We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only place in Kasauli to stay in pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Common

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasauli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross Common
Lower Mall, Kasauli 173204, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Kasauli B&B and Inns
Indore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“only place in Kasauli to stay in pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited this place with my wife and kid,was excited to see the scenic beauty of Kasauli and the location of Ross Common is so marvelous surrounded by velley and lush green surrounding feels you completely relaxed and happy,HPTDC has tried to maintain this heritage property in its original version and has got success in that,Kasauli can not be viewed in much better way without stay in Ross Common,staff is very well behaved and they take full care of your needs and try to manage all what you need at there level best.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend two days in Ross Common as family holiday. The location is great, the food is expensive. Imagine in a non star hotel a simple cup of tea costs Rs. 35/. There is no other eatery option is Kasauli. The hotel is not maintained properly at all. Only feel good factor is Mr. Anand Sharma who was very helpful. The approaching road from main Church to the hotel is horrible.

Room Tip: Facing valley room no 1 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

There are only 6 rooms in this HPTDC property, apart from a couple of annexes which are meant only for the very young and energetic. The best thing about Ross Common is its location. The valley view is breathtaking and the spacious lawns with steel chairs and tables are a good place to relax and have a drink in the evening. When the rain falls, you can always take shelter in the portico. The rooms are simple and basic but are comfortable. Could do with a few more amenities like a kettle and LCD. Food is indeed costly, considering that it is a Govt. owned property. The Manager Mr. Sharma is a helpful person and tries to make you comfortable with the limited resources at his disposal. On the whole it was a pleasant experience though the rooms need a revamp.

Room Tip: You hardly have a choice; there are just 6 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is one of the heritage properties of HP Tourism, just like the Hotel Geetanjali at Dalhousie. However, unlike Geetanjali being a completely wooden built, this is built of stones and bricks. The best thing of this hotel is the amazing scenic views it offers to its visitors of the hills and mountains which surrounds it. Have a lovely breakfast there by occupying the tables placed just in front of the hotel to enjoy your meals amidst the peaceful and scenic beauty of kasauli. The reception staff is polite, service of ok types. Room service needs to be improved and the same is not 24 hours, but is offered from 07.30 AM till 09.30 PM. Room service personnel are neither courteous nor responsive. Food is below average

The hotel is located just 1 Km from the Kasauli bus stand and 15 Km from Dharampur Himchal railway station. Further the "Manki" point is only 3 Km from here, and Baptist chruch, the upper and lower mall are all close by. On cost front, its a bit too expensive when compared to the level of service being provided, but, at Kasauli you will find almost everything costly. Be it taxi, or the hotel, food, mineral water... or anything else.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms at the back side of the hotel which offers good views. Avoid room no. 1, and go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi NCR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went with family for a 3 day 2 night at Kasauli and had booked a deluxe-annexe room thru web. We were in for a surprise when we landed up on a beatiful Friday afternoon, when we were told that our room was not in the main hotel building and 5~10 minutes walk away. Seeing the look on my face the Hotel person cheered me up saying, the rooms are much better in the annexe. We first had our lunch and then I set out to the annex.

My first reaction was "Wow" Beautiful cottage nestled at the slope of the hill with lots of parking and nature trails to walk around.

There was a nice front room with sofas, tea table, dinining table and glass windows spread across the walls on 2 sides overlooking the hills. Amazing.

The was a bed room with a large attached bathroom.

We had a great time those 3 days. Best part was when we were walking in the darkness up the hill through a trail formed thru the hill for dinners. It was quite adventurous. Made us confident and strong. It was pitch black, chilly, few mountain dogs around and no other noise. Great experience.

Day time was fun with walks, games, just lazing around with Hot Tea and snacks.

Great food in the main hotel building.

Caution though for travelers: The food is priced expensive. You will find that the food is atleast 30~40% more expensive that what you would have anticipated.

Overall great experience. Worth visiting again for sure.

Room Tip: take your hotplates, tea kettles, noodles, bread etc for making few things in your room itself. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

An old heritage property with a good location. Is close to the mall road, has decent parking, a small valley facing garden which supports a good sit out & gives a feel of staying in an old English bungalow.

The staff is good, food quality is surprisingly good,though it may take sometime to get your food especially during off season.

It's very easy to book online. The best view room is # 5 though isolated ; if traveling in a group take room # 2,3,4 with room # 4 being the suite.

Have stayed there twice & overall have found it as a great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the same as Ros Common, listed a few places down on TA. Don't know why it's in there twice- name spelled differently. Anyway. The place is superbly located, has a wonderful garden with a view to the hills. It's magic in the summer evenings. The rest is not much to write about. We were shown two rooms, one larger and dark- number 1, and room 6 faced the garden, but was smaller. We opted for the brighter room. It did the job, that's all I can say. On day two they had a very noisy group on the lawn, loud music and all which we had to suffer till 4 in the afternoon.
The food is less than ordinary. The staff, well-meaning, friendly, but slow. Our room wasn't made up on day two because everyone was busy with the 'group'. There's fresh paint and new curtains, but I'm not sure how clean anything is. I can't complain too much because we had a good holiday and they are in the quiet and pretty part of Kasauli. But I really wouldn't want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ross Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Common

Address: Lower Mall, Kasauli 173204, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kasauli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kasauli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ross Common Hotel Kasauli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ross Common to your Saves list