates memories and Shantaa is now a very fond memory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As we pulled into Shantaa on the speedboat, my partner and I said, "That looks nice!" and then were pleasantly surprised to realise that it was our accommodation. The resort is beautifully set out in large gardens which overlook the sea and the villas feel really private. There are some sitting out areas and a small beach and, at the other side of the public pier, a beautiful beach which is really quiet and unspoiled. At most there were no more than 6 other people on it! The food was fantastic at Shantaa, especially the jumbo prawns, calamari and crab and we were able to find enough variety for our 5 nights. It's worth hiring a scooter to get out and explore the island as it is incredibly beautiful and unspoiled.The slight drawbacks are that it is quiet in the evenings and the public pier is not the prettiest but we actually enjoyed watching some local life as the boats came in.

Overall, we thought that considering the location and the quality of food, it was excellent value for money .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I don't even no what to say. This is my favourite place in Thailand. I have been travelling over 2 monts in Thailand now and see very beautiful places. But there is no place like Shantaa! Staff here is so amazing. Place is so peaceful and beautiful. They take a good care of it and work hard. Just love it! Thank you Shantaa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Address: 25/2 Moo 1 Aao Tapao, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shantaa Koh Kood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.