We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Jum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows
Save
You added Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows to your Saves list
Kidon Beach, Ko Jum, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Ko Jum B&B and Inns
New York, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our first stop ever in Thailand's Islands and I consider us incredibly lucky. The warm welcoming you receive by Valerie when you walk up the stairs makes you feel like you've just arrived at home. The wildly beautiful surroundings/landscaping make it feel like you've arrived on your own private island. There is so much attention to detail in each of the bungalows, the restaurant, relaxation decks, bar....and the list goes on. Valerie is a wonderful woman who always makes sure everything is just right. Her crew is outstanding; so friendly and concerned about your comfort. Although the beach directly in front of the resort can get be rocky it is fun for snorkeling (equipment provided at no extra charge) or you can walk just a bit down the beach for perfect swimming space.

We can't say enough about this wonderful place and can't wait to plan our next visit.

Room Tip: For just a few baht more the sea view bungalows aren't a bad way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent , delicious, clean, friendly, Family Business!

Funny People who know what Service means!
Perfect Bungalows for a very Good Price!

I've Never Seen auch a Professional Kitchen in Thailand!

Hope See you again sometimes! We will for Site come back to Koh Jum! Wish you a Nice Holiday too

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were planning to stay at Oon Lee for 5 nights, reservation and transportation advice all worked out very well. You can see that the place was built with a lot of love. So much effort put into little details, you can feel it. We were staying in one of the simpler bungalows with sea view, no air condition, just a mosquito net and a fan. It was quite hot during our stay and we were sweating pretty hard as we were spoilt by air conditions at our previous stays.

Things you should know:
- yes, there will be at least geckos in your room, but they eat all the mosquitos and bugs
- yes, there are some cracks in the floor, "things" could get into your room - we were sleeping with open windows and never had a problem at all. first two night we were a little bit freaking out about this fact, but hey, you are on a small island with no major resorts and thousands of tourists - it is worth it.
- yes, the beach right in front is rocky - if you expect a white sandy beach a la Railay, go somewhere else. (you need to walk a few minutes to get to a more sandy area) - there are definitely nicer beaches out there --> go on a island tour, you can rent the longtail boat with a driver from the resort
- yes, the food is more pricey than e.g. eating at the nightmarket in Krabi, BUT the food is ALWAYS excellent, tasty and you ARE on an island with no major grocery strore or anything around. (a bottle of water is 35 baht, a can of beer around 70).

If you can deal with all of the above, this is your perfect stay. Cozy, family run, warm and welcoming atmosphere, relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our time at Oon Lee Bungalows. It's a little haven - very relaxing and peaceful. From the second you arrive you are made to feel very welcome by Valerie, who greets you on first name terms. The warmest reception we've had anywhere. Valerie works so hard, and her staff do a fantastic job supporting her.

The bungalows are beautiful - quite cosy but you don't spend a lot of time indoors. Mosquito nets are thankfully provided. You are basically in the wild here. You can hear all the bugs, geckos, and occasionally monkeys. This wasn't a problem for us but not for the faint hearted. The resort is set in beautiful gardens, on a steep hill. At the bottom it says 26.5 steps to heaven, you just know how much pride Valerie and Oon take in this place from the very moment you arrive!

During the day we explored nearby, and stayed around the resort just soaking in the peaceful atmosphere and reading. You do have to walk a little to get to a sandy beach, but you can snorkel from just outside the front entrance, if you are careful of the rocks. Valerie explains this to you when you arrive though. Lots of lovely little decked areas looking out to sea, and you can watch a great sunset at the bar. Great location! We didn't really explore the rest of the island just e closest beaches, as it was so hot. But heard lovely things about the rest of the island. You can borrow snorkelling gear for free, hire kayaks for next to nothing, and Valerie and Oon also arrange trips as well!

The food is lovely, we tried something different most evenings, I really enjoyed the pad thai for lunch and the curries were fab - REALLY fresh ingredients! Very impressive. I would say there's lots of lovely (possibly western) touches to the way in which Valerie runs this place. (She is originally from France). These are cloth napkins with your dinner, flowers on the bed when you arrive, a huge array of books magazines and games in the restaurant/ lounge area - all of these things make it feel very homely and gives it great character.

I know Valerie goes well out of her way to help guests with special requests, but we didn't have any ourselves.

Would definitely revisit Oon Lee!!! Thank you Valerie. Sarah & Iain

Room Tip: I'm sure any rooms are great! However there are quite a lot of steps, so perhaps ask for a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed in 2 Bungalows for 4 nights on koh jum and would have happily moved there for good. Valerie and her staff have been the most accomodating Hosts we have ever come across in asia, and the facilities are charmingly decorated with a lot of thought and style. Daily Specials are ALWAYS a good choice, and Special wishes are accomodated (no carbs ;-)). also not to miss are the massages, as was the snorkeling trip.
Sundowners down by the shore are a must before dinner.
Valerie, we thank you for the great stay with all our heart - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva York, Nueva York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Accomodations are very clean and well-managed. The steep stairs are more than three times the 26 steps to paradise they announce at the bottom. There is really no beach to speak of in this property but granted, there are some very nice beaches in Koh Jum Island. The coast here is rocky and you will have to walk on rocks to board/unboard your boat. Some nice tide pools but very few animals to see in them, unfortunately. The price-to-quality ratio is very good. The food is absolutely splendid. The menu is limited but every dish is top. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well kept with nice view of the secondary forest that surrounds them and a glimpse of the ocean down below. The owners are VERY hard working, very helpful and hospitable and will go out of their way to improve your experience.

Room Tip: Try to select a room with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg (Elbe), Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was one of the best Accomodation we had on our Thailnd Trip. The owerns are very friendly and helpful. It is a small resort with really nice and clean Bungalows. We had a relaxed time there and great food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows

Address: Kidon Beach, Ko Jum, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Jum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Koh Jum Oon Lee Bungalows Hotel Koh Jum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.