We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would consider returning again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tanish

Hotel Tanish
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tanish to your Saves list
Hotel Tanish
Reliance Trade Centre, Margao 403601, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Margao B&B and Inns
NSW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Would consider returning again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Water was hot, good shower, clean bathroom.
Stained sheets & towels but seemed clean.
Stayed for one night with husband before going to Trivandrum.
Easy to walk everywhere, & get a rickshaw to the train station.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here two nights because of Margao's location (train service + buses to Panjim), but wouldn't recommend it. The room was cheap with a good view over the municipal gardens. This is the only hotel we came across in India with cockroaches in the bathroom, which says something about the level of the housekeeping and maintenance here. The first evening we opened the windows with the curtains closed and the fan on, to get some cool air in the room. When I went to the window there was someone outside, listening in to our room! He disappeared immidiately on the narrow ledge on the side when he saw me. When we pointed this out to the staff they just said it was impossible as the hotel is on the 5th floor. But I know what I saw even if it was dark outside. We didn't feel very comfortable leaving our things in the room in the evening or the next day, but luckily nothing further happened. We were also kept awake at night by the boys working the night shift at the desk just outside our door.

Room Tip: Ask for room with town view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We traveled to Margao from South Goa and didn't have a time for returning back. Spending night here was quite pleasant, though a bit expensive. We paid more than 2400 Rp for suite for 4 persons.

PS It's better not to book a breakfast here. There are some better places in Margao.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Not a place where you would stay more than 1 night. If it happens that you need to stay overnight at Margao, this is probably the best options. Clean rooms, although paint is falling from the walls is still a good option in Margao if not the best.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We booked two nights here and left after one, mostly because Margao really has nothing to offer. Tanish is a safe bet for one night passing through Margao. It's a clean room to sleep in, but not a room you'll want to spend much time in. The price was very reasonable at 1,050 Rupees.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

stayed at this hotel three times whilst in goa. the rooms are clean, the staff cheerful and helpful. the tanish hotel is located in an ideal location in margao. next time i am in goa i will stay in the tanish.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tanish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanish

Address: Reliance Trade Centre, Margao 403601, India
Location: India > Goa > Margao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Margao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tanish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tanish Goa/Margao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tanish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.