We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Phang Nga Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phang Nga Bay

Phang Nga Bay
Ao Phang Nga National Park, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit Phang Nga Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$119*
and up
Canoe Cave Explorer Phang Nga Bay Tour from Phuket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phang Nga is famous for spectacular scenery with limestone cliffs rising out of green water. There are caves, lagoons and tiny secluded beaches awaiting discovery.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time at Phang Nga Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just awesome views and great place to get a sense of authentic Thailand. Very warm people who are incredibly helpful.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    210
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Picton, NSW
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for a day trip ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a day trip with Phuket Sail Tours around these waters and beaches.
Water quite warm this time of the year but quite clean for Thailand.
So many beautiful places to see and explore. Would be an amazing place to sail around for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Stunning…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've done three trips here this year (private vessels), the backdrop and scenery here have to be seen to be believed, rugged terrain combined with the sea make a great contrast.

It's a National Park so fees are payable, I believe most operators include these in the price of the Tour. During the day we had the opportunity to snorkel in some quiet bays there was plenty of fish and the water was clear.

Also available for hire were kayaks by the hour and joyriding on jet skis. Catering was done aboard though there are several restaurants located around the area.

Take a camera.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great sightseeing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Phang Nga bay is mainly a sightseeing tour. The water in most parts of the bay is brown in color, not suitable for swimming. Canoeing inside the caves should not be missed especially in bat cave where you have to lie down in the kayak in order to enter the lagoon. The water should be on a low tide too. The mountain-sized islands are also good to see. The famous James Bond Island is always full of tourists and is good for picture-taking. We do kayaking in Naka Island while some tourists had swimming. The water is not clear still. On our way back to the pier, there appears numerous black birds flying behind our boat in response to the sounds (call) made by our boatmen. It was amazing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked through Easy Day Thailand and did a private Phang Nga Bay tour. I highly recommend this company and have written a review already for them.

Phang Nga Bay is absolutely beautiful and I personally think that James Bond island is overrated. Don't get me wrong, it's definitely worth a visit but there are so many other amazing islands that just leave you awestruck I can't even decribe it.

The whole national park is definitely a natural beauty!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phang Nga Bay also viewed

Ao Phang Nga National Park, Phang Nga Province
Thalang District, Phuket
 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Phang Nga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phang Nga Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.