We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the middle of the hills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Common

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasauli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross Common
Lower Mall, Kasauli 173204, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Kasauli B&B and Inns
Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet in the middle of the hills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Kasauli for four days to do nothing but lounge around, walk a lot and relax in quiet surroundings. Ros common is easily the best located property if you want to be a little away from the noise of the mall. We went during the navratras when temples were blaring out bhajans on the mike, but no noise reached our rooms and all we could hear were the crickets and birds. The hotel also has the best views to the hills if you get the right rooms.

This time we stayed at the annexe, which is relatively new and therefore cleaner. They are also bigger than the main rooms. Our rooms were quite big, clean and affordable (a suite that accomodates a family of four for Rs 2200). The main problem in the annexe is that it's about half a km from the main hotel and service is nonexistent except for tea and coffee. You cannot be flexible about your meals and have to inform the one person who comes during the day an hour or more in advance about your meal. It helps to have a car if you're staying in the annexe because it's a good uphill walk from the annexe to the main hotel. Since the sun is a precious element there, they need to work on creating a nice porch for the annexe, which at present has some nearly broken plastic chairs.

Even in the main hotel, service tends to be indifferent, but what's more to be expected of HPTDC hotels? The main hotel also badly requires cleaning up and maintenance. About the food, stick to Indian food and you'll be happy. They make excellent coffee and pakoras, and parathas and sandwiches. Gravy dishes tend to be very oily and they don't undertsand the concept of less oil!

But all said, the location, the quietness, the views, and the long walks you can throw in make up for average sevice and the less than clean rooms. I would go and stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're in the main rooms, go for room 5. It has a separate balcony and has the most amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saharanpur, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is a hotel located on the lower mall little away from the main market. The location is excellent away from noise. The views are great. The rooms are just ordinary. Little expensive for what they are charging. The food and service was good. Maybe as it is a Cantonment (Army Area) the modifications in buildings are not allowed.

Room Tip: Room No 5 seemed to be better.It faces the valley and has more privacy. It has only six rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Date of visit: 5th and 6th August 2012
Days: 2 Days and 1 Night

Food: Highly recommended, we loved everything that we ordered from breakfast to lunch to dinner to snacks. soups, starters, main course everything tastes superb.

Stay: Just Average. Killed at least 3 spiders in the room on the bed, 4 flying cockroaches small ones, and some other unidentified flying insects. Carpet is dirty, bed sheets and pillow covers need to be replaced as there are permanent dark dirty patches. I believe that the insects were due to the monsoon season (despite it did not rain as much).

Location: The property is located at a very fine location, 1 km from the market walkable distance. We were attacked by a monkey group while walking down to the hotel, as we had packet of chips in our hands. I wanted to shoot monkeys as they scared the hell out of me and my wife.

Beware: of Monkeys within the facility as they are not scared of anyone. Monkey's are ready to jump on you / on table to snatch the food if you don't have a stick in your hand. I wish I could have at least shot one Monkey.

Staff: Very cooperate. 10 out of 10. They helped us in every fashion.

Bathroom: Better than room. Seeing the spiders and insects on the bed, I once thought of sleeping in bathroom than the bed. Geyser works well.

Overall: 5 out of 10.

Room Tip: We took 1 DBR room #5 - the only room with some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We didn't stay here (and glad we didn't coz the place looks a little dark and run down) but visited Ross Common because the food here was highly recommended and we weren't disappointed.
We reached Ross Common on lower Mall road at 3 pm fearing lunch hours would be over but it was ok. It had just rained and the weather was beautiful. We were welcomed warmly and seated outdoors - strongly recommend doing that if the weather is good.
The lunch was good - especially the Butter Chicken! The kitchen looked dingy and possibly a little dirty (like most restaurants) so we chose to look the other way. When you have butter chicken with crisp and hot tandoori rotis in misty cool weather, would you really care? ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I read all reviews before my journey. I stayed there on 20th July. Now I can summarize my experience as follows:

Positive (+)
1) Very co-operative staff. Met practically every requirement.
2) Monsoon discount = 20%. Be careful to opt while doing online booking. In my case it was subsequently adjusted in the final bill.
3) Very good food. No complaints at all.
4) Big clean bathroom with running hot water
5) Very close to market & bus stand.
6) Ample parking.

Negative (-)
1) Needs some basic renovation to start with like door & window bolts
2) View of back courtyard outside rooms is blocked by fence.
3) At times dirty crockery.
4) Old rusted dripping geyser in bathroom.
5) Dirty & damp carpet.
6) Somewhat restrictive timings for meals.
7) Stray dogs in compound.
8) Monkeys in the back courtyard. We were sitting there & one even tried to open the jali door of our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Almost all the HPTDC hotels are situated at the best location of the station.Its a small hotel with very poor maintance.Green sorroundings and north indian food gives you a satisfaction of your stay in the property.Its a Hertage property but not at all maintained.The dirty carpets and unpolished furniture welcomes you even in the costliest room.The leaking gyser in the toilet is also an antique piece with an advice to save a drop of water.HPTDC spent a huge amount in its maintaince two years back but it does not speak.The front lawn is beautiful to enjoy natural views and fresh mountain air.Parking is satisfactory.The restraunt is horrible with dirty doors and table linen.The best place to enjoy food is the lawns.Staff is co-operative.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the toilet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

In hills, the view is what matters and undoubtedly a stay in Ros Common would give you all. A small hotel, but with good amenities. Offcourse an HPTDC hotel, so you should not expect some great service. There will be some delays in servicing. Don't ask for chinese or continental foods, stay to north indian foods, if you dont want to disappoint yourself. Cleanliness in Rooms and bathrooms are average. Do not miss the morning view at 6, from lawn in front. Its amazing. Good for mid-segment stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ross Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Common

Address: Lower Mall, Kasauli 173204, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kasauli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kasauli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ross Common Hotel Kasauli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Common, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ross Common to your Saves list