We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Irente View Cliff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lushoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irente View Cliff Lodge
Save
You added Irente View Cliff Lodge to your Saves list
Irente View Point, Lushoto, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When we arrived, they took us to a room with no sheets on the bed. So then they took us to a different room with a view that wasn't quite as good as the first room. There were no towels in that room. The place seemed empty and when I asked if we were the only two there, the manager said yes, but it turns out there were two other guests. We ate dinner there, and it was fine. Breakfast was standard fare with some really nice fruit. My friend had booked the room for $50 a night, bit when we went to check out, they said it was $80 a night. After much arguing and a call to the owner in Dar, they said we could pay $70. The manager who booked the room for $50 no longer works there. I hear managers change every few months. The worst part was the very loud barking dogs that barked all night long both nights we were there. I believe they belong to the lodge, so they should be able to keep them quiet. I was unable to sleep for the noise in what should be a very quiet and peaceful spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Most people have to walk to this beautiful view point. We stayed here and virtually had the view to ourselves especially at sunset which was magnificent. All rooms (regardless of rating) have balconies looking out over the plains and at the magnificent cliffs. We were very well looked after by the staff and the food was good. There aren't many other places to eat in Lushoto. Great breakfast! It would be good if there were more information on what to do in the area-maybe maps of possible walks would be good. Overall though it was a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Standard rooms have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The lodge: a rough 6 km gravel road leads us to the lodge and the view is mind blowing…. You see over a 1000 m down onto the Massai plains, We were on safari with our 4x4 land rover with roof top tent so we asked if we could camp there. No problem. They let us park in the Parking lot facing the vast beautiful valley. (We were the only vehicle there) Incredible view. We found the staff very friendly and willing to help us whenever possible. They allowed us to wash our Rover. The lodge is clean and inviting. Locals were very friendly from the small village nearby. They came and sold us Bananas. Others offered us a tour through the village to a view point. Beware: Ask how much it cost before you go so you get no surprises. It was a good tour but a little pricy. Such a pieceful looking mountain side village and yet in the evening music was blaring from 2 huge speakers coming from a hair salon. Just crazy. The music went on till 11pm. I was going to complain but I thought if other villagers are not complaining then I won’t either. Over all a great place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Very good location, clean, tasty and good food. Friendly staff especially when we had our one year old with us. Clean and good room service, spacious, kettle, small tv, tea n coffee. Balcony with chairs facing the mountains. U can sit outside with a binocular n enjoy most of the birds n butterflies.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went for lunch to this hotel and were considering staying here in Lushoto, but after the lunch service we decided it was a straight no! When we got to the hotel all the staff at reception (5-6 in total) were all watching TV and no one greeted us or welcomed us into the hotel. At this point we thought we should just walk out but were quite hungery. We had to ask for menus a reluctantly a staff member gave us some. The TV watching continue! Eventually one member of our party (we were a party of 6) went up to the staff and said, look we are here to spend money do you want our business or do you want to continue watching TV? At that point they started to get the message a little. However the whole lunch service was poor- could give us the right number of glass/cutlery etc. The food was not bad.
We asked to see the manager whom we were told was not around. When we asked for his number the staff refused point blank.
The view here is great, the hotel could be a whole load more but staff are just terrible- I have lived and travelled around Tanzania and this type of no interest from staff is not normal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we highly recommend this place, we have been here twice and plan to go again soon. Mr. Msuya and his team are very welcoming. Suggest you book this place well in advance if you plan to go over christmas or easter holidays as it gets fully booked during these holidays. Spectacular views around this place.

The irente farm is a walkable distance away, you can choose to go there one day to experience their organic lunch but otherwise the food served at Irente View cliff lodge is tasty food. Both times when we went there the lodge was full so they were serving BUFFET lunch & Dinner to accomodate the many guests.

we have been to this place for 4 nights each time and always wished we could stay longer. Calm, peaceful, and serene. you can book excursions to the waterfallls or trek through the magamba forest during the mornings when its nice and cold and relax in the afternoon /evenings.

we will be back soon !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We really wanted to love this place. We wanted a spot to just hang out and relax after all the thrills and busy activity of our wildlife safari. The bus ride from Arusha was pretty brutal (though we did get some great views of Mt. Kilimanjaro!) and we needed a spot to recuperate and update our journals.

We didn't get timely responses to our emails, so I called and asked about available rooms. The manager told me they did have a room at the superior rate. I said OK. I then got an email from the woman who is something like an assistant manager. She told me they had both regular and superior rooms. Being on a budget, we opted for the regular.

When we arrived, the nice young woman seemed very confused. Eventually she consulted with the manager and he, very chidingly, told me I had reserved a superior room and that is what they prepared. I told him about the followup email and pointed out he didn't tell me about the availability of a less expensive room. I think we were discussing $65 versus $80... kind of premium rates for a hotel in an out of the way place in Tanzania.

Inexplicably, the manager returned and informed us he was giving us the superior room at the rate of a single rather than double - $60. He seemed upset about it.

For the remainder of our stay - 2 days and nights - he refused to even say hello when we crossed paths. He is a strange man... old suit and a baseball cap. He seemed to kind of watch us whenever we were out at the garden tables or in the lobby/restaurant/bar area. Once I saw him down on a flat space below the hotel about 50 yards away... some kind of expansion going on... standing and watching me intently on our balcony. Just kind of creepy.

We were the only guests, which made it even more difficult. The staff would come to our room and ask us to place our restaurant orders ahead of time and set a time to be served. The breakfast was sad... no cocoa, no jelly... coffee, tea, egg and toast. The dinner was OK, but in another example of good-hearted but poorly trained "service" - the power went out. The dining room has no windows - odd given the excellent views all around - so it was very, very dark. Kind of romantic - two old Idiots holding hands. But the staff, even when they did find flashlights, did not check on us for the first 10 minutes or so. We just sat there.

The manager never showed up, so the three staff seemed to be pretty much on their own. They speak little English, so it was impossible for us to find out what was happening. They eventually brought us a candle, and after some time the generator was fired up and we were able to get some dinner.

We were pestered by one of the young men working on the gardens with numerous offers to take us on hikes. "No" just didn't seem to work, even when I explained Idiot She was injured and we just needed to rest. When we walked around the grounds, we were followed. When I walked the 100 yards or so out to the point, I was followed and it was suggested I should be "guided" with a fee expected. It was all kind of pathetic, like this nice hotel with its beautiful building in a beautiful setting couldn't get enough trade to support the staff and they were desperate for tips.

And I caught one of the guys from the outdoor staff watching us multiple times during our stay, hanging around the lobby windows, peaking around a corner, watching from outside the glass door... and this is a tourist destination, not someplace where a couple of wazungu are such a novelty.

So... incredibly beautiful setting, nice room, great views from the balcony, peaceful... and poorly trained staff and a creepy manager. I think if the place had a few more people staying, we might have enjoyed our time more and not felt quite so much "in the fishbowl." Glad we went... glad we spent one night... wish we'd switched to The Lawns in town for two nights instead of one.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a great view - but it is down a rocky valley, not the sweeping views out into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irente View Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irente View Cliff Lodge

Address: Irente View Point, Lushoto, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lushoto
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irente View Cliff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.