We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KohJum Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added KohJum Resort to your Saves list
KohJum Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   237 Moo 5 Kohsriboya, Nuaklong | Krabi, Ko Jum 81130 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer !!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Jum
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to stay a few days on a quiet Thai island....
and the KohJum Resort fit the bill perfectly. It is a small
place, with the bungalows looking right down on the beach
and Andaman Sea. The staff are fabulous, friendly,
warm and helpful. We kind of felt like we were part of the
family. In fact, on our last night we were invited to join a
party put on by the staff for a number of guests who were returning for the 3rd
or 4th time.

We loved the restaurant setting, again looking right over the
water and beach. The beach isn't wonderful; there are better beaches elsewhere on
the island, so we rented scooters and went out to find beaches.

There is a very nice small swimming pool; the beach bar is delightful;
and, much to our surprise given the reports, we had no mosquitoes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older, smaller bungalows right overlooking the sea. While they are older and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
15
65
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hundslund, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Koh Jum Resort. Nice and clean - very spacious bungalows, great bathroom tub - with the view directly to Andaman Sea - fantastic !! We spent 4 days - lovely days, nice staff - very fresh food (If you really want to indulge yourselves - ask Watchara (chef in restaurant) to set up a menu for you - we did - and it was delightfull :-) Nice Place at all, for some 3-4 days - very authentic Thai Island and life - relaxed, lot of monkeys around, we loved their morning and evening singing: wut wut wut - sometimes they went dancing on the top of the roof at the bungalow, very nosy - but also very funny!
Koh Jum is a tiny Island, no cars - no ATM - dirt roads - you can rent motorbikes, take care around, roads are hard to drive, take care of monkeys, dont carry food along walking/driving around - the Beach is a bit rocky, but acceptable for a swim, the resort has a small swimmingpool, nice overlooking the sea - all in all nice place, a bit expensive

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Acess to the resort was by longboat, so you really feel you are arriving on a desert island. The bungalows are spread around the hillside, with fantastic views over the ocean. There is a super little pool and the beach is clean and exclusive to the resort.
The personnel couldn't do enough for us during our stay, and were very friendly. The manageress especially was wonderful, with a fantastic sense of humour.
This really is a little paradise, where you can come to relax and unwind. We stayed in a bamboo hut where we quickly became friends with the local lizards who are great at eating the mosquitos!

Room Tip: The bamboo huts are more basic than the wooden huts, so be warned that bugs/mosquitos come in and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and found the resort very nice. I would recommend it for a few days maximum as there are limited things to do on the island.

Positives:

Great location
Amazing views from balcony
Food nice
Excellent wifi

Negatives:

Doors and windows did not close properly so lots of flies got in our room (reported but not sorted)
A little dirty in places especially under the cabins.
Allowing tied up monkey into the swimming pool (on lead and attended but not the point).
Staff did not keep busy and spoke to each other rather than doing the little jobs that would make this place a real gem (clean leaves from pool, litter pick beach and perhaps even waiter service as its such a small resort and such a steep walk back to the bar from the beach)

Anyway had exactly what I wanted from our stay which was a very relaxing start to my mini island hop.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

An amazing two days spent at Koh Jum resort. We stayed in the teak wood villa which was very spacious, clean and had a great view of the sea. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely thanks to the chef who always made sure the food tastes just right before sending it out. The resort itself is located on the best part of the beach with great snorkling. Definitely more of a couplese resort than family. The only thing I would suggest is that the resort invest in some scooters to explore the island with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

spacious villas located at close to the beach, no more than 50m away. some located up the hill, our top most villa required to climb approx. 60 steps from the beach. staff was very helpful, excellent food at the restaurant especially the green papaya salad (not on the menu and chef's selection every night (red snapper fillet with creamy mushroom sauce was just excellent). the only disadvantage was the distance from the village, on the other hand the place is isolated and very calm. the muddy road leading to the village was very slippery after the rain.

Room Tip: Beuatiful location, helpful staff, excelent dining (chef's menu)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked two nights at Koh Jum Resort through Agoda.com in October 2012 2½ months before our trip. This was supposed to be a perfect getaway from Bangkok to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday.

Two days before arriving at Koh Jum Resort we wrote an email to them to make sure they would pick us up in a longtail from the ferry, but heard nothing back. They however were there to pick us up. When we arrived at the resort they were very sad to tell us that they had mixed up our booking. They thought they had cancelled our booking, but apparently forgot. This is of course unacceptable. They then offered us free lunch and to help us find another place to stay.

The manager however insisted on taking us to Andaman Resort, and did not let us check out other resorts. The reason the manager insisted on taking us to Andaman, was that she was friends with the manager there. Andaman is however probably one of the worst hotels I have ever seen.

Due to the poor management of Koh Jum Resort we spend most of my girlfriend's birthday looking for accomodation.

You should therefore contact the resort directly to have your booking confirmed as an Agoda receipt and payment apparently is not enough with the poor management of Koh Jum Resort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KohJum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KohJum Resort

Address: 237 Moo 5 Kohsriboya, Nuaklong | Krabi, Ko Jum 81130 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ko Jum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KohJum Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your KohJum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohjum Hotel Koh Jum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KohJum Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.